Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives

Finding aids for archival items.

21.1.1

Lecture Series

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Faculty Lecture Series

Dates: 1960-2017

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains the papers from the Faculty Lecture Series. Some of the lectures are digitized and available through the Kentucky Digital Library.

Quantity: 1 cubic foot

Location: Archives Room

Historical Note
“The Union College Faculty Lectures, instituted in 1959-1960 at the suggestion and with the support of President Mahlon Miller, were designed to present the scholarly background, interests and activity of the professors at a small liberal arts college.” (from The Scholarly Community ; Frank E. Merchant & W. Gordon Marigold)
Arrangement
Lectures are arranged by academic year (when known) and then alphabetically; dates next to author names are based on those listed on the paper itself. The first three folders contain bound collections of early faculty lectures.
Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Faculty Lecture Series. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Originally processed by Bruce Miracle, June 9, 2009.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
Archival Shelf 1

Faculty Lecture Series, 1959-1966.

Five identical paperbound copies entitled: The Scholarly Community: five faculty lectures UNION COLLEGE-Barbourville, Kentucky ; dated 1968.

Page Heading : “THE SCHOLARLY COMMUNITY : a selection of five Union College Faculty Lectures, 1959-1966".

Included are the following 5 lectures: 

W. Gordon Marigold (German) – The German Martyr Play of the 17th Century : a Late Flowering of Religious Drama 

Robert R. Riesz (Physics) – The Physics of Speech 

Frank E. Merchant (English) – The American Frontier Novel and the Turner Theory 

Dieter Galler (French) – The Psychological Foundations of Sartre’s Dramatic Characters 

Robert D. Matthews (Religion) – Moon Cult and the Origin of the Sabbath

Faculty Lecture Series, 1968-1975.

Three identical spiral bound copies entitled: The Scholarly Community, Volume II : A Selection of seven Faculty Lectures, 1968-1975 , (1975).
Included are the following 7 lectures:

Lester G. Lindley – Private Gain and Public Need: The Political Impact of Telegraph Technology in the Gilded Age

Kevin G. McCullen – Foreign Policy and Presidential Politics: The Theodore Roosevelt Administration and Intervention in the Dominican Republic 

W. Gordon Marigold – The “Royal Psalms” of Johann Philipp von Schonborn 

Robert D. Matthews – The Prophetic Protest against the Sacrificial Cult 

Frank E. Merchant – Sinclair Lewis’s Portraits of Integrity: German Professors in Arrowsmith and Elmer Gantry

Chilukuri Santaram – Laser Produced Breakdown in Mercury Vapor

Lester G. Woody – Historical Perspectives: The Phrasal Verb in English

Faculty Lecture Series, 1979.

Five identical paperbound copies entitled : The Scholarly Community : Volume III, A Selection of Five Faculty Lectures (1979) ; Prefacer by President Mahlon A. Miller. 

NOTE: No dates on individual lectures.

Included are the following 5 lectures:

Mohamed A. Dabbagh – The Restrictive Trade Policy of the United States and the Price of Oil

Judith Jennings – Mid-Eighteenth Century British Quakerism and the Response to the Problem of Slavery

W. Gordon Marigold – Politics and Literature: Some Aspects of the Works of Barthold Feind

Robert D. Matthews – Logos-Jesus-Spirit

Frank E. Merchant – The American Novel’s Analysis of Methodism

Faculty Lecture Series, 1960-1963

1960-1961

Frank A. Gilbert (1960-1961) – Our Food in the Future

Robert D. Matthews (May 15, 1961) – A Psychoanalytic Reinterpretation of the Jewish Passover

Frank E. Merchant (Spring 1961) – Myths and the Writer

Warren E. Steinkraus (Mar 20, 1961) –Berkeley’s Alciphron and some Contemporary Problems

1961-1962

Allan E. Green (Apr 30, 1962) – CONTEMPORARY COMPOSITION : Three Examples with Analysis

1962-1963

Warren E. Steinkraus (Nov 25, 1963) – THE SUPERIORITY OF CHRISTIANITY : An Essay on Comparative Religion

Faculty Lecture Series, 1965-1967.

1965-1966

J. H. Boyd (Apr 18, 1966)– How Union College Interprets its Liberal Arts Function (2 copies)

Donald Freeman (Feb1, 1966)– The Self-Image of Western Man in Historical Perspective

S.E. Gerard Priestley (Feb 1966)– The Curriculum of Union College

1966-67

W. Gordon Marigold (1966-1967) – Bert Brecht and the Art of Adaptation

Frank Merchant (1966-1967) – Colorado: Hamlin Garland’s High Point of Surrender (Note: appears to be a draft with handwritten corrections)

Faculty Lecture Series, 1967-1979.

1967-1968

Uwe Frost (1967-1968) – A Study of Henry de Motherlant’s Play LA REINE MORTE

Allan E. Green (Apr 24, 1968) – Serialism: Pre-Compositional Order in Music

Ki Song Oh (Mar 28, 1968) – Land Reform in Communist China and Postwar Japan

1971-1972

Lester G. Lindley (May 17, 1972) – The Telegram, the Ox-Cart and Monopoly: Common Law Confronts New Technology

1973-1974

W. Gordon Marigold (Mar 1974) – A Persistent Theme. The Story of Herod and Mariamne in European Drama

1978-1979

Wayne Saunders (1978-1979) – The Religion of Philosophy

Faculty Lecture Series, 1979-1982.

