Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives

Finding aids for archival items.

14.1.1

Iota Sigma Nu

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Iota Sigma Nu at Union College

Dates: 1936-2004

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains agendas, membership lists, event planning, and other various material related to the Iota Sigma Nu chapter at Union College

Quantity: 1 cubic foot

Location: Archives Room

Historical Note

“Iota Sigma Nu the honor scholarship society of Union College” (from The Garret title page).
“The scholastic fraternity of Iota Sigma Nu was established at Union on May 26, 1936, for those graduating with honors.” (p.105, from the Union College History, 1879-1979, by Bradley and Marigold).
“Iota Sigma Nu – An honor society to provide recognition for honor students by uniting them in an organization which encourages high ideals, promotes diligence in study, and rewards excellence in scholarship.” (p.221, Union College History, 1879-1979).
“IOTA SIGMA NU An honor society to recognize excellence in scholarship, high ideals, and service achievement.” (p.9, Union & You, Student Handbook, 2010-2011).

Arrangement

Most of the Iota Sigma Nu materials were originally arranged by year; this chronological arrangement has been followed as much as possible.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Iota Sigma Nu at Union College. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, April 23, 2007. Updated July 19, 2011.

Detailed Description
Location Shelf

 

Archives Room 1

Iota Sigma Nu Fiction Poetry Essays Art, 1965-1966.

The Garret – “Fiction Poetry Essays Art” (from the title page)

1965

1966 (two copies)

Iota Sigma Nu Membership, 1970-2004

Copy of the Iota Sigma Nu Constitution.

Lists of signed “Names of Initiates,” 1970 to 2004.

Iota Sigma Nu Papers, 1981-1983.

A copy of 1970 Class Notes reproduced for the 10thyear (1980) UC Homecoming.

An agenda for the Iota Sigma Nu banquet.

Sign up sheet with signatures for the Iota Sigma Nu dinner of March 19, 1982.

Letter to Mr. and Mrs. Edward Black informing them that they had been selected as honorary members of Iota Sigma Nu.

Initiates list, Initiation Dinner invitations, Banquet agenda.

Group photo (2 copies) of Initiation Dinner participants with names.

Packet of filled out Initiation Dinner replies.

Iota Sigma Nu Papers, 1984-1985.

Members lists, Ritual for new members, one group photograph (no captions or other information).

Membership lists, signed membership acceptance forms, membership acceptance letters, initiation dinner program for March 22, 1985, Banquet agenda, Executive Meeting Agenda for March 12, 1985.

Iota Sigma Nu Papers, 1986-1989.

Initiation Dinner programs, acceptance letters, announcements.

50th Anniversary items; Historian’s Report, Homecoming Brunch announcement.

Honorary speaker invitation for Bobby Keith (Clay County High School).

1989 Initiation Dinner program, Paid guest list, Banquet Agenda, 1989 Initiates List.

Iota Sigma Nu Papers, 1990.

Initiation Dinner programs, Iota Sigma Nu Award announcements, Banquet agenda, List of initiates.

Invitation and Introduction of speaker Dr. Jean Shelton by Mary Alice Lay.

Iota Sigma Nu Papers, 1991.

New Initiates list, Barbourville Advocate Clipping of group picture of the 39 new initiates, Initiation Dinner programs and announcement, Initiates signed acceptance forms.

Copy of “Constitution of the Honor Scholarship Society Iota Sigma Nu” with new member signature lists from 1970 to 1991.

Banquet agenda, Various lists of names, Ritual for new members

Iota Sigma Nu Papers, 1992-1993.

Banquet agenda, Initiation Dinner programs, List of students eligible for membership, membership qualifications.

Letter of invitation to the annual initiation dinner to President Jack C. Phillips and his wife.

Letter to President Rollin J. Watson of Somerset Community College to be the speaker at the initiation dinner.

Banquet agenda, Initiation Dinner programs, List of initiates, Initiate acceptance forms.

Dr. Jean Letch award notes.

Iota Sigma Nu Papers, 1994-1995.

Invitation Dinner programs, List of initiates, Ritual for new members, various receipts, List of eligible students, Banquet agenda.

Banquet agenda, Initiation Dinner programs, List of initiates, Initiate acceptance forms.

Dr. Diane Ruth Ferris – brief vita – Initiates guest speaker notes.

President Jack Philips – List of accomplishments at Union College – Notes for introduction.

Iota Sigma Nu Papers, 1996-1997.

Initiation Dinner programs, Initiate acceptance letters, Banquet agenda, List of Initiative Dinner guests.

Clevis D. Carter vita.

Initiation Dinner programs, Initiate acceptance letters, Banquet agenda, List of Initiative Dinner guests, Membership notification letters, New member ritual.

Notes on the death of Allie M. Mays (Iota Sigma Nu president from 1986-1996).

Iota Sigma Nu Papers, 1998-1999.

Initiation Dinner programs, Initiate acceptance letters, Banquet agenda, List of Initiative Dinner guests, Initiate check-in list with signatures, New member ritual.

Iota Sigma Nu Sophomore Award picture, and thank you card from Karen Lewis.

Initiation Dinner programs, Banquet agenda, Initiation check-in list, receiptsIntroduction for Allan Green as speaker at the annual banquet, Iota Sigma Nu.

Freshmen awards picture.

Iota Sigma Nu Papers, 2000.

Initiation Dinner programs, Initiate acceptance letters, Banquet agenda, List of Initiative Dinner guests, Initiate check-in list, Receipts, List of eligible students.

Constitution of Iota Sigma Nu, Recommended revisions of the Constitution (Article IV).

