Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives

Finding aids for archival items.

7.1.1

Photographs and Plaques

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Photographs and Plaques from the Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library

Dates: 

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains photographs of the Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library and various plaques that were around the building.

Quantity: 0.5 cubic feet

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Photographs and Plaques from the Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, March 27, 2007

Detailed Description
Location Box

 

16-D UCA 015

Photographs, undated.

Various photographs of the library

Postcard of Abigail Weeks Memorial Library before the Townsend Addition

Library Plaques, 1908s.

Includes catalogs, correspondence, and rubbings of plaques that formally hung in the the library

  2

Plaques, undated.

Various plaques that previously hung around the library, furniture bought with donated funds

7.1.2

Townsend Annex Papers

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Townsend Annex Papers

Dates: 2005

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains materials related to the planning and opening of the Townsend Annex.

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Townsend Annex Papers. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, March 27, 2007

Detailed Description
Location Box

 

16-D UCA 015

Materials Related to the Opening of the Townsend Annex, 2005.

Groundbreaking materials for the Townsend Annex

October 2005 re-opening gala celebration items

Program – Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library, The David and Donna Jones Learning Resource Center, The Re-Opening of a Campus Landmark (Oct. 19, 2005)

Clippings & several minor items.

7.1.3

Correspondence

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Correspondence to and from the Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library

Dates: 1991-2001

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains correspondence to and from the library relating to donations to the archives, oral history tapes, and papers of previous faculty.

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Correspondence to and from the Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, March 27, 2007

Detailed Description
Location Box

 

16-D UCA 015

Correspondence to and from the Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library, 1991-2001.

Letter from Librarian Kathy Miles to Mr. and Mrs. Cassius Estepp thanking them for a book donation for the Archives authored by Auda Haggard

Letter from President Jack C. Phillips thanking Geri Distad for a postcard to be donated the Archives

Email from Librarian Kathy Miles concerning Oral History Tapes – includes a list

Email between Librarian Kathy Miles and former Professor Gordon Marigold   concerning Fanny Speed’s papers

7.1.4

Carrie Stephenson Papers

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Carrie Stephenson Historical Research while working at Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library

Dates: 1990-2000

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains clippings from the Mountain Advocate and other material made by Stephenson while working at the library.

Quantity: 2 folders

Location: Archives Room

Biographical Note
Carrie Stephenson worked at the Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library as a reference librarian. She wrote a regular column for the Barbourville Mountain Advocate focusing on the history of the area
Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Correspondence to and from the Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, March 27, 2007

Detailed Description
Location Box

 

16-D UCA 015

Miscellaneous Carrie Stephenson Related Material, 1990-1999.

Various materials collected by Ms. Stephenson relating to the library – including displays, contests, events etc.

Echoes of the Past clippings, 1997-2000.

Ms. Stephenson wrote a regular column for the Mountain Advocate focusing on the History of the area

7.1.5

Miscellaneous Papers

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Miscellaneous Papers Relating to the Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library

Dates: 1940-2010

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains clippings miscellaneous materials like certificates given to the WTML, a program from the library building dedication, and videos created by the library.

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Miscellaneous Papers Relating to the Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, March 27, 2007

Detailed Description
Location Box

 

16-D UCA 015

Miscellaneous Weeks-Townsend Memorial Papers, 1940-2010.

Program for Union College Homecoming, Founders’ Day Program, Library Building Dedication, Nov. 9, 1940 (2 copies)

Weeks Townsend Information Video, 2006-2007 (1 DVD)

Display Item - one year 2000 "Sacajawea" Gold Dollar with informational materials

7.2.1

Newsletters

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Library Newsletters

Dates: 1978-1990

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains newsletters published by the library: News Notes and WTML Newsletter. The WTML Newsletter is in digital form and is linked in this finding aid.

Quantity: 0.5 cubic feet

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Library Newsletters. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, March 27, 2007. Updated October 16, 2014.

Detailed Description
Location Box

                                                                                                                                                           

16-D UCA 016

News Notes, 1978-1981.

News Notes, 1981-1985.

News Notes, 1986-1990.

WTML Newsletter, 2010-2020.

V.1, Issue 1 – February 1, 2010

V.1, Issue 2 – September 15, 2010

V.2, Issue 1 – March 1, 2011

V.2. Issue 2 – October 15, 2011

V.3, Issue 1 – February 15, 2012

V.3, Issue 2 – October 15, 2012

V.4, Issue 1 – February 15, 2013

V.4, Issue 2 – October 3, 2013

V.5, Issue 1 – February 19, 2014

V.5, Issue 2 – October 15, 2014

V.6, Issue 1/2 – October 15, 2015

V.7, Issue 1 – April 1, 2016

V.7, Issue 2 – November 15, 2016

V.8, Issue 1 – April 2017

V.8, Issue 2 - October 2017

V.9, Issue 1 - April 2018

V.9, Issue 2 - October 2018

V.10 Issue 1 – April 2019

V.10 Issue 2 – October 2019

V.11 Issue 1 - March 2020

V.11 Issue 2 - October 2020

V.12 Issue 1 - April 2021

V.12 Issue 2 - October 2021

V.13 Issue 1 - March 2022

V. 13 Issue 2 - November 2022

7.2.2

Reports

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Reports Completed by the Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library

Dates: 1986-2019

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains various reports completed by WTML.

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Reports Completed by the Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, March 27, 2007. Updated October 16, 2014.

Detailed Description
Location Box

 

16-D UCA 016

Inspections, 1986-1992.

Selective Housing Agreement, 1992-1998.

Biennial Surveys, 1989-2019.

Surveys created as part of the Government Document Depository Program

Biennial Surveys, 2001-2019.

Various Reports by the Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library, 2007-2011.

Report of Ms. Tara Cooper, Director of Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library to Dr. Tony Krug, Director of Bowen Central Library of Appalachia (ACA) – ACA FELR Grant Final Report 2006-07 (May 1, 2007)

Final Report, ACA FELR Grant 2010-11, from Director Tara L. Cooper to the Administrative Issues Committee, Appalachian College Association (May 3, 2011)