Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives

Finding aids for archival items.

12 Methodist Church and Spiritual Life on Campus

12.1.1

Staley Distinguished Christian Scholar Lecture Series

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Staley Distinguished Christian Scholar Lecture Series

Dates: 1973-2013

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains programs and accompanying materials related to the Staley Distinguished Christian Scholar Lecture Series.

Quantity: 0.5 cubic feet

Location: Archives Room

Historical Note
“The Staley Distinguished Christian Lecture Program is a project of the Thomas F. Staley Foundation of New York. The lecture program was started in 1969 and is active in more than 100 colleges.” (from March 2007 program handout)
Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Staley Distinguished Christian Scholar Lecture Series. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, March 16, 2007.

Detailed Description
Location Box

 

Archives Room 1

Programs from the Staley Distinguished Christian Scholar Lecture Series, 1973-2013.

Emerson S. Colaw – “The Way of the Master” – November 27-29, 1973

Theodore H. Runyon – “The Holy Spirit and the Human Spirit” – March 18-20, 1975

John R. Brokhoff and Barbara Brokhoff – “Making Marriage Work” – April 6-8, 1976

Kenneth Cain Kinghorn – “Discovering Your Spiritual Gifts” – March 1-3, 1977 (5 copies)

Ralph Wilson Mohney – “Called of God” – April 18-20, 1978 (4 copies)

Dayton Edmonds – March 5-7, 1996

Edward “Chip” Anderson – March 25-27, 1997 (2 copies)

Jon Mourglia – “Learning How To Listen To God Through What You Like To Do” - March 9-10, 1998

Stephen Rankin – March 14-15, 2005

Philip Jenkins – March 12-13, 2007

Walter Brueggemann – February 22-23, 2010 (2 copies)

Martin E. Marty – Building Cultures of Trust - March 28 & 29, 2011 (3 copies)

Peter Rollins – November 28 & 29, 2012 (announcement)

Eric Elnes – November 18 & 19, 2013 (announcement) – “The Gift of Uncertainty” and “The Gift of Failure”

Staley Distinguished Christian Scholar Lecture Series Transcripts, 1975-1976.

Theodore Runyon – “Testing the Spirits” – March 20, 1975

Barbara Brokhoff – “Biblical Marriage: Muddle or Model?” – April 6, 1976

12.1.2

Willson-Gross Lecture Series

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Willson-Gross Lecture Series

Dates: 1967-2012

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains programs and accompanying materials related to the Willson-Gross Lecture Series.

Quantity: 1 cubic foot

Location: Archives Room

Historical Note
The annual Willson-Gross Lectures were established in 1966 by Dr. and Mrs. James Willson partly in honor of Dr. John Gross, former Methodist pastor and Union College President. (from November 2006 lecture program)
Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Willson-Gross Lecture Series. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, March 16, 2007.

Detailed Description
Location Box

 

Archives Room 1

Programs from the Willson-Gross Lecture Series, 1967-2012.

Fred G. Holloway – October 18-20, 1967
NOTE: This is the First Willson-Gross Lecture.

Dean Van Bogard Dunn – October 15-17, 1968

D. Elton Trueblood – October 21-23, 1969 (2 copies)

Daniel D. Walker – October 20-22, 1970

Harrell F. Beck – March 7-9, 1972

James D. Glasse – November 14-16 1972

Wilma Dykeman Stokely – March 19-21 (2 copies)

Frank L. Robertson – December 3-5, 1974

Edward L. Tullis – December 2-4, 1975 (4 copies)

John H. Westerhoff – September 21-23,1976

Mack B. Stokes – September 26-28, 1978

William H. Willimon (November 4-6 1980)

Gene Cotton – November 7-9, 1995 (Theme: “You’ve Got To Have Faith”)

Kenneth L. Carder – October 23-24, 1996 (Theme: “A Theology of the Economy”)

Norman Dietz – October 20-21, 1997

T. Canby Jones – November 6-7, 2006 (2 copies)

Margaret Nutting Ralph – October 9, 2008 (“And God Said What?” / “The Creation Stories and Science: Is There a Conflict?”) (2 copies)

Michael Dean Benton – March 9, 2012 – (“Finding the Truth When Certainties Collide: Dialogic Performance Studies”)

Willson-Gross Lecture Series Transcripts, 1968-1975.

Edward D. Tullis – “Morality: God’s Perspective and Man’s Responsibility” – December 2-4, 1975 (2 typewritten copies)

Dean Van Bogard Dunn – October 15-17, 1968

Three Lectures: 

A Broken World: The Ten Commandments Backward 

A Search for Wholeness: Life Is an Experiment 

Compromise: A Good Umbrella but a Poor Roof

NOTE: 2 copies - printed and paperback bound copies in the same form, look and size as the printed program.

Willson-Gross Lecture Series Brochures, 1967-1968.

The Willson-Gross Lectures at Union College, Barbourville, Kentucky (3 copies – one is stamped Oct 17 1967, another May 22 1968)

Willson-Gross Lecture Series Signs and Announcements, 2011-2012.

Michael Dean Benton – March 29, 2012 – Sign (18” by 12”)

Will Samson  - “New Monasticism” – November 9, 2011 (large sign)

12.2.1

Books and Pamphlets

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Methodist Books and Pamphlets Collected by Union College

Dates: various dates

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains books and pamphlets collection by Union College regarding the Methodist religion.