Iota Sigma Nu Papers, 2001.

Initiation Dinners programs & menus, Initiate acceptance forms, Acceptance letters, Initiate check-in list, receipts, New member ritual.

Initiation Dinner invitations to initiates families.

Ceremony for initiation in Iota Sigma Nu.

Initiation certificate for Elaine Stappenbeck.

Iota Sigma Nu Papers, 2002-2003.

Programs for Reception & Program, Membership acceptance forms, receipts, member lists.

Initiation certificates.

Signed initiation list, blank initiation certificates.

Invitation to intiation ceremony and program for new members  (2 copies)

Program for Iota Sigma Nu Reception & Program, April 23, 2003 (3 copies)

2002-2003 Inductee List

Student lists with checkoffs

Peggy M. Wallace vita.

B&W photocopy of group picture with name sheet attached.

Iota Sigma Nu Papers, 2004.

Programs for Reception & Program, Membership acceptance forms, receipts, signed initiation list.

Charter Members and 50th Anniversary, 1936-1986.

Charter member lists of various types.

Initiation Banquet list for May 1, 1936.

Invitation letters for 50th Anniversary Initiation Dinner from Mary Alice Lay (Iota Sigma Nu Advisor) dated, March 4, 1986.

Memorandum regarding 50th Anniversary Brunch on October 25, 1986.

Stack of ribbons for “50th ANNIVERSARY 1936-1986".

Iota Sigma Nu Miscellaneous Materials, 1990s.

Various photographs and newspaper clippings, and a few thank you cards, mostly from the 1990’s – the photographs are not annotated.

14.1.2

Milesians

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Milesians

Dates: 1963-1977

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains volumes of Fragments, an annual journal published by Union College Milesians. This journal is digitized and is available through the Kentucky Digital Library.

Quantity: 0.5 cubic feet.

Location: Archives Room

Historical Note

Besides meetings and discussions the Milesians (or Milesian Club), beginning in 1963, published an annual journal of their philosophic writings entitled, Milesian Fragments. Some volumes have volume numbers listed, some do not. There are some variations in the title, which are noted in the listings.
 

The Milesians is a philosophic organization established on the campus of Union College, Barbourville, Kentucky, in November, 1959, through the efforts of a group of enthusiastic students, guided and encouraged by their advisor, Dr. Warren E. Steinkraus. The purpose of this society, as stated in its constitution, is “the discussion of problems of mutual concern in the field of philosophy and to promote within the members an interest in and a desire for further knowledge of philosophy.” (From the 1963 edition of Milesian Fragments).

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Milesians. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, July 18, 2011.

Detailed Description
Location Shelf

 

Archives Room 1

Fragments, 1963-1964.

1963 Volume 1 (4 copies)

1964 Volume 2 (2 copies)

Fragments, 1965-1967.

1965 Volume 3 (2 copies)

1966 Volume 4 (2 copies)

1967 Volume 5 (2 copies)

Fragments, 1970-1972.

1970 no volume number listed (3 copies)
[cover title: The Fragments]

1971 no volume number listed (2 copies)
[cover title: The Fragments]

1972 no volume number listed (3 copies)
[cover title: The Milesian Fragments]

Fragments, 1973-1977.

1973 Volume 11 (2 copies)

1975 Volume 12 (2 copies)

1977 no volume number listed (3 copies)

14.1.3

Phi Delta Kappa

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Phi Delta Kappa

Dates: 1994-2012

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains newsletters, yearbooks, posters, and other materials related to the Phi Delta Kappa chapter at Union College.

Quantity: 0.5 cubic feet.

Location: Archives Room

Historical Note

Phi Delta Kappa is an international Professional Education Association. The Union College Chapter (1446) received their charter on October 11, 1982.

The materials listed in this Finding Aid were donated by Mary Alice Lay in 2015

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Phi Delta Kappa. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, October 2, 2015

Detailed Description
Location Shelf

 

Archives Room 1

Phi Delta Kappa Newsletter, 1999-2012.

Newsletters – Collected in a binder – Phi Delta Kappa Newsletters: September 1999 – April 2001

Newsletters – from October 2001 to April 2012 – not complete

Phi Delta Kappa Yearbooks and Other Papers, 1994-2001.

Phi Delta Kappa Yearbook, Union College Chapter – 1994-1995

Phi Delta Kappa Yearbook, Union College Chapter – 1995-1996

The Phi Delta Kappa Initiation Handbook – July 2001

Phi Delta Kappa Creed (2 copies)

Photograph of Phi Delta Kappa members – Date not given

Various papers

Phi Delta Kappa Governing Documents, undated.

Constitution and Bylaws

Various items including letters, meeting agendas, forms, lists of members, handwritten notes etc.

Posters, undated.

One large poster of Phi Delta Kappa crest with cardboard backing

One large poster of Phi Delta Kappa key

  Poster Boxes

Miscellaneous Phi Delta Kappa Material, undated.

Boxes contain various items including binders with handbooks, and a management guide.  Also has some receipt files, records, and newsletters, and a few photographs

14.1.4

Union College Woman's Club

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Woman's Club

Dates: 1960s-1980s

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains various materials related to the Union College Woman's Club.

Quantity: 0.5 cubic feet.

Location: Archives Room

Historical Note

From the Constitution and By-laws for the Union College Woman’s Club (adopted, Dec. 6, 1963):

Article II (Purpose)

The purpose of the club is to unite the women affiliated with Union College in fellowship, to present educational and social programs, to keep abreast with the college, its activities, its personnel, and to assist the college in any way requested.

