Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives

Finding aids for archival items.

23 Local and Surrounding Communities

23 Local and Surrounding Communities


23.1.1

Photographs

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Photographs of Barbourville, Kentucky

Dates: 1946

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains photographs of Barbourville, Kentucky, where Union College is located.

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is in chronological order.
Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Photographs of Barbourville, Kentucky. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Originally processed by Bruce Miracle, May 14, 2007.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
Archives Room 1

Photographs of Barbourville, Kentucky, 1946

Photograph collection of the 1946 Barbourville Flood -a collection of small black and white photographs with brief captions – in rather poor condition, they have been cut out of a photograph album where they had been pasted in

23.1.2

Publications

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Publications about Barbourville, Kentucky

Dates: 1978-1990

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains newspaper clippings, postcards, and other publications about Barbourville, Kentucky, where Union College is located.

Quantity: 2 folders

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is in chronological order.
Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Publications about Barbourville, Kentucky. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Originally processed by Bruce Miracle, May 14, 2007.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
Archives Room 1

Publications about Barbourville, Kentucky, 1978-1990.

Full page clipping from The Barbourville Mountain Advocate, October 12, 1978; entitled, “A sampling from Michael Mills' future book, 'Barbourville: A Pictorial Look BackVolume Two.' "

Postcard—Drawing of a mule-drawn streetcar, captioned: “BARBOURVILLE STREET RAILWAY SYSTEM, BARBOURVILLE, KY” (no date).

Memo from Milton Townsend that provides a brief history of the Union College brickyards – with a cover letter from Mr. Ron Vanover to President Phillips (dated:  August 22, 1990)

Article from The Knox Countian by Charles Reed Mitchell – Barbourville’s Struggle against Flooding

Robert Stivers II Aquatic and Wellness Center – Union College Business Plan 2011

Robert Stivers II Aquatic and Wellness Center – Union College Report to the Board of Trustees – April 29, 2011

Autobiographical Sketch of Samuel F. Miller, 1990.

Contains a photo static negative of the “unpublished, longhand manuscript,” as well as various letters pertaining to the obtaining of the manuscript. Also has a brief note by Erwin Bradley stating, “I do not believe that the 'autobiography' was dictated by Justice Miller”

NOTE: Samuel Freeman Miller (1816-1890) was associate justice of the U.S. Supreme Court from 1862 to 1890. He was born in Richmond, KY. After receiving his M.D. from Transylvania in 1838 he came to Barbourville, KY where he practiced medicine and became a justice of the peace and a member of the county court. He later moved to Iowa and was appointed to the Supreme Court by President Lincoln in 1862. (source: Encyclopedia Americana, 1990)

23.2.2

Publications

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Publications about Knox County, Kentucky

Dates: 2007-2020

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains pictorial calendars, tourist brochures, the Official Guide to Knox County, and other publications about Barbourville, Kentucky, where Union College is located.

Quantity: 2 folders

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is in chronological order.
Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Publications about Knox County, Kentucky. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Originally processed by Bruce Miracle, May 14, 2007.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
Archives Room 1

Publications about Knox County, Kentucky, 2007.

Article from The Knox Countian by Charles Reed Mitchell – Barbourville’s Struggle against Flooding

Tourist Brochure – Knox County Kentucky

Tourist Brochures – Middlesborough/Pineville and London, KY

Tourist brochure (probably early twenties) entitled, “Tours in the Cumberlands.”

[Promotes local tri-state area—has a small picture of Union College.]

Knox County Appreciation Dinner – 2007 (1 program)

Official Guide to Knox County, 2010-2020.

The Official Guide to Knox County Kentucky - 2010 Edition

The Official Guide to Knox County Kentucky – A Winning Future for Knox County – 2019-2020 Edition (2 copies)

  Shelf 1 Knox County Historical Society Pictorial Calendars – 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016

23.3.1

Daniel Boone Festival

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Barbourville, Kentucky, Daniel Boone Festival

Dates: 1948-2019

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains booklets and other materials related to the Daniel Boone Festival held in Barbourville, Kentucky, where Union College is located.

Quantity: 2 folders

Location: Archives Room

Historical Note
The Daniel Boone Festival was created in 1948 by Union College Professor Karl Bleyl. It has since expanded to a one week celebration for the entire community. A key part of the Festival is the annual signing of the Cane Treaty (also created by Dr. Bleyl) with members of the Eastern Band of the Cherokee Nation. The Daniel Boone Festival is held during the first full week in October.
Arrangement
This collection is in chronological order.
Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Barbourville, Kentucky, Daniel Boone Festival. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Originally processed by Bruce Miracle, April 2, 2012.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
Archives Room 1

Daniel Boone Festival Publications, 1948-2009.

