Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives

Finding aids for archival items.

24.1.1

Alumni Directory

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Alumni Directory

Dates: 1893-2014

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains directories for Union College alumni. Early editions were entitled Directory of Graduates.

Quantity: 0.5 cubic feet

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is in chronological order.
Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Alumni Directory. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Originally processed by Bruce Miracle, May 9, 2007.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
Archives Room 1

Union College Alumni Directories, 1893-1966.

Directory of Graduates 1893-1966 (3 copies).

Alphabetical list with year and address, and name list by class year.

  Shelf 1

Union College Alumni Directories, 1987-2014.

Alumni Directory 1987 (2 copies)

Alumni Directory 1992

Alumni Directory 1997 (2 copies)

Alumni Directory 2014

24.1.2

Union College Magazines

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Alumni Magazines

Dates: 1952-2018

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains the different alumni magazines published by Union College. Parts of this collection have been digitized and are available through the Kentucky Digital Library.

Quantity: 1 cubic foot

Location: Archives Room

Contents Note

Union College Alumnus lasted from 1952 to 1999 - replaced by Alumni Magazine in 2000 - referred to within the publication as "Union"

The name of the magazine was changed to “UNION COLLEGE MAGAZINE” beginning with the Winter 2012-13 issue

“UNION is published by the Offices of Public Relations and Alumni Relations for alumni and friends of the College.” Spring 2000 issue.

“UNION is published by the offices of College Communications and Annual Giving-Alumni Relations for alumni and friends of the college.” Fall 2009/Winter 2010 issue.

Arrangement
This collection is in chronological order.
Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Alumni Magazines. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Originally processed by Bruce Miracle, May 4, 2010.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
Archives Room 1

Union College Alumni Magazines, 1952-2018.

Alumnus

February 1952, v.1,no.1

June 1961, v.10,no.2

March 1964, v.13,no.1

June 1965, v.14,no.2

September 1965, v.14,no.3

December 1965, v.14,no.4

March 1966, v.15,no.1

June 1966, v.15,no.2

September 1966, v.15,no.3

December 1966, v.15,no.4

March 1967, v.16,no.1

June 1967, v.16,no.2

September 1967, v.16,no.3

December 1967, v.16,no.4

September 1968, v.17,no.3

December 1968, v.17,no.4

March 1969, v.18,no.1

June 1969, v.18.no.2

September 1969, v.18,no.3

December 1969, v.18,no.4

June 1970, v.19,no.2

September 1970, v.19,no.3

December 1970, v.19,no.4

March 1971, v.20,no.1

September 1971, v.20,no.3

December 1971, v.20,no.4

March 1972, v.21,no.1

June 1972, v.21,no.2

September 1972, v.21,no.3

December 1972, v.21,no.4

March 1973, v.22,no.1

June 1973, v.22,no.2

September 1973, v.22,no.3

December 1973, v.22,no.4

March 1974, v.23,no.1

March 1975, v.24,no.1

June 1975, v.24,no.2

September 1975, v.24,no.3

December 1975, v.24,no.4

March 1976, v.25,no.1

June 1976, v.25,no.2

September 1976, v.25,no.3

December 1976, v.25,no.4

March 1977, v.26,no.1

September 1977, v.26,no.3

June 1978, v.27,no.2

December 1978, v.27,no.4

March 1979, v.28,no.1

Summer 1979, v.28,no.2 (2 copies)

Summer 1980, v.29,no.2

Fall 1980, v.29,no.3

Winter 1980, v.29,no.4

Spring 1981, v.30,no.1

Summer 1981, v.30,no.2

Fall 1981, v.30,no.3

Winter 1981, v.30,no.4

Spring 1982, v.31,no.1

Summer 1982, v.31,no.2

Fall 1982, v.31,no.3

Winter 1982, v.31,no.4

Spring 1983, v.32,no.1

Summer 1983, v.32,no.3 (2 copies)

Fall 1983, v.32,no.3

Summer 1984, v.33,no.1

Winter 1984, v.33,no.2

Winter 1986, v.35,no.1

Fall 1991, v.40,no.2

Summer 1992, v.41,no.1

Spring 1993, v.42, no.1

Summer 1993, v.42, no.2

Winter 1994, v.43, no.1

Summer 1994, v.43, no.2

Summer 1995

Winter 1995

Spring 1996

Fall 1996

Fall 1997

Spring 1998

Spring 1999

Fall 1999

Alumni Magazines

Spring 2000 – Bulldog Cover (5 copies)

NOTE: two different issues for Spring 2000 were published with no distinguishing numbering – they are distinguished here by the cover picture.