Article III (membership)

Membership in the club is open to all women affiliated with Union College, be they a member of the college faculty, administration or staff, or be they the wife or family member of the aforementioned.

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Woman's Club. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, January 30, 2018.

Detailed Description
Location Shelf

 

Archives Room 1

Union College Woman's Club Miscellaneous Materials, undated.

A variety of letters, memos, yearbooks, membership lists, event documents, minutes, founding documents, name tags, forms etc. pertaining to the club – items are from the 1960s, 1970’s, & 1980s.- also has a few items of the Faculty Woman’s Club

Union College Woman's Club Financial Records, undated.

Club financial records, including check books

14.1.5

Miscellaneous Materials

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Student Organizations Miscellaneous Materials

Dates: 1911-2015

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains photographs, newsletters, and other materials related to student organizations at Union College.

Quantity: 0.5 cubic feet.

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Student Organizations Miscellaneous Materials. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, May 30, 2007.

Detailed Description
Location Shelf

 

Archives Room 1

Student Organizations Miscellaneous Materials, 1911-2015.

Photograph – Labeled “Mandolin Club 1911-12” 

NOTE: This photograph is reproduced on page 64 of Union College 1879-1979 by Bradley and Marigold (1979).

OVATION - newsletter - Union College Arts & Culture - March 2012, Vol. 1, Issue 1

Clubs and Organization Handbook - revised 09/11

Student Government Association - Constitution and By-Laws (2012-2015)

Various brochures, pamphlets, etc. relating to College and Student Organizations

Student Organizations Miscellaneous Posters, 2013.

“We Want You!” – large sign encouraging students to apply for Resident Assistant positions, Spring 2013

14.1.6

Including U

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Including U

Dates: 2022-

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains the Including U's constitution, meeting minutes, and promotional materials relating to meetings and events on campus. This collection features both physical and digital materials.

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Historical Note
Including U, formerly known as the Gay Straight Alliance (GSA), was formed in Fall 2022 by Tehya Laws with supervision by faculty members Jeff Cawood and Libby Megna. According to Jeff Cawood, "The group seeks to generate positive change for the LGBTQIA+ members of our campus and our community and their allies. Advocacy, activism, education, and service are at the core of the groups mission. The group will collaborate with multicultural groups and organizations to diversity access to resources and knowledge. Their motto, 'Celebrating the diversity that U bring to campus' reflects the integrity and value of the organization and its members."
Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Union College Including U Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Madeleine Schense, November 18, 2022.

Detailed Description
Location Shelf

 

Archives Room 1

Including U Administrative Material, 2022-

Constitution created by Tehya Laws

Meeting Minutes 10-4-22

Meeting Minutes 10-19-22

Meeting Minutes 11-14-22

Including U Promotional Material, 2022-

Winter 2022 Candy Gram flyer

Meeting Poster 10-18-22

     

14.2.1

Directories

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Student Directories

Dates: 1979-1999

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains directories of students at Union College

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Student Directories. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, May 9, 2007.

Detailed Description
Location Shelf

 

Archives Room 1

Union College Student Directories, 1979-1999.

Union College Directory 1979-1980 (compiled by the Gamma Beta Phi Society).
[Listing of both student and employee phone numbers and addresses].
 

Union College Student Phone Directory -January 1999 (Presented by the Student Government Association). 
[Listings with home & campus numbers, home addresses & e-mail].

14.2.2

Reflections

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Reflections - The Union College Literary Magazine

Dates: 1990-2004

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains volumes of Reflections, a publication of the department of English, Communications, and Modern Languages. Reflections is digitized and is available through the Kentucky Digital Library.

Quantity: 0.5 cubic feet

Location: Archives Room

Historical Note
Reflections is a student publication, but contains literary contributions (mostly poetry) from various members of the Union College community. Reflections was published from 1990 to 2004 (14 volumes). The dating pattern has varied from volume to volume.
Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Reflections - The Union College Literary Magazine. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, February 3, 2011.

Detailed Description
Location Shelf

 

Archives Room 1

Reflections, 1990-1993.

1990 Fall volume 1 (3 copies- 1 copy is unexpurgated)

1991 Fall volume 2 (3 copies)

1992 Fall volume 3 (3 copies)

1993 Fall volume 4 (3 copies)

Reflections, 1994-1998.

1994 Fall volume 5 (3 copies)

1995 Fall volume 6 (3 copies)

1996 Fall volume 7 (3 copies)

1997-98 Fall/Spring volume 8 (3 copies)

Reflections 1998-2002.

1998-99 Fall/Spring volume 9 (3 copies)

1999-2000 Fall/Spring volume 10 (3 copies)

2001 no volume listed (3 copies)

2002 no volume listed (3 copies)

Reflections, 2002-2004.

2002/2003 volume 13 (3 copies)

2003/2004 volume 14 (3 copies)

14.2.3

Handbooks

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Student Handbooks

Dates: 1941-2009.

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains volumes of Union and You, a Union College Student Handbook in calendar form, and other student handbooks.

Quantity: 2 folders

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Student Handbooks. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, November 30, 2014.

Detailed Description
Location Shelf

 

Archives Room 1

Miscellaneous Student Handbooks, 1941-2001.

Student Handbook - 1941-1942

The “U” Book – Student Handbook Union College – 1946-1947 (2 copies)

The “U” Book – Student Handbook Union College – 1949-1950

The “U” Book – Student Handbook Union College – 1952, 1953, 1954 (2 copies)

Your Way Around Pfeiffer – Office of the Dean of Women – 1955-1956

Social Expectations, Union College – no date

Student Handbook - On Belay - 2000-2001

Union and You, 1984-1992.

