Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives

Finding aids for archival items.

5 Musical Events

5 Musical Events


5.1.1

Programs and Recordings

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Concert Programs and Recordings

Dates: 1948-2017

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains programs and recordings from various concerts around campus

Quantity: 2 cubic feet

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Concert Programs and Recordings. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, August 30, 2011

Detailed Description
Location Box  
16-D UCA 014

Spring Concerts, 2000-2015.

Spring Concert – April 6, 2000 (1 Program)

Spring Concert – April 11, 2006 (1 Program)

Spring Concert - April 15, 2008 (2 Program)

Spring Concert – April 21, 2009 (1 Program,1 DVD)

Spring Concert – April, 2010 (1 Program)

Spring Concert- May 1, 2011 (3 Programs, 1 DVD)

Spring Concert – April 19, 2012 (1 Program)

Spring Concert - April 16, 2013 (2 Programs)

Spring Concert - April 2015 (1 DVD)

Regional Chorus, 2005-2010.

Regional Chorus – May 1 2005 (1 DVD)

Union College Regional Chorus, Spring Concerts, 2006 (1 DVD)

Regional Chorus – April 26, 2009 (3 Programs, 1 DVD)

Regional Chorus - April 25, 2010 (1 Program

Valentine's Concerts, 2009-2017.

A Valentine Concert – February 14, 2009 (1 DVD)

A Valentine Concert - February 13, 2010 (1 Program)

A Valentine Concert “A Sentimental Evening” – February 14, 2011 (1 DVD) (1 large sign in Poster Box)

A Valentine Concert “A Sentimental Evening” – February 14, 2013 (3 Programs, 2 large signs in Poster Box)

A Valentine Concert - February 14, 2015 (1 DVD)

A Valentine Concert - February 13, 2016 (1 DVD)

Valentine Concert - February 14, 2017 (2 Programs)

Miscellaneous Concerts, 1997-2017.

Requiem K. 626 mass Mozart – Feb. 2, 1997 – 3 choral works by the Union College Singers (Gloria from missa brevis in G; Gloria from twelfth mass; ave verum corpus) – Randall Sheets, Conductor (1 program)

An Evening with Jim Garrett, A Farewell Performance - June 15, 2013 - includes Andy Messer & Karl Wallhauser

Union College presents An American Music Program - April 19, 2005 (1 DVD)

Union College presents Concert for the Mountains - April 3, 2007 (1 DVD)

Union College Music Program Presents An Evening of Spirituals and Folk Songs featuring UC Singers, Union Harmony – April 17, 2007 (2 Programs ; 1 DVD)

Union College Music Program presents Requiem by Johannes Brahms featuring the Union College Regional Chorus – April 29, 2007 (2 Programs ; 1 DVD)

Union College Music Program presents Messiah "Redemption" featuring UC Singers, Union Harmony, UC Regional Chorus - April 19, 2016 (1 DVD)

Union College Choral Program presents "Sweet April Showers Do Bring Spring May Flowers" - April 18, 2017 (2 Programs)

1948-49 Concert Season – The Union College Choir (1 program)

The Whiffenpoofs of Yale – Jan. 9, 2008 Conway Boatman Chapel

Rodgers and Hammerstein’s Carousel – A Presentation of the Union College Music Department – Rector Little Theatre (Feb. 24, 25, 26 – No year given)

The Union College Singers and Chamber Singers, Spring 1998 – First United Methodist Church, London KY (2 programs)

Cabaret 98, “A Blast From the Past” (Apr. 17 & 18, 1998) (2 copies)

Cabaret 99, “A Blast From the Past” (Apr. 9 & 10, 1999) (2 copies)

Jim Garrett and Friends Featuring Donavan Cain (Apr. 17, 1999)

“An Afternoon of the Grand, Galant, and Graceful” featuring UC Regional Chorus with special guests, Youngah Suk, violin I, Justin Raybould, violin II, and Lisa M. Svejkovsky, cello – Conway Boatman Chapel  (May 1, 2005) (2 copies)

Chris Garland Lyric Baritone in Junior Voice Recital assisted by Ann L. Toadvine, Piano – Conway Boatman Chapel (Apr. 12, 2006)

The Lascivious Biddies - Conway Boatman Chapel (Nov. 6, 2006)

Mamadou Diabate, Ensemble of Four in Concert (Feb. 23, 2007)

The Ashland Trio - Rector Little Theatre (Mar, 31, 2011) (2 copies)

In Recital - Cassy Kost, Mezzo-Soprano; Michael Poff, Tenor - Conway Boatman Chapel (Mar. 26, 2013)

Christmas Concerts, 1948-2015.