Spring 2000 – Spring Break Work Cover (5 copies)

NOTE: two different issues for Spring 2000 were published with no distinguishing numbering – they are distinguished here by the cover picture.

Fall 2000 (5 copies)

Spring 2001 (5 copies)

Summer 2001 (4 copies)

Winter 2001-02 (5 copies)

Spring 2002 (5 copies)

Fall 2002 (1 copy)

Spring-Summer 2003 (3 copies)

Winter 2003-04 (5 copies)

Spring-Summer 2004 (5 copies)

Winter 2004-05 (3 copies)

Summer 2005 (5 copies)

Winter 2005

Spring - Summer 2006

Summer 2007 (5 copies)

Fall/Winter 2007 (4 copies)

Winter 2008 (5 copies)

Fall 2008 – Winter 2009 (5 copies)

Summer 2009 (5 copies)

Fall 2009 – Winter 2010 (5 copies)

Summer 2010 (5 copies)

Fall 2010 (5 copies)

Summer 2011 (5 copies)

Fall 2011 – Winter 2012 (4 copies)

Summer 2012 (3 copies)

Union College Magazines

Winter 2012-13 (5 copies)

Fall 2014 (3 copies)

Spring/Summer 2015 (3 copies)

UNION

Spring 2018 (3 copies)

24.1.3

Alumni Speeches, Presentations, and Awards

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Alumni Speeches, Presentations, and Awards

Dates: 1969-1972

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains speeches and honors given by/to Union College alumni.

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is in chronological order.
Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Alumni Speeches, Presentations, and Awards. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Originally processed by Bruce Miracle, March 6, 2009.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
Archives Room 1

Union College Alumni Speeches, Presentation, and Awards, 1966-1972.

Typed Speech entitled “Talk given by Dorothy Elam at Founders’ Day on October 20, 1972.” Four copies.

Address by the Honorable John M. Robsion, Jr. – Alumni Banquet Address (May 31, 1969) –text of speech (2 copies)

24.1.4

Miscellaneous Materials

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Alumni Miscellaneous Materials

Dates: 1933-2009

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains photographs, banquet programs, newspaper clippings, and other materials relating to Union College alumni.

Quantity: 0.5 cubic feet

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is in chronological order.
Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Alumni Miscellaneous Materials. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Originally processed by Bruce Miracle, February 3, 2011.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
Archives Room 1

Union College Alumni Miscellaneous Materials, 1933-2009.

Union College Diploma and Cover for Mae Marie Davis dated July 8, 1933. 

A typewritten note is enclosed dated March 25, 1952 to Miss Davis from “Secretary to the Dean” (no personal or organization name given).

2000 by 2000, Union College Annual Report 1995-1996 - An update on Union's goal of 2,000 alumni donors by the year 2000

Composition Book handwritten by Alumnus John Achzehner (class 1938) concerning the activities of the Union College Chorus and other musical groups – donated by his niece, Bev Harber (in July 2017) – first page is entitled, “Doings and Experiences of the Union College Varsity Chorus 1936-37”
Contents Note:  Composition Book has several loose items, such as typed pages, notes, and cards 

Also, two Union College postcards of John Achzehner donated in 2015 by Bev Harber:

One has a picture of Conway Boatman Chapel

The other has pictures of the Administration Building, Memorial Gymnasium, Stevenson Hall and Speed Hall – with brief note on the back from Mr. Achzehner

     Marsha Rae Banks – Newspaper Clipping about her life and Union College

Letter from Bev Harber is included in the envelope with the postcards

Homecoming & Reunion 2004 – Schedule and mailing form (2 copies)

Alumni Banquet (Oct. 20, 2001) – 1 Program

Alumni Banquet (Oct. 24, 2009) – 1 Program

Alumni Banquet (Oct. 27, 2012) – 1 Program

50th and Earlier Reunion Dinner (Oct. 26, 2012)

The Union Letter- Summer 2008 - Vol. 1. Issue 1

The Union Letter - Spring 2009 - Vol. 2, Issue 2

Various Alumni related pamphlets, brochures, etc.