No Date – early version – stapled pages – not in calendar format

1984-85

1985-86

1986-87 (2 copies)

1987-88 (2 copies)

1988-89 (2 copies)

1989-90 (2 copies)

1991-92 (2 copies)

Union and You, 1992-2009.

1992-93 (2 copies)

1993-94 (2 copies)

1994-95 (2 copies)

2008-2009 (Condensed Version)

14.2.4

Miscellaneous

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Miscellaneous Student Publications

Dates: 1966-2019

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains creative writing publications, Orange and Black newsletters, a cookbook, and various student publications.

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Miscellaneous Student Publications. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, April 24, 2007.

Detailed Description
Location Shelf

 

Archives Room 1

Miscellaneous Student Publications, 1966-2019.

The Forum - No Date

The Forum - November 14, 1966

The Forum - February 20, 1967

The Forum - March 9, 1967

The Forum - March 29, 1967

Subterraineously at Union, Vol. I, February 14, 1969 (Title at top is SMUT & SMUT)

Subterraineously at Union, Vol. II, March 21, 1969

Subterraineously, Vol. III, May 8, 1969 (2 copies)

Gambit – Creative Writing of Union College Students, (also includes student artwork) Published by The Quill Club, Union College.

1957 – with art work listings

The Express - Spring Semester – April 2001 (3 copies)

The Express – Vol. 1, No.1 – October 2001

(NOTE:  The two copies of The Express cover the election and resignation of Lucas Green “The Truth” in the office of Union College Community Government UCCG President, as well as some other campus activities)

Newsletter – Orange and Black Newsletters with accompanying material from 1977 & 2005

Union College Cookbook by Women’s Soccer Team – loose-leaf recipe cards (no date – probably 2011)

This We Believe: A collection of essays describing how our core values shape our lives – Written by the Union College Class of 2019 / UCE (2 copies)

14.3.1

CIRCLES

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College CIRCLES Program

Dates: 2005-2019

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains programs for the annual CIRCLES ceremony.

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Historical Note

The CIRCLES program is an annual induction ceremony for new students that began in 2005 and  is an event that formally recognizes commitment to the Union College core values. New students pledge to uphold those values, and the Union community, in turn, vows to help them succeed. Community members from campus and beyond present each new student with a medallion, which symbolizes the pledge they made. (From the Union College webpage, September 27, 2012)

CIRCLES was the result of the efforts of Debbie D'anna, Barbara Teague, and Kelly Eikleberry, of the Student Development Staff, to create a program for new Union students that would introduce and instill in them the core values of the college.

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College CIRCLES Program. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, September 27, 2012.

Detailed Description
Location Shelf

 

Archives Room 1

CIRCLES Annual Ceremony Programs, 2005-2019.

2005 - Program (1 copy) 1st Annual

2006 - Program (1 copy) 2ndSecond Annual

2007 - Program (1 copy) 3rd Annual

2008 – Program (2 copies) 4th Annual

 2009 – Program (1 copy) -  and a Medallion with strap in a cloth case with a card  for the recipient explaining the meaning of CIRCLES  5th Annual

2010 – Program (1 copy) 6th Annual

2011 – Program (3 copies ; 1 Medallion) 7th Annual

2012 – Program (3 copies) 8th Annual

2013 - Program (3 copies) and 1 DVD 9th annual

2014 - Program (2 copies) 10th annual

2015 - Program (1 copy) and 1 DVD  11th Annual

2016 – Program (1 copy) 12th Annual

2017 – Program (3 copies) 13th Annual

2018 – Program (2 copies) 14th Annual

2019 – Program (1 copy) 15th Annual (combined with Fall Convocation)

14.3.2

Miscellaneous Programs

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Miscellaneous Special Student Programs

Dates: 1941-2012

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains programs, schedules, photographs, and various materials related to special programs at Union College.

Quantity: 0.75 cubic feet

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Miscellaneous Special Student Programs. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, November 30, 2014.

Detailed Description
Location Shelf

 

Archives Room 1

Miscellaneous Materials from Special Programs, 1941-2012

Upward Bound

Upward Bound Informational and Recruiting Brochure (2006-2007)

Upward Bound List of Graduates for 2003-2004

The Summit – Annual Publication, Upward Bound Journalism (Summer 1994)

Upward Bound 1992 – Schedule and Planning Calendar

Back to the Garden - An Upward Bound Creative Heritage Project - Union College 2010

The UB Herald September/October 2011 (Newsletter) - Aug. 29, 2011

The UB Herald November/December 2011 (Newsletter) - Oct. 31, 2011

The UB Herald January/February 2012 (Newsletter) - Jan. 2, 2012

The UB Herald March/April 2012 (Newsletter) - Mar. 12, 2012

Union’s Upward Bound is Out – newspaper clipping from Corbin Times-Tribune, Jul. 30, 2012

Common Partners Program – Senior Presentations of Learning (April 11, 2005)

Christie L. Cliver – Class of 2005

Martha “Amy” Cobb – Class of 2005

Rodolfo S. Forti – Class of 2005

Hannah L. McQueen – Class of 2005

Christopher A. Tuttle – Class of 2005

High School Senior Day (Programs with Schedules)

April 25, 1941

March 28, 1947 (3 copies)

March 25, 1949 (3 copies)

March 24, 1950

March 23, 1951 (2 copies)

March 20, 1953

March 26, 1954

March 25, 1955

March 23, 1956

The 25th Blue Ridge Undergraduate Research Conference – April 6, 2018 – hosted by Union College, KY – Conference Program (1 copy)

ALCOR – (Appalachian Leadership and Community Outreach) – A Program of Rural Uplift – “…working through the eastern Kentucky colleges, reaches and serves the people of Appalachia.”  (2 booklets – no date)

Various student services materials – contains ARC brochures, Peer counseling information, appreciation dinner programs, etc.

