Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives

Finding aids for archival items.

22 Academic Ceremonies

22 Academic Ceremonies


22.1.1

Programs and Recordings

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Commencement Programs and Recordings

Dates: 1895-2019

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: The collection consists of programs from commencement ceremonies at Union College. Some of the programs have been digitized and are available on the Kentucky Digital Library.

Quantity: 0.5 cubic feet

Location: Archives Room

Contents Note

Listings are for programs by year, but can include attached or accompanying material. All are Spring Commencements, unless otherwise noted. Only those listing the ordinal number (i.e. 57th) of the Commencement year will have this information included. Note that 1954 has a separate sub-folder.

In 2005 the program titles were revised to more accurately reflect the fact that the number on the cover was based on the years since the founding of the college (1879) rather than the actual number of commencements. In 2013 the numbering system for commencements was revised to reflect the actual number of college commencements in the College’s history rather than being based on the year of founding (1879).  Thus both 1999 & 2013 are listed as the 120th Commencement etc. 

Arrangement
This collection is in chronological order.
Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Commencement Programs and Recordings. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Originally processed by Bruce Miracle, April 9, 2009.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
Archives Room 1

Commencement Programs, 1895-2000.

1895 – June 6 (six graduates) – has typewritten note attached: “UNION COLLEGE COMMENCEMENT PROGRAM, 1895, MRS. H.R. DYSARD, DONOR (MISS. MAUDE ELLEN TINSLEY)

1896 – June 4 (4 graduates)

1901 – June 11 (2 Photostat copies of the Program) - donated by Judge Paul Perkins, the son of U.S. Grant Perkins, one of the two graduates

1913 – May 29 – Twentieth Annual Commencement – very bad condition; is preserved under clear plastic on stiff paper

1936 – May 28 -Fifty-Seventh Annual Commencement
(2 copies, one has hand corrections and a pasted picture of the Old Administration Building on the front.)

1943 – May 25 – Sixty-Fourth Commencement (5 copies)

1947 – Jun 3 – Sixty-Eighth Commencement

1948 – June 1 – Sixty-Ninth Commencement

1949 – Seventieth Commencement – no program, only an invitation with a list of events

1950 – May 30 – Seventy-First (Katherine V.D. Sutphen) Commencement

1954 – June 1 

Program for Melville Laite (tenor) – May 29, 1954

One decorated program for the Junior-Senior Banquet

Union College Alumnus for June 1954

One typed carbon for speech entitled, Union College: Heir of a Great Tradition – with John Owen Gross written in pencil on first page

One typed document entitled,  The Contribution of the Kentucky and Louisville Conferences to Union College

Typed page of instructions for Baccalaureate and Commencement

Several newspaper clippings concerning the 1954 Commencement

1956 – May 29- Seventy-Seventh Commencement

1956 (Summer) – August 3

1966 – May 23 - Eighty-Seventh Commencement

1966 (Summer) – August 12 – Eighty-Seventh Commencement

1968 – Copy of Commencement Address by Delmer C. Ports (May 27, 1968)

1968 (Summer) – August 16 – Eighty-Ninth Commencement

1969 – June 2 – Ninetieth Commencement

1970 (Summer) – August 14 – Ninety-First Commencement (with Commencement Speeches)

1971 – May 30 – Ninety-Second Commencement

1971 (Summer) – August 13 - Ninety-Second Commencement

1972 – May 28 – Ninety-Third Commencement

1972 (Summer) – August 11 – Ninety-Third Commencement (2 copies)

1973 – May 27 – Ninety-Fourth Commencement (2 copies)

1973 (Summer) – August 10 – Ninety-Fourth Commencement

1974 – May 17 – Ninety-Fifth Commencement (2 copies)

1974 (Summer) – August 9 – Ninety-Fifth Commencement

1975 – May 11 – Ninety-Sixth Commencement

1975 (Summer) – August 11 – Ninety-Sixth Commencement

1976 (Summer) – August 13 – Ninety-Seventh Commencement

1977 (Summer) – August 6 

1979 – May 20 – One-Hundredth Commencement

1979 (Summer) – August 4 – One-Hundredth Commencement

1980 – May 18 – One Hundred and First Commencement 

1980 (Summer) – August 9 – One Hundred and First Commencement

1981 – May 17 – One Hundred and Second Commencement

1981 – August 8 – One Hundred and Second Commencement (2 copies)

1987 - May 9 - One Hundred and Eighth Commencement (3 copies)

1988 - May 7 - One Hundred and Ninth Commencement

1989 - May 6 - One Hundred and Tenth Commencement (3 copies)

1990 – May 5 – One Hundred and Eleventh Commencement (3 copies)

1991 - May 4 - One Hundred and Twelfth Commencement

1991-- May 4- Commencement Address by Phillip A, Sharp (Beyond Union) (3 copies)

1992 – May 2 – One Hundred and Thirteenth Commencement (3 copies)