Handbill – OCT. 19-21 (no year) – “See Cherokee Indians Daniel Boone Festival”

Cherokee Indian Banquet, Oct. 19, 1950 – One page leaflet with menu on back

First Annual Daniel Boone Festival May 21, 1948; Presented by the People of Barbourville, Kentucky (pbk booklet) (2 copies)

46th Daniel Boone Festival October 2-9 1993; Just Passing Through (pbk Booklet) (4 copies)

48th Daniel Boone Festival Sep. 30 – Oct. 7, 1995: Back to Simpler Times (pbk Booklet)

56th Daniel Boone Festival October 6-11, 2003: The Westward Movement (pbk Booklet)

57th Daniel Boone Festival October 4-9, 2004: Boone’s Wilderness Trail (pbk Booklet)

62nd Daniel Boone Festival: Commemorating Daniel Boone – 275 Years, October 4-10, 2009.    56 pages. (pbk Booklet) (3 copies)

Daniel Boone Festival Publications, 2012-2019.

65th Daniel Boone Festival: Honoring Boone (pbk Booklet) (2 copies)

66th Daniel Boone Festival October 6-12, 2013; Enduring Tradition (3 copies)

67th Daniel Boone Festival: Boone’s Trace, October 5-11, 2014

68th Daniel Boone Festival October 4-10, 2015, A walk with Boone (3 copies)

69th Daniel Boone Festival October 3-9, 2016, Boone's Journey Home (1copy)

70th Daniel Boone Festival October 1-7, 2017, Boone’s Heritage Lives On (3 copies)

71st Daniel Boone Festival October 7-13, 2018, The Journey (1 copy)

72nd Daniel Boone Festival October 6-12, 2019, Boone’s Wilderness Walk (2 copies)

23.3.2

Mountain Laurel Festival

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Barbourville, Kentucky, Mountain Laurel Festival

Dates: 1964-1996

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains various photographs of scenes and events associated with the Mountain Laurel Festival.

Quantity: 2 folders

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is in chronological order.
Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Barbourville, Kentucky, Mountain Laurel Festival. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Originally processed by Bruce Miracle, July 26, 2012.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
Archives Room 1

Mountain Laurel Festival Photographs, 1964-1968.

Contains black and white photographs of Mountain Laurel Representatives from Union College.   Listings are based on notes on the photographs and may not always be accurate.

Kay Trueman, Mt. Laurel Candidate, 1968 (1 BW photograph)

Lois Crowe 1964 – Our Mountain Laurel Representative adds an additional touch of beauty to the Springtime enchantment of Pine Mountain

Lois Crowe – Mt. Laurel Candidate 1964

Photo (undated) with handwritten note – “Gov. Edward Breathitt crowns the Mountain Laurel Queen of Pine Mountain State Park.  Lois Crowe, Union’s candidate is at the far left.”

Claudia Havens 1965 Mountain Laurel Representative

Rebecca Bush (no date) – Mt. Laurel Representative (4 large varied photographs)

Nancy Moore (Mrs. Bert Sell) – Mt. Laurel Queen Candidate (no date)

Betty Holmes – Mt. Laurel Representative (no date)

Mt. Laurel Queen – (no name or date)

Mountain Laurel Festival Photographs, 1993-1996.

This folder contains 28 color photographs.  Most have no captions or written information, but all appear to be pictures of Mountain Laurel Festival entrants and activities from the mid 1990s.  Some have some brief handwritten information on the back and this is listed below:

Mtn. Laurel May 29,1993 (3 photographs, different views)

Tiffany Ledford May 29, 1993 (2 photographs, different views)

Tiffany Ledford May 29, 1993 (in parade, 3 photographs with 3 views)

Vera Lynn Sheets  Tiffany Ledford   Kay Dawn McFarland  May 29,1993

’94 Winner  Murray State

Nina Lawson Mtn Laurel Representative May 1994

’95 FRI-NIGHT

’95 Winner  Murray State

KMLF ’95 Chad Elvington –COVE-

KMLF ’95  COVE

KMLF ’95 – COVE  C. Hembree

KMLF ’95 PARADE

KMLF ’95 TEA FRIDAY

MLF ’95 C. Hembree (COVE)

KMLF PARADE ’96  C. Hembree

KMLF ’96 Princess coronation & dance