Union College Community Governance Model, 1999.

Proposed by the Student Government Association January 7, 1999

Miscellaneous Materials from Special Programs, 1955-2001.

New Student packet for 1997-1998 school year – contains sports schedules, tuition information, Theatre information, form for Student Health record, Personal Information form, Liberal Education Core etc.

Just for Parents – Short Newsletter for Parents (2 copies)

For Your Information – March 2001 (current information for students – 4 pages)

Your Way Around Pfeiffer – Office of the Dean of Women – 1955-1956

Social Expectations, Union College – no date

Student Handbook - On Belay - 2000-2001

14.4.1

Historical Photographs

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Student Events Historical Photographs

Dates: 1954-1973

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains photographs from student events on the Union College campus before 1975.

Quantity: 1 cubic foot

Location: Archives Room

Historical Note
This collection presently consists of  black and white photographs.  They have been organized as much as possible by event (or honor) and date.  Listing information is mainly based on information (mostly handwritten) on the back of the photographs and may not always be accurate.
Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Student Events Historical Photographs. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, January 10, 2013.

Detailed Description
Location Shelf

 

Archives Room 1

APO Sweetheart Photographs, 1966-1973.

Martha Kit Seplak, 1966 (with Bill Emeigh)

Diane Shadle, 1968

Judith Peace. 1969-70

Kathy Brzoska, 1972-73 (2 different pictures)

AWS Sweetheart Queen Photographs, 1962-1971.

Carolyn Sue Burns, 1962

Carolyn Sue Burns (with Jerry Benfield), 1962

Gail Fairchild, 1963, (with Alvin Clark)

Gail Fairchild, 1963 (2 different photographs with Alvin Clark and President Mahlon Miller)

Martha Kirkland, 1964 (3 different photographs)

Sara Gilpin, 1966

Viola Bradley, 1967

Joy Sartorio, 1968

Mary Jane Megee, 1971 – also Patridge Award

Best Dressed Coed on Union College Campus Photographs, 1963-1964.

Claudia Havens, 1963-64

Circle K Queen Photographs, 1960-1973.

Judy Green, 1960 (Christmas Dance)

Photo of Queen and Court , 1960 (Christmas)

Betsy Shelton Fields, 1968

Linda Marcum, 1970-71

Fran Cody, 1972-73 (3 different photographs)

Cosmopolitan Club Queen Photographs, 1970-1973.

Barbara Slaytor, 1970

Ngoc Y Do, 1972-73 ( 2 photographs)

Lakeside Dorm Queen, 1969-1973.

Ginny Archer, 1969-70

Suzanne Highhouse, 1970-71

Teresa Burkhart, 1972-73 (3 photographs)

Miss Union Photographs, 1954-1971.

Bobbie Yeaton, 1954

Mary Ann Chuppe, 1965 (2 different photographs with Mr. Union, David Schweitzer)

Ann E. Steele, 1969-70 (with Mr. Union, Paul Andrews)

Jennifer Mink 1971

Mr. and Miss SNEA Photographs, 1970-71.

David Graham & Mallie Spicer

Mr. Ugly Photographs, 1968.

Richard Corbett, 1968

Mr. Union Photographs, 1965-1971.

David Schweitzer, 1965 ( 2 different photographs with Miss Union, Mary Ann Chuppe)

Harry Lay, 1967

Paul Andrews, 1970

Paul Andrews, 1970 (with Miss Union, Ann E. Steele)

Dana Gunnison, 1971, President, Student Senate, Who’s Who in American Colleges (Joyce Freeman is also in picture)

Mu Omega Beta Sweetheart Photographs, 1969-1973.

Vicki Mendoza, 1969-70

Patti Miller 1970-71

Patti Miller (in parade) 1970-71

Patti Miller (in winter clothing),- Stespean Queen, 1970-71

Nancy Spring 1972-73 (2 different pictures)

Patridge Award Photographs, 1970-1971.

Mary Ann Megee,1971, - also AWS Sweetheart

Peg Prosser, 1971 – also Who’s Who in American Colleges 1970-71

Dennis Thomas, 1971

Clark Taylor

Phi Mu Alpha Sweetheart Photographs, 1969-1971.

Orlinda Reid, 1969-70

Linda Smith, 1970

Yvonne Clancy, 1970-71

Lisa Long, 1970-71

Pi Upsilon Beta Sweetheart Photographs, 1972-1973.

Benny Shelton, 1972-73 (3 photographs – 2 poses)

Queen of Hearts Photographs, 1955-1960.

Dorothy Brashear, 1955

Pauline Kelly, 1956 (in Pfeiffer Hall)

Pauline Kelly, 1956 (with Bill Edwards)

Marjorie Sue Stephens, 1958

Marjorie Sue Stephens, 1958 (with Philip Perkins)

Jo Ann Carter, 1959-60

Jo Ann Carter, 1959-60 (with President Mahlon Miller)

Snow Queens Photographs, 1950-1956.