  Shelf 1

Three ring Binder containing:

Photocopied items concerning Alumnus, Ulysses S. Grant Perkins - his Commencement oration (June 11, 1901) and other materials – includes Commencement exercises, pages from the Union College History book, and information on the Perkins family

NOTE: has a cover letter, dated May 1, 1975, by Perkin’s son, Judge Paul M. Perkins (Carrollton, Ohio

24.2.1

Phillip A. Sharp

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Notable Alumni - Phillip A. Sharp

Dates: 1933-2009

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains programs, newsletters, and other material related to Union College alum Phillip A. Sharp

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Historical Note
Phillip A. Sharp, a native of Pendleton County, graduated from Union College in 1966 with a bachelor’s degree in chemistry and mathematics. He earned his Ph.D in chemistry from the University of Illinois. In 1974 Dr. Sharp became a research scientist at MIT. On December 10, 1993 Dr. Sharp was a co-recipient of the Nobel Prize in Medicine for his work in molecular genetics. In addition to numerous awards and honors Dr. Sharp has also received the 1988 Union College Alumni Association Distinguished Service Award and in 1993 was inducted into the Union College Hall of Fame. The Sharp Academic Center is named in honor of Dr. Sharp and his wife Ann (Union, 1966).
Arrangement
This collection is in chronological order.
Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Notable Alumni - Phillip A. Sharp. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Originally processed by Bruce Miracle, September 10, 2007.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
Archives Room 1

Union College Alum Phillip A. Sharp, 1994-2014.

One January 1994 issue of Perspectives on Higher Education, a newsletter published by the Kentucky Council on Higher Education.

NOTE: This issue is devoted to Dr. Phillip A. Sharp and is headlined, “Kentucky scientist awarded Nobel Prize in medicine.” The newsletter contains a speech by Dr. Sharp, a brief biography and information on awards and honors that he received.

Dinner with Phillip and Ann Sharp - September 29, 2014 -  2 sided, one page program/information leaflet with a brief biography of Dr. Phillip Sharp (2 copies)

21.4.3

Thomas D. Tinsley

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Notable Alumni - Thomas D. Tinsley

Dates: 1795-1937

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: The collection consists of books collected by Thomas D. Tinsley, donated to Union College by William G. Tinsley on June 29, 1987.

Quantity: 108 volumes

Location: Archives Room

Biographical Note

Thomas D. Tinsley was born in Barbourville, Kentucky, on January 27, 1880. He "completed a bourse in Union College, in which he was graduated as a member of the class of 1898" (137). Tinsley was elected mayor of Barbourville in November 1917 and took office in 1918 for a single 4 year term. 

Secrist, M. Knox County, Kentucky: History Revealed Through Biographical and Genealogical Sketches of Its Ancestors. Self-published, 2012.

Arrangement
These titles are listed in the order they appear on the shelf.
Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Faculty Personal Books - Thomas D. Tinsley. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Originally processed by Bruce Miracle, February 12, 2007.

Detailed Description
Location Shelf  
19 1

Thomas D. Tinsley Book Collection, 1795-1937.

Abraham Lincoln, The Year of His Election: A Cartoon History. Shaw, Albert; The Review of Reviews Corp, 1930.

Abraham Lincoln, His Path to the Presidency: A Cartoon History. Shaw, Albert; The Review of Reviews Corp, 1930.

Acts Passed At the First Session of the Fifth Congress of the United States of America. Printed by William Ross, 1797.

Adair’s History of the American Indians. Williams, Samuel Cole; Watauga Press, 1930. 

The Age of Hate, Andrew Johnson and the Radicals. Milton, George Fort; Coward-McCann 1930.

All That’s Kentucky: An Anthology. Edited by Combs, Josiah Henry; John P. Morton & Co., 1915. 