1993 – May 8 – One Hundred and Fourteenth Commencement (3 copies)

1994 – May 7 – One Hundred and Fifteenth Commencement

1995 – May 6 – One Hundred and Sixteenth Commencement

1996 - May 4 - One Hundred and Seventeenth Commencement (3 copies)

1997 – May 3 – One Hundred and Eighteenth Commencement (3 copies)

1998 – May 3 – One Hundred and Nineteenth Commencement (3 copies)

1999 – May 2 – One Hundred and Twentieth Commencement

2000 – May 7 – One Hundred and Twenty-First Commencement (3 copies) - Attachments include a Lexington Herald Leader article entitled, “We need young America to come alive,” by Lance Williams which recounts Rev. Jesse Jackson’s speech to the graduates, and transcripts of certain parts of the ceremony.

(also DVDs of 121st Commencement,  Part 1 and Part 2 ; and a DVD of “Commencement 2000 with Jesse Jackson” (edited))

Commencement Programs, 2001 - 2011.

2001 – May 6 – One Hundred and Twenty-Second Commencement (3 copies)

2002 – May 5 – One Hundred and Twenty-Third Commencement (3 copies)

2003 – May 4 – One Hundred and Twenty-Fourth Commencement (3 copies; 1 DVD)

2004 – May 1 – One Hundred and Twenty-Fifth Commencement (3 copies; 1 DVD) - also includes Commencement Program Notes concerning the awarding of a posthumous degree to Thiago Baueb

2005 – May 7 – One Hundred and Twenty-Sixth Year Commencement –NOTE:  revision in form of title (3 copies; 1 DVD)

2006 – May 6 – One Hundred and Twenty-Seventh Year Commencement (3 copies; 1 DVD)

2007 – May 5 – One Hundred and Twenty-Eighth Year Commencement (3 copy ; 1 DVD with combined Baccalaureate/Commencement)

2008 – May 3 – One Hundred and Twenty-Ninth Year Commencement (3 copies ; 1 DVD)

2009 – May 9 – One Hundred and Thirtieth Year Commencement (Contents Note:  3 programs and 2 DVDs)

2010 – May 8 – One Hundred and Thirty-First Year Commencement (3 copies ; 1 DVD))

2011 – May 7 – One Hundred and Thirty-Second Year Commencement (3 copies; 2 DVDs)

Commencement Programs, 2012 – 2015.

2012 – May 5 – One Hundred and Thirty-Third Year Commencement (3 copies ; 1 DVD ; 1 119th Commencement Activities Schedule )

2013 – May 4 – One Hundred and Twentieth Commencement (3 copies ; 1 DVD) – NOTE: numbering sequence was revised to reflect number of actual commencements

2014 – May 10 – One Hundred and Twenty-First Commencement (3 copies ; 1 DVD)

2015 - May 9 - One Hundred and Twenty-Second Commencement (3 copies ; 1 DVD)

2016 - May 7 - One Hundred and Twenty-Third Commencement (2 copies ; 1 DVD)

2017 - May 7 - One Hundred and Twenty-Fourth Commencement (1 copy ; online)

2018 – May 5 – One Hundred and Twenty-Fifth Commencement (2 copies ; online)) 

2019 – May 4 – One Hundred and Twenty-Sixth Commencement (2 copies ; online)

Online link to video for 2017, 2018, 2019 :      www.unionky.edu/gradstream

22.2.1

Programs and Recordings

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Baccalaureate Programs and Recordings

Dates: 1937-2019

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: Contents consist of Baccalaureate programs and accompanying materials.

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is in chronological order.
Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Baccalaureate Programs and Recordings. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Originally processed by Bruce Miracle, May 24, 2011.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
Archives Room 1

Baccalaureate Programs and Recordings, 1937-2019.

May 30, 1937

May 27, 1951

May 30, 1954 (3 copies)

May 29, 1955

May 27, 1956

May 26, 1957

June 1, 1969

May 4, 1990

May 3, 1996 (2 copies)

May 2, 1997 (4 copies)

May 3, 1998 (2 copies)

May 7, 2000 (2 copies)

May 6, 2001 (2 copies)

May 5, 2002 (2 copies)

May 4, 2003

May 1, 2004 (2 copies ; 1 DVD ; 1 CD with photographs)

May 7, 2005 (3 copies ; 1DVD)

May 6, 2006 (3 copies; 1 DVD)

May 5, 2007 (2 copies) [NOTE: a combined Spring 2007 Baccalaureate and Commencement DVD is in the Commencement file)  

May 3, 2008 (2 copies ; 1 DVD)

May 8, 2009 (3 copies; 2 DVDs)

May 7, 2010 (3 copies ; 1 DVD)

May 6, 2011 (3 copies; 1 DVD)

May 4, 2012 (3 copies ; 1 DVD ; 2 brief notices to participants)

May 3, 2013 (2 copies ; 1 DVD)

May 9, 2014 (3 copies ; 1 DVD)

May 8, 2015 (1 copy ; 1 DVD)

May 6, 2016 (3 copies ; 1 DVD)

May 6, 2017 (1 copy ; online)

May 5, 2018 (2 copies ; online)

May 3, 2019 (3 copies ; online)

Video Online, 2017, 2018, 2019:  www.unionky.edu/gradstream

22.3.1

Programs and Recordings

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Convocations Programs and Recordings

Dates: 1966-2020

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: Union College Convocation materials are divided by type of Convocation and then date. Items are programs unless otherwise listed.