Christmas in Song 1948

Christmas Festival 1989 – Hurry to Bethlehem (2 programs)

Christmas Festival 1990 – Candleglow and Frost and Snow

Christmas Festival 1991 – Messiah, pt. 1, G.F. Handel (2 programs)

Christmas Festival 1992 – Messiah, G.F. Handel

Christmas Festival 1994

Christmas Festival 1995

Christmas Festival 1996 – Handel’s Messiah

Christmas Festival 1997 – “The World Sings Christmas” – Union Choirs

Christmas Festival 2004 (2 programs,1 DVD)

Christmas Festival 2005 (2 programs,1 DVD)

Christmas Festival 2006 (2 programs,1 DVD)

Christmas Festival 2007 (2 program)

Christmas Festival 2008 (2 programs

Christmas Festival 2009

Christmas Festival 2010 (2 Programs, 1 DVD)

Christmas Festival 2011 (2 programs)

Christmas Festival 2012 (2 programs)

Christmas Festival 2013 (1 DVD) 

Christmas Festival 2014 (1 DVD)

Christmas Festival 2015 (1 DVD)

  UCA 015

Fine Arts Association of Southeastern Kentucky, 1971-2006.

Chamber Music and Lieder of Johannes Brahms by Music Faculty of Union College – October 18, 1971  First Christian Church, Corbin

The Union College Chamber Ensemble – February 12, 1974  First Christian Church, Corbin

Karkowska Sisters Duo – January 21, 2001  Conway Boatman Chapel, Union College

Le Trio Gershwin – November 4, 2001  Conway Boatman Chapel, Union College

Nikki Tsuchiya, Piano and Harpsichord – March 18, 2002  Corbin High School Auditorium (2 programs)

Crossgate Players Woodwind Quintet – November 10, 2002  Conway Boatman Chapel, Union College

The Union College Regional Chorus – April 4, 2006  First Presbyterian Church, London, KY (2 programs)

Union College Division of Fine Arts, Programs, 1958 - 1966.

Volume is from the Union College Music Department and contains various programs from musical events held at Union College 1958-1966. Programs are from both Union College performances as well as guest performances.  Includes programs from Union College Choir, A Cappella Choir, Faculty Recitals, and Junior & Senior Recitals.

 

5.1.2

Posters

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Concert Posters

Dates: 2011-2014

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains posters from various concerts around campus

Quantity: 1 cubic foot

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Concert Posters. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, August 30, 2011

Detailed Description
Location Box

 

Archives Room Poster Box 1

Amanda Virelles, pianist & Carlos Castilla, guitarist, “An Evening of Classical Music, Solos and Duets”  (Arts and Culture 2011-12) – October 20, 2011 (large sign)

Christmas Festival 2011 – December 3, 2011 in the Conway Boatman Chapel featuring UC Singers, Union Harmony, UC Regional Chorus – Dr. Gay Gandy, Conductor ( large sign)

The David Linard Trio (Arts & Culture 2011-12) – February 25 2012 (one large sign)

Stephane Wrembel and His Band, Gypsy Jazz-Guitarist (Arts & Culture 2011-12) – March 21 2012 (large sign)

West Point Hellcats Bugle Corps “An Evening of high-energy patriotic music” – February 3 (large sign – 3 copies)

 African Showboyz (Arts & Culture Fall 2012) – September 13 2012 (large sign)

One sign advertising two shows:  Stephane Wrembel (Arts & Culture) – March 18, 2013 and  Appalatin (Arts & Culture) – March 21, 2013      

Virgil Bowlin with Peerless Mountain - February 6, 2014 (large sign)

5.2.1

Programs and Recordings

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Recital Programs and Recordings

Dates: 1985

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains programs and recordings from various recitals around campus

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Recital Programs and Recordings. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, August 30, 2011

Detailed Description
Location Box  
16-D UCA 015

Miscellaneous Recitals, 1985-1989.

Faculty Recital - Music and Fine Arts Department – Nov. 20, 1985 (1 Program)

Randall Craig Sheets in Organ Recital – First Baptist Church, Barbourville, KY (Nov. 13, 1989)

Cesar Leon, Guitar in Recital – Rector Little Theatre (Sep. 30, 1991)

Organ Recital – Conway Boatman Chapel (Oct. 13, 1991)

Dewitt Tipton, Pianist in Recital – Conway Boatman Chapel (Feb. 18, 1994)