The American Revolution, from the Commencement to the Disbanding of the American Army. Thacker, James; Mack R. Barnitz Pub., 1859.

Andrew Jackson, The Border Captain. James, Marquis; Bobbs-Merrill, 1933. 

Annals of Southwest Virginia, 1769-1800. Summers, Lewis Preston; Lewis Preston Summers Pub., 1929.

The Annals of Tennessee to the End of the 18th Century. Ramsey, J.G.M.; Walker & James 1853. 

The Black Patch War. Miller, John G.; University of North Carolina Press, 1936. 

Boone’s Wilderness Road, (Historic Highways of America., Vol. VI). Hulbert, Archer Butler; Arthur H. Clark Co., 1903.

Calendar of the Kentucky Papers of the Draper Collection of Manuscripts. State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1925 (Calendar Series, Vol. II).

Calendar of the Tennessee & King’s Mountain Papers of the Draper Collection of Manuscripts. State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1929 (Calendar Series, Vol. III). 

Chronicles of the Scotch-Irish Settlement in Virginia, Vol. I (Records of Augusta County, Va.). Chalkey, Lyman; D.A.R., 1912.

Chronicles of the Scotch-Irish Settlement in Virginia, Vol. II (Records of Augusta County, Va.). Chalkey, Lyman; D.A.R., 1912.

Chronicles of the Scotch-Irish Settlement in Virginia, Vol. III (Records of Augusta County, Va.). Chalkey, Lyman; D.A.R., 1912.

The Civil & Political History of the State of Tennessee. Haywood, John; Publishing House of Methodist Episcopal Church, South (Reprint of 1823 edition) 1891. 

Collins History of Kentucky. Common School Library, approx. 1871.

Note: Missing most of the first 65 pages.

Colonials & Patriots, Vol. VI. Sarles, Frank B., & Shedd, Charles E.; National Park Service, 1964. 

The Conquest of the Old Southwest. Henderson, Archibald; Century Co., 1920.

The Cradle of the Republic, 2nd edition. Tyler, Lyon Gardiner; Hermitage Press, 1906.

The Crittenden Memoirs. Crittenden, H.H.; G.P. Putnam’s, 1936.

Cumberland Parish, Lunenburg County, Virginia, 1746-1816: Vestry Book 1746-1816. Bell, Landon; William Byrd Press, 1930.

Daniel Boone & The Wilderness Road. Bruce, H. Addington; Macmillan, 1910.

Daniel Boone Wilderness Scout. White, Stewart Edward; Doubleday, Page & Co., 1922.

Daniel Boone’s Predecessor in Kentucky, Vol. I. Burns, Ann Walker.

Debate on the Evidences of Christianity Between Robert Owen & Alexander Campbell. Published by Alexander Campbell, 1829.

The Decline & Fall of the Roman Empire, Vol. I. Gibbon, Edward; Kelmscott Society.

The Decline & Fall of the Roman Empire, Vol. II. Gibbon, Edward; Kelmscott Society.

The Decline & Fall of the Roman Empire, Vol. III. Gibbon, Edward; Kelmscott Society.

The Decline & Fall of the Roman Empire, Vol. IV. Gibbon, Edward; Kelmscott Society.

The Decline & Fall of the Roman Empire, Vol. V. Gibbon, Edward; Kelmscott Society.

Digest of American Cases on the Law of Evidence. Bayard, Samuel; William P. Fairand & Co., 1810.

A Digest of the General Laws of Kentucky Enacted by the Legislature Between the 4th Day of December 1859 & 4th Day of June, 1865. Myers, Harvey; Robert Clarke, & Co. 1866.

Digest of the Statute Law of Kentucky, Vol. I. Littell, William & Jacob Swigert; Kendall & Russell, 1822.

Digest of the Statute Law of Kentucky, Vol. II. Littell, William & Jacob Swigert; Kendall & Russell, 1822.

Digest of the Statue Laws of Kentucky, Vol. I. Morehead, C.S. & Brown, Mason; Albert C. Hodges, 1834.

Digest of the Statute Laws of Kentucky, Vol. II. Morehead, C.S. & Brown, Mason; Albert C. Hodges, 1834.