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is in chronological order.
Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Convocations Programs and Recordings. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Originally processed by Bruce Miracle, July 15, 2011.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
Archives Room 1

Fall Convocation Programs and Recordings, 1966-2018.

September 29, 1966

September 12, 1967

September 13, 1969 (2 Programs)

October 7, 1971

October 20, 1972 (Program)

October 20, 1972 (Text of Convocation Address) - A College Bill of Rights by Dr. Ralph Dunham (2 copies)

October 19, 1973

September 14, 1989

September 6, 1990 (2 Programs)

September 11, 1997

September 7, 2000 (2 Programs)

September 5, 2002

September 4, 2003 (2 Programs)

September 2, 2004 (1 Program ; 1 DVD)

September 1, 2005 (2 Programs ; 1 DVD)

August 31, 2006 (3 Programs ; 1 DVD)

August 30, 2007 (1 Program ; 1 DVD)

September 4, 2008 (3 programs)

September 3, 2009 (3 Programs ; 1 DVD)

September 2, 2010 (3 Programs; 2 DVDs)

September 1, 2011 (3 Programs ; 1 DVD)

August 30, 2012 (3 Programs ; 1 DVD)

September 5, 2013 (3 Programs)

September 4, 2014 (2 Programs ; 1 DVD)

September 3, 2015 (2 Programs ; 1 DVD)

September 1, 2016 (3 Programs)

August 31, 2017 (2 Programs)

August 30, 2018 (2 Programs)

Spring Convocation Programs and Recordings, 1995-2020

Spring 1995 (2 Programs)

January 13, 2005 (1 Program ; 1 DVD only)

January 12, 2006 (2 Programs)

January 11, 2007 (2 Programs ; 1 DVD)

January 10, 2008 (3 Programs)

January 22, 2009 (3 Program ;1 DVD)

January 21, 2010 (3 Programs)

January 20, 2011 (3 Programs)

January 19, 2012 (3 Programs ; 1 DVD)

January 22, 2013 (3 Programs ; 1 DVD)

January 23, 2014 (3 Programs ; 1 DVD)

January 22, 2015 (3 Programs ; 1 DVD)

2016 - Spring Convocation was canceled due to weather (1 Program)

January 19, 2017 (3 Programs)

January 17, 2019 (2 Programs)

January 23, 2020 (2 Programs)

Miscellaneous Convocation Programs, 1969-2019.

Honors Day Convocation (simply called Honors Day Program until 1982):

May 8, 1969

May 6, 1971

May 6, 1972

May 3, 1973

May 2 1974

May 1, 1975 (2 Programs)

May 6, 1976 (2 Programs)

May 5, 1977 (2 Programs)

May 11, 1978

May 10, 1979

May 8, 1980

May 7, 1981

April 22, 1982

April 11, 1996

April 19, 2001 (2 Programs)

April 18, 2002 (2 Programs)

April 17, 2003

April 15, 2004 (2 Programs)

April 21, 2005

April 20, 2006 (3 Programs)

April 19, 2007 (2 Programs)

April 17, 2008 (3 Programs)

April 16, 2009 (3 Programs)

April 15, 2010 (3 Programs)

April 14, 2011 (3 Programs)

April 12, 2012 (3 Programs)

April 18, 2013 (3 Programs ; 1 DVD)

April 17, 2014 (3 Programs ; 1 DVD)

April 23, 2015 (1 Program)

April 21, 2016 (2 Programs ; 1 DVD)

April 20, 2017 (2 Programs)

April 19, 2018 (1 Program)

April 18, 2019 (2 Programs)

Founder’s Day Convocations:

October 18,1974 (2 copies)

October 24, 1975

October 8, 1976

October 7, 1977 – one typed copy of “Address at Founder’s Convocation Union College October 7 1977 by President Mahlon A. Miller”

October 5, 1978

October 12, 1979

October 2, 1981

Special Convocations:

Special Convocation, February 23, 1978 - Conway Boatman Chapel (one program)
NOTE:  there is no special title for this convocation, but the guest speaker was: The Honorable Francis Alfonso W. Dennis, Ambassador of Liberia to the United States of America" - his Address was entitled: "THE NEED FOR INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD TODAY"

Other Convocation Materials:

Life and Culture Convocation Program 1996-97 – Schedule and Information