1950 – Queen and Court (Queen – Virginia McAllister)

Susan Mink and Nancy Moore – candidates for Snow Queen, December 1961

Marilyn Phyllides, 1962-63

Marilyn Phyllides, December 1962 – being crowned by Dr. Gilbert

1964 – Snow Queen Candidates – Laura Holben (Queen), Linda Hill, Loretta Nietzee, Claudia Havens, Jane Powell, W.J. Woodbury

Joy Lumpkins, 1965-66

Spring Carnival Queen Photographs, 1955.

Jane Squires, 1955 (2 different photographs)

Spring Festival Queen Photographs, 1954.

Frances Hignite, Spring 1954 (2 different photographs)

Stespean Queen Photographs, 1968-1972.

Karen Ramsey, 1968

Gail Gruen, 1969

Patti Miller, Mu Omega Beta Sweetheart, 1970-71

 Marlene Reed, 1970

“Guinevere,” 1972  (Steve Fowler’s Dog)

Stevenson Hall Sweetheart Photographs, 1972-1973.

Anne Reed 1972-73 (2 different pictures)

Who’s Who in American Colleges Photographs, 1971-1972.

Tom Card, 1971

Mary Ann Elam, 1970-71

Alice Boyd Ewing, 1971

Dana Gunnison, 1971, President, Student Senate, Mr. Union (Joyce Freeman is also in picture)

Jennifer Mink 1970-71

Barbara Lane, 1972

Virginia Myers, 1971

Marilyn Turnbull, 1971

Peg Prosser, 1971 Patridge Award

Additional photographs with Limited Information, 1964-1970.

Senior Girls 1964

Sweethearts (a court in front of Cumberland Falls)

Joan Fletcher

Billie Bruner, 1955 Grad

Ruth Owen singing at Sweetheart Ball Billie Bruner at piano

Alice Supples, Virginia Myers, 1969-70 (with Christmas tree)

6 photographs with no information (all are individual pictures of female students)

14.4.2

Awards and Honors

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Student Awards and Honors Nights

Dates: 2000-2018

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains programs and recordings of various awards nights across campus.

Quantity: 2 folders

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Student Awards and Honors Nights. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, April 13, 2017.

Detailed Description
Location Box/Filing Cabinet

 

Archives Room 1

Programs and Miscellany from Student Awards Nights, 2000-2018.

One page note from the National Poetry Association announcing that three Union College students have poems that will be included in the Annual Anthology of Poetry:

Barbara Lewellin – Out of Darkness

Wilson Boatman – Hymn to Youth

Ponjola Brogan – Words Unspoken

The 14th Annual Awards Gala presented by Alpha Psi Omega (Apr. 4, 2000) (1 Program)

The 19th Annual Awards Gala presented by Alpha Psi Omega (Apr. 20, 2005) (1 DVD)

The 20th Annual Awards Night Gala presented by Alpha Psi Omega (April 21, 2006) (2 Programs)

The 21st Annual Awards Night Gala present by Alpha Psi Omega (Apr. 24, 2007) – Rector Little Theatre (2 Programs)

The 24th Annual Awards Night Gala present by Alpha Psi Omega (Apr. 9, 2010) – Rector Little Theatre (1 Program)

The 25th Annual Awards Night Gala present by Alpha Psi Omega (Apr. 8, 2011) – Rector Little Theatre (2 Programs)

The 26th Annual Awards Night Gala present by Alpha Psi Omega (Apr. 14, 2012) – Rector Little Theatre (1 Program, 1 DVD)

Co-Curricular Awards Program - Third Annual (Apr. 20, 2008) – Sponsored by the Union College Office of Student Development

Co-Curricular Awards (2017-2018) – Thirteenth Annual

Recognition of Student Achievements 2015-2016 (One Program with listing) Sep 21, 2016

Student Success 2016-17 – 2015-16 Recognition of Student Achievements (April 20, 2017)

Above & Beyond Awards – First Annual – April 20, 2002 - Program

Above & Beyond Awards – Third Annual – April 19, 2004 - Program

Psi Chi - National Honor Society in Psychology, Union College - Chapter Induction & Induction of Charter Members (Dec. 1, 2004) - Program

Kentucky Chautauqua presents Haley S. Bowling as Anna Mac Clark, Military Pioneer

  Cabinet A-3

Programs and Miscellany from Student Awards Nights, undated.

Package of materials and letter from Alumnus Fred E. Rigsby to Milton H. Townsend in support of Mr. Rigsby effort to be named to the Union College Hall of Fame - Various papers, including clippings, and award information.

14.4.3

Freshman Orientation and Welcome Weekend

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Freshman Orientation and Welcome Weekend

Dates: 1946-2009

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains welcome materials and programs for freshman entering Union College.

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Freshman Orientation and Welcome Weekend. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, January 10, 2013.

Detailed Description
Location Shelf

 

Archives Room 1

Welcome Weekend Books, 2008-2009.

Book for new students with schedule

2008 – Raiders of the Golden Bulldog (August 21-26)

2009

Freshman Orientation Program, 1946-1956.

Fall Programs with outline of events

1946 (2 copies)

1952-53

1953-54

1954-55

1955-56

14.5.1

Photographs

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Homecoming Photographs

Dates: 1949-1987.

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: Folders contain various black and white photographs of Union College Homecoming Queens from the 1940s, 50s, 60s, & 70’s (114 total).  Most are individual pictures, but some are of the candidates or court.  Some have captions identifying the subject or subjects, some do not.

Quantity: 2 folders

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Homecoming Photographs. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, November 14, 2011.

Detailed Description
Location Box

 

Archives Room 1

Homecoming Photographs, 1949-1964.