Note: Two copies.

A Digest of the Statute Laws of Kentucky of a Public & Permanent Nature Passed Since 1834. Loughborough, Preston; S. Albert C. Hodges, 1842.

Documentary History of Dunmore’s War, 1774.Edited by Thwaites, Reuben Gold & Kellogg, Louise Pheps; Wisconsin Historical Society, 1905.

Early Travels in the Tennessee Country l540-1800. Williams, Samuel Cole; Watauga Press, 1928.

The Eve of Conflict. Milton, George Fort; Houghton Mifflin Co., 1934.

Five Typical Scotch-Irish Families of the Cumberland Valley. Shoemaker, Mary Craig; 1922.

A Handwritten Early Land Records for Knox County & Surrounding Areas. Approx. 1786-1798.

Handwritten Early Legal Judgements. Approx. 1807-1810.

Harlan County, Kentucky. Middleton, Elman; James Taylor Adams & James Taylor Adams I, 1934.

Heads of Families at the First Census of the U.S. Taken in the Year 1790. Records of the State Enumerations: 1782-1785 Virginia, Bureau of the Census, GPO, 1908.

Historic Sullivan. Taylor, Oliver; King Printing, Co., 1909.

Historical Register of Officers of the Continental Army During the War of the Revolution. Keitman, F.B., 1893.

Historical Sketches of the Holston Valleys. Preston, Thomas W.; Kingsport Press, 1926.

History of Kentucky, Vol. I. Collins, Lewis; Reviewed by Richard H. Collins; Collins Co., 1874.

History of Kentucky, Vol. II. Collins, Lewis; Reviewed by Richard H. Collins; Collins Co., 1874.

A History of Kentucky. Kinkead, Elizabeth Shelby; American Book Co., 1896.

The History of Massachusetts from the First Settlement Thereof in 1628 Until the Year 1750, 3rd Edition, Vol. I. Hutchinson, Thomas; 1795.

A History of Rockbridge County Virginia. Morton, Oren F.; McClure Co. Inc., 1920.

History of Scott County, Virginia. Addington, Robert M.; Privately Printed, 1932.

History of Southwest Virginia, 1746-1786: Washington County 1777-1870. Summers, Lewis Preston; J.L. Hill Printing Co., 1903.

A History of the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Butler, Mann, Wilcox, Dickermann & Co., 1834.

History of the Great Rebellion, Vol. I. Kettel I, Thomas P., 1864.

History of the Lost State of Franklin. Revised and Edited by Williams, Samuel Cole; Press of the Pioneers, 1933.

John Filson: The First Historian of Kentucky. Durrett, Reuben; John P. Morton & Co., 1884.

The Journal of Nicholas Cresswell 1774-1777, 2nd Edition. Dial Press, 1928.

A Journey to the Land of Eden & Other Papers. Byrd, William; Macy-Masius, 1928.

Kentucke & The Adventures of Colonel Daniel Boone. Filson, John; John P. Morton & Co., 1934.

Note: Facsimile reproduction of the original.

Kentucky, A Pioneer Commonwealth. Shaler, N.S.; Houghton, Mifflin & Co., 1884.

The Kentucky Mountains Transportation & Commerce 1750-1911. Verhoeff, Mary; John P. Morton & Co., 1911.

King’s Mountain & Its Heroes. Draper, Lyman; Dauber & Pine, 1881 (Printed 1929).

Ladies National Magazine, Vol. VII, Jan-June 1845, Nos. 1-6, and Vol. VII, July-December 1845, Nos. 1-6.

Note: Published in one volume.

Letters from Texas. Cardelle, Cara; 1852.

The Life & Speeches of the Honorable Henry Clay, Vol. I. Edited by Mallory, Daniel; Silas Andrews & Son, 1853.

The Life & Speeches of the Honorable Henry Clay, Vol. II. Edited by Mallory, Daniel; Silas Andrews & Son, 1853.

Life & Times of Edward Swanson. McKaven, William Henry; Kingsport Press, 1937.

Life & Trail of Dr. Abner Baker, Jr.. Crozier, C.W.; Prentice & Weissinger, Printers, 1846.