Quantity: 

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Methodist Books and Pamphlets Collected by Union College. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, January 10, 2013.

Detailed Description
Location Shelf

 

Archives Room 1

Methodist Books and Pamphlets, various dates.

Aldersgate 1738-1938 A Service in Song (1938) Compiled and Arranged by Robert G. McCutchan

Attempts at Methodist and Moravian Union: 1785-1786 by Warren Thomas Smith, Reprinted form Methodist History, January 1970

Back to Wesley by Frank W. Collier (1924)

The Christian Advocate. May 3, 1934

The Christian Advocate. May 19, 1938

The Constitution for the United Methodist Church, 1967

David Lloyd George on John Wesley, 1922

Fifty Years in Buckles and Saddle by James K. Shields, 1937

Francis Asbury in Kentucky 1791-1816.  Compiled from Asbury’s Journals by Dr. Harry R. Short, 1971

The Junior Catechism of the Methodist Episcopal Church and the Methodist Episcopal Church, South.  1905

Little Journeys to the Homes of Great Reformers, John Wesley by Elbert Hubbard, Roycrofters, January 1907

Methodist Episcopalians, Who They Are, What They Believe, What They Do. by Robert E. Smith, Revised Edition 1924

Olaf Gustaf Hedstrom, Pioneer Leader of Swedish Methodism by Evald Benjamin Lawson

The Standard Catechism of the Methodist Episcopal Church and the Methodist Episcopal Church, South.  Methodist Book Concern, 1905

The Story of John Street Methodist Church 1766-1940 by Robert H. Dolliver (Pastor), Cover Title: “Story of the Mother Church of American Methodism,” John Street Quarterly, 1940

Wesley, John (title handwritten on cover), This short document consists of various articles and items concerning John Wesley pasted onto white pages  inside a green cover

Why I Believe In Methodist Union by Rev. J.M. Rowland, Methodist Publishing House, Richmond, VA

12.2.2

Historical Materials relating to Union College as Methodist School

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Historical Materials relating to Union College as Methodist School

Dates: 1906-2006

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains various publications relating to Union College and the Methodist religion. 

Quantity: 1 cubic foot

Location: Archives Room

Historical Note
In 1887 Dr. Daniel Stevenson purchased Union College for the Board of Education of the Kentucky Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Historical Materials relating to Union College as Methodist School. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, April 9, 2009.

Detailed Description
Location Shelf

 

Archives Room 1

Miscellaneous Methodist Publications, 1966-2006.

Booklet entitled, Kentucky Bishops, Bi-Centennial Program of Kentucky Methodism, Eastern State University, June 11, 1966.

First Methodist Church Program (Barbourville, KY) for Church Centennial Celebration, November 28, 1965 (Photocopy)

Union College Methodist Heritage Week (November 16-19, 1986) – 1 Program

Ash Wednesday Program – Conway Boatman Chapel, Mar. 1, 2006

Union College “Committed to Excellence” – A supplement to Louisville Conference Connections a newsletter of the United Methodist Church – January 1992 (2 copies)

An Education Covenant of Partnership (May 5, 2000)

The United Methodist Church in Higher Education – A speech by Dr. J. Stanley Faulkner (Union Alumnus and Trustee) – no date  (2 copies)

Letter from The University Senate of the United Methodist Church – re: “Marks of A United Methodist Church-Related Academic Institution” – August 29, 1996

 Bishop John Lloyd Decell (1887 – 1946) papers, 1907-1994.

List of materials – entitled, “The Bishop John Lloyd Decell Archives relating to his years at Union College in Kentucky given by Mrs. Hattie Pearl Decell on October 8, 1994”

Newspaper clippings

Several papers and letters by or about Bishop Decell

Photocopy of the Journal of Bishop Decell dated, Oct. 8, 1906 –May 1, 1907

A metal wall plaque depicting a cross from the study of Bishop Decell

Various writings and photocopies

12.3.1

Programs and Pamphlets

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Methodist Programs and Pamphlets

Dates: 1971-2000

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains recruiting brochures, chapel programs, the Chapel-Assembly Survey of Fall 1971, and other miscellaneous materials relating to the Methodist church at Union College.

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Methodist Programs and Pamphlets. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, August 9, 2017.

Detailed Description
Location Shelf

 

Archives Room 1

Methodist Programs and Pamphlets, 1971-2000.

“Open Your Heart, Open Your Mind, We’ve Opened the Door” - Recruiting Brochure for College Discipleship Team (2 copies) (no date)

Various typed Programs for Union College worship services mostly late thirties & forties – most have hymns and outline of events – many do not have date or titles

Chapel—Assembly Survey Fall 1971  (loose-leaf) – “The Chapel—Assembly Revisions Committee is a voluntary group made up of Union College Students and Faculty members.  The goal of this ad hoc committee is to conduct a survey of campus opinion concerning chapel-assembly programs,”

A Service of Tenebrae – Holy Week – Conway Boatman Chapel (Apr. 11, 1995)

Advent Celebration – Conway Boatman Chapel (Dec. 2, 1997)

Chapel Programs:

March 8, 1977

March 17, 1977

 Service of Commitment –  Conway Boatman Chapel (April 27, 2000) – 2 programs

Various tracts of  religious poems by James Asa Johnson