Undated – The Queen’s Crown

1949 – Jeane (Jenny)  Barker (Queen)

1950 – Bobbie Smith (Queen) with attendants:  Virginia Hill, Ruth Wheeler, Olive Blair, Gerry Chandler

1951 – Roberta Yeaton (Queen) (Mrs. O.T. Zajicek) with Clifford Swim

1952 – Jane Squire (Queen)

1953 – Pat Henry (Mrs. Edward Balboni)

1954 – Genivieve Livesay (Mrs. Rue Wesley)

1955 – Wanda Summers (Mrs. Shannon Sloan) (Queen) and escort

1956 – Homecoming Queen and Court – Joan Fletcher, Dolores Brown, Margaret Wesley, Diane Murley, Margaret Quinn (3 copies)

1956 – President Boatman Crowns Homecoming Queen (Margaret Wesley – Mrs. Patrick Jasper) (2 copies)

1957 – Homecoming Queen Judy Strunk (Mrs. Darryl Lee) – Back of page has Queen of Hearts, Margie S. Stephens

1958 – Homecoming Queen Candidates – Birgit Behrmann, Betty Elmore, Judy Wyrick, Janice Martin, Queen Sandra Hammons, Glenda Wilson, Ann Wilson, Marjorie Combs

1958 – Sandra Hammons (Mrs. Leonard Slusher) escorted by Pete Moore (2 copies)

1958 –  No caption -Sandra Hammons (Queen) escorted by Pete Moore

1959 – Homecoming Queen Candidates (in swimsuits) – Jean Austin Flatt, Naomi Dew, Claudette Pyles, Glenda Wilson, Dorothy Cannon, Mary Lou Moser, Judy Roberts, Janice Martin (Queen)

1959 – Janice Martin (Queen) with escort at dance

1959 – Janice Martin (Queen) in front of fireplace

1959 – Janice Martin (Queen) with President Miller

1960 – Homecoming Queen – Betty Duff (Mrs. Noel White) (with escort)

1960 – Betty Duff (Queen) with Woodie Crum (Alumni President) (2 copies)

1960 – No caption – Candidates in outdoor picture (2 copies)

1960 - Homecoming Queen – Betty Jane Duff White (Mrs. Noel White) and her court

1960 – Homecoming Queen Candidates (in swimsuits) – Nancy Moore, Claudette Pyles, Marcetta York, Sandra Beidel, Betty Jane Duff (Queen), Milton Lay, Lucille York, Judith Greene

1961 – Queen Candidates

1961 -Homecoming Queen – Kathryn Roberts (Mrs. W.J. Baird)

1961 – Kathryn Roberts

1961 – Kay Roberts

1962 – Homecoming Queen Candidates – Ella Sue Russell, Marilyn Phyllides, Clarinda Carter, Judy Scent (Queen), Linda Gibson, Claudia Havens, Alice Carter, Joyce Peacock (2 copies)

1962 – Homecoming Queen Candidates (in swimsuits) – Alice Carter, Claudia Havens, Linda Gibson, Joyce Peacock, Marilyn Phyllides, Ella Sue Russell, Judy Scent, Clarinda Carter

1962 – Homecoming Queen - Judy Scent

1962 – Judy Scent (Mrs. Robert K. Wilson)

1962 - Judy Scent and Bob Wilson (dancing)

1963 – Queen Candidates (no names) (2 pictures)

1963 – Homecoming Queen – Paula Hampton (Mrs. Richard Blish) – (3 pictures)

1964 – Homecoming Queen Candidates – Sheri Cowan, Jane Law, Pamela Bowen, Sara Gilpin, Claudia Havens (Queen), Carol Nourse, Lorene Waller, Flossie (Florence) Mohr, May Ann Chuppe (2 copies)

1964 – Homecoming Queen Claudia Havens (2 pictures)

1964 – Claudia Havens (Queen) with Ed Black

1964 – Claudia Havens (Queen) with previous years Queen, Paula Blish

Homecoming Photographs, 1965-1987.

1965 – Homecoming Court with Escorts – Mary Carol Giron, Tom Mohr, Joy Sartorio, Jeff Wagner, Monna Williams, Donald Lane, Joy Lumpkins, Doug Olsen(?), Beth Hamm, Billy Cecil Brown, Kathy Fox, Carl Daniels

1965 – Homecoming Queen Candidates – Monna Williams (Queen), Joy Lumpkins, Mary Carol Giron, Kathy Fox, Joy Sartorio, Elizabeth Hamm (2 copies)

1965 – Homecoming Queen Monna Williams (Mrs. Donald Lane) (2 copies)

1966 – Homecoming Queen - Faith Johnson (4 copies)

1966 – No Caption – Picture of Queen Faith Johnson with Pete Moore and others

1966 – 1968 – Homecoming Queens – Faith Johnson (1966), Janice Heggan (1967), JoAnn Hatz (1968) (2 copies & 1 with a different pose)

1967 – Homecoming Queen Candidates – Joy Sartorio, Jo Ann Hatz, Jo Beth Long, Christine Geyer, Kit Seplak, Janice Heggan (2 copies)

1967 – Homecoming Court – Jo Beth Long, Bob Ireland, Kit Seplak, John Semkus, Jo Ann Hatz, Ronald Swafford, Janice Heggan (Queen), Michael Bumgardner, Christine Geyer, Lance St. Clair, Joy Sartorio, Jeffrey Wagner

1967 – Homecoming Queen – Janice Heggan

1968 – JoAnn Elizabeth Hatz – Queen (2 pictures)

1968 – Homecoming Queen Candidates – Donna Jesmajian, Cherry Owens, Lynn Johnson, JoAnn Hatz, Diane Shadle, Eleanor Witherell (4 copies)