Mississippi Valley Beginnings. Chambers, Henry E.G.P.; Putnams’ Sons, 1922.

My Own Story. Powers, Caleb; Bobbs-Merri11, 1905.

Old Churches, Ministers, and Families of Virginia, Vol. I. Bishop Meade J.B. Lippincott, 1857.

Old Churches, Ministers, and Families of Virginia, Vol. II. Bishop Meade J.B. Lippincott, 1857.

Old Virginia & Her Neighbours, Vol. II. Fiske, John; Houghton Mifflin Co., 1897.

The Planters of Colonial Virginia. Wertenbaker, Thomas J.; Princeton, 1922.

Political Register, Setting Forth the Principles of the Whig and Locofoco Parties in the U.S. with the Life and Public Services of Henry Clay. Brownlow, William; Jonesborough Whig, 1844.

The Preston & Virginia Papers of the Draper Collection of Manuscripts. State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1915 (Calendar Series Vol. I).

The Real Authorship of the Constitution of the U.S. Explained. USGPO, 1912.

Recollections of a Lifetime by John Goode of Virginia. Goode, John; Neale Pub. Co., 1906.

Report of the Adjutant General of the State of Kentucky Soldiers of the War of 1812: Roster of the Volunteer Officers & Soldiers from Kentucky in the War with Mexico. Sam E. Hill, Adjutant General of Kentucky; Printed by Authority of the Legislature of Kentucky, 1891.

The Revised Statutes of Kentucky, Vol. I . Stanton, Richard H.; Robert Clarke & Co., 1859.

The Revised Statutes of Kentucky, Vol. II . Stanton, Richard H.; Robert Clarke & Co., 1859.

Roger B. Taney. Swisher, Carl Brent; Macmillan, 1935.

Selected Works of Young E. Allison. John P. Morton & Co., 1935.

Sketches & Recollections of Lynchburg. Cabill, Margaret Couch (Anthony); C.H. Wynne, 1858.

The Statute Law of Kentucky, Vol. I. Littell, William; Printed by & for Wm. Hunter, 1809.

The Statute Law of Kentucky, Vol. II. Littell, William; Printed for Wm. Hunter by Johnston & Pleasants, 1810.

The Statute Law of Kentucky, Vol. III. Littell , William; Printed for Wm. Hunter by Johnston & Pleasants, 1811.

The Statute Law of Kentucky, Vol. IV. Littell, William; Printed for Wm. Hunter by Robert Johnston, 1814.

The Statute Law of Kentucky, Vol. V. Littell, William; Butler & Wood, 1819.  

Virginia, A History of the People. Cooke, John Esten; Houghton Mifflin, 1903.

Virginia & Kentucky Land Laws & Data. Compiled - beginning June 6, 1914 by Thomas D. Tinsley.

Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War. McAllister, J.T.; McAllister Pub. Co., 1913.

Virginia, The Old Dominion. Andrews, Matthew Page; Doubleday Doran & Co., 1931.

The Wilderness Road. Speed, Thomas; John P. Morton & Co., 1886.

The Wilderness Road to Kentucky. Pusey, Wm. Allen; George H. Doran Co., 1921.

A Williamsburg Scrap Book. Compiled by the Williamsburg Garden Club; Published by Press of the Dietz Printing Co., 1932.

The Winning of the West, Pt. I: The Spread of English-Speaking Peoples. Roosevelt, Theodore; Current Literature Pub. Co., 1889.

The Winning of the West, Pt. II: In the Current of the Revolution. Roosevelt, Theodore; Current Literature Pub. Co., 1889.

The Winning of the West, Pt. III: The War in the Northwest. Roosevelt, Theodore; Current Literature Pub. Co., 1889.

The Winning of the West, Pt. IV:The Indian Wars, 1784-1787. Roosevelt, Theodore; Current Literature Pub. Co., 1894.

The Winning of the West, Pt. V: St. Clair & Wayne. Roosevelt, Theodore; Current Literature Pub. Co., 1896.

The Winning of the West, Pt. VI: Louisiana & Aaron Burr. Roosevelt, Theodore; Current Literature Pub. Co., 1896.