1968 – Homecoming Candidates with Janice Heggan 1967 Queen

1968 – Homecoming 1968 – Donna Jesmajian, Diana Shadle, Eleanor Witherell, Jo Ann Hatz (Queen), Lynn Johnson, Cherry Owens (2 copies)

1968 – Jo Ann Hatz learns that she is 1968 Queen – with candidates

1969 – Homecoming Queen Candidates – Kay Dawn Hoops McFarland, Cherry Owens, Suzanne Sutton, Patricia Ragone, Linda Snyder (Queen), Lynne Johnson (2 copies)

1969 – Homecoming Queen – Linda Snyder (Mrs. Steven Stubblefield)

1969 – Linda Snyder (Queen) with escort Steve Stubblefield (2 copies)

1969 – Linda Snyder (Homecoming Queen) – also Phi Mu Alpha Sweetheart

1971 – Homecoming Queen Court (April 24, 1971) – Tommy Bennett, Susan Yeary, J.D. Smith, Kathy Baker, Larry Inkster, Karen Doyle, Jack Schildt, Marlene Castle, James Twigg, Susan Highhouse (Queen), Susanne Sutton, Courtney Langley, Agnes Burton, Patrick Barker, Jennifer Mink, Lindsey Davis (2 copies)

1971 – Jennifer Mink  (drinking form a paper cup)

1971 – Homecoming Queen – Susan Highhouse

1972 – Homecoming Queen and Court – Evelynne Paine, Susan Yeary, Teresa Burkhart, Betty Holmes, Karla Moore (Queen), Jane Bous, Karen Doyle, Kathy Bays, Steve Lang, Larry Shepherd, Kenneth Mackay, Tommy Bennett, Mark Otten, Patrick Barker, Larry Inkster, John Jones

1972 – Homecoming Queen – Karla Moore (2 pictures)

1972 – Alumni Association President, Noel White, and Escort Mark Otten crown Karla Moore Homecoming Queen

1973 – Homecoming Queen – Mayme Wallace

1973 – Homecoming – Mayme Wallace (Queen) and escort

1973 – No caption – Queen (Mayme Wallace) with court

1973 – Homecoming 1973 – Mayme Wallace (Queen) and Robin Stotz

1974 – Homecoming Queen Candidates – Lori Lyle, Kathleen Brzoska, Christine Pietrandrea, Robin Stotz

1974 – Homecoming Queen Candidates – Donna Dobo, Marla Specht, Anne Reed

1974 – Homecoming Queen Candidates – Donna Dobo, Lori Lyle, Marla Specht, Kathleen Brzoska, Anne Reed, Christine Pietrandrea, Myrlyn Hale, Robin Stotz

1974 – Homecoming Queen Candidate – Myrlyn Hale

1974 – Homecoming Queen, Annette Reed

1974 – Homecoming Queen, Annette Reed (in color)

1974 – Homecoming  - Marla Specht, James Thompson, Myrlyn Hale, Don Lawson, Lori Lyle, Steve Jones, Robin Stotz, Steve Hicks, Annette Reed (Queen), Don Pipo, Sean Cavanaugh, Kathleen Brzoska, Robert Wilbraham, Donna Dobo, Hugh Hale, Christine Pietrandrea (in color)

1974 – Ann Reed (Queen) and Bill Ball (2 copies)

1974 – Queen Annette Reed with escort Don Pipo

1975 – Homecoming Queen – Jane Durham

1976 – Homecoming Queen – Adelaide Parsons ( 2 pictures – one in color)

1976 – Homecoming Queen and Court – Jeff Walker, Melanie Shaw, Chris Newport, Jamie Moore, Don Lawson, Myrlyn Hale Lawson, Richard Rhinehart, Penny Trosper, Adelaide Parsons (Queen), Aaron Works, Jamey Payne, William Firth, Cheryl Alvis, Chris Norman, Shelly Howard, Steven Jones (in color)

1977 – Homecoming Queen – Donna Dobo ( 2 pictures - one individual, one shows her  being crowned)

1978 – Homecoming Queen – Susie Swisshelm

1986 – Homecoming Queen Lori Jolly with President Phillips and Richard Rutherford

1987 – Homecoming Queen Tracy Howard with Hap Cawood, President of the Alumni Association

2 photographs – group photo of six candidates – no date or other information provided

14.5.2

Publications

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Homecoming Miscellaneous Publications

Dates: 1952-2012

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains programs, registration forms, and schedules for Homecoming.

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Homecoming Miscellaneous Publications. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, September 5, 2017.

Detailed Description
Location Box

 

Archives Room 1

Miscellaneous Homecoming Publications, 1952-2012.

1952 Homecoming – Program - typed page (2 copies)

1969 Homecoming Banquet – Program

1977 Homecoming – Program dated April 16, 1977

1978 Homecoming -  1 Program dated April 22, 1978

1993 Homecoming – schedule and reservation form

1998 Homecoming -  “Coming ‘round the mountains…” schedule and reservation form

2000 Homecoming – “common threads, weaving the past into the future” – schedule and reservation form

2000 Homecoming – “common threads, weaving the past into the future” – Alumni Banquet program

2007 Homecoming – Alumni Banquet – October 27, 2007

2007 Homecoming – Community Worship Service, Conway Boatman Chapel – October 28, 2007 (2 Programs)

2010 Homecoming – Registration form and schedule

2011 Homecoming – Registration form and schedule

2012 Homecoming – Registration form and schedule

Also various Homecoming related items