1979-1980

Larry Klein (Mar 24, 1980)– Henry Clay and the Concept of Public Duty

Andelys Wood (Apr 21, 1980)– Aurora Leigh : Victorian Experiment

1980-1981

W. Gordon Marigold (Sep 15, 1980) – Gadflies and Social Conscience The Development of Documentary Theatre

Robert D. Matthews (Oct 27, 1980) – Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Fire? Apocalyptic Paradox [A discourse on hell and resurrection]

William Lloyd Turner (Feb 24, 1981) – Kentucky V. Rudasill: Another Blow to State Regulation of Nonpublic Schools

1981-1982

Jan Finkel (1981) – Their Native Land: A Tentative Definition of and a Rationale for Appalachian Literature

Richard Jones (Mar 4, 1982) – Staging the Unstageable: A Director’s Perspective of Camus’ Le Malentendu

W. Gordon Marigold (Jan 21, 1982) – The Vitality of Music in West Germany Today

Frank Merchant (Feb. 18, 1982) - Existential Grammar

Faculty Lecture Series, 1982-1985.

1982-1983

Wayne A. Evans (Feb 9, 1983) – Feeding Behavior and Feeding Ecology of the Sessile Rotifer Cupelopagis Vorax 

1983-1984

Roy Silver (Apr 1984) – The Pedagogic Tradition of the Appalachian Semester (2 copies)

1984-1985

Cornwell, Martha L. (Apr 22, 1985) – Organizational Response to an Environmental Problem: A Case Study of the Love Canal Chemical Emergency in Niagara Falls, New York (2 copies)

Ella Hensley (Feb 18, 1985) – Factors Affecting the Participation of Women in Agricultural Cooperatives in Kentucky (2 copies)

W. Gordon Marigold (Nov 26, 1984) – Politics, Religion, and Opera: Problems of the Hamburg Opera 1678-1720 (2 copies)

Andelys Wood (Mar 4, 1985) – The Theme of Measuring and the Teaching of Yeats (2 copies)

Faculty Lecture Series, 1985-1986.

1985-1986

Santaram Chilukiri (Apr 14, 1986) – Superfluorescence and Stimulated Raman Scattering of Indium (2 copies)

Dianne Ferris (Nov 18, 1985) – Reading Kipling (2 copies)

William Myers (Dec 2, 1985) – Using College Computing Centers as Testing Centers for Outside Firms

Andelys Wood (Dec 3, 1986) – Ruskin and Museums (2 copies)

Faculty Lecture Series, 1986-1987.

1986-1987

Allen D. Engle (Spring 1987) – Compensation Theory in 1987 : A Multistage Analysis of Compensation and Equity (2 copies)

W. Gordon Marigold (Apr 8, 1987) – The Bible in Rhyme (2 copies)

H. Van Tuyll (Jan 28 1987) – The Impact of Soviet Economic Stagnation (2 copies)

Faculty Lecture Series, 1987-1989.

1987-1988

Connie Danner (Apr 18, 1988) – LAZARUS: The Weight of Sin (2 copies)

1988-1989

Michael R. McCoy (Feb 27, 1989) – Jonathan Edwards and Gender Discrimination (2 copies)

Rebecca Pettys (Oct 14 1988) – Marriage and Martyrdom in the TA’ZIYAH of Qasem (2 copies)

James C. Raymondo (Mar 20, 1989) – First Birth Interval Length and Subsequent Economic Success: Examination from the Life Course Perspective (2 copies)

Faculty Lecture Series, 1989-1990.

1989-1990

Tracy A. Campbell (Fall 1989) – When Farmers Went on Strike: The Agrarian Revolt in Central Kentucky, 1906-1908 (2 copies)

Daniel Covington (Mar 26, 1990) – Mangroves as Models for Ancient Coal Swamps, or What Happens After Death? (2 copies)

Betty Stroud (Apr 23, 1990) – French Melodies of the Late Nineteenth Century and the Early Twentieth Century (2 copies)

Faculty Lecture Series, 1990-1992.

1990-1991

Robert Chandler (Jan 28, 1991) – Where are the Sodium Pumps in Muscle Cells? (2 copies)

Dianne Ferris (Oct 29, 1990) – Puritan Bashing Redux (2 copies)

Randall C. Sheets (Mar 25, 1991) – Relationships Between Words and Music in the Motets and Concertos of Melchior Franck’s DULCES MUNDANI EXILIO DELICIAE(1631) (2 copies)

NOTE: Lecture includes a cassette audiotape 

1991-1992

Van Michael Leslie (Oct 28, 1991) – Churchill, the British Cabinet and the Possibility of Surrender in May 1940

Vernon Miles (Nov 18, 1991) – The Politics of Passing: Identity and Community in Charles W. Chesnutt’s The Marrow of Tradition and James Weldon Johnson’s The Autobiography of an Ex-colored Man

Robert S. Pfeiffer (Jan 27, 1992) – Mean-field Theory of Elastic Dipoles on a Facecentered Cubic Lattice

NOTE: Paper also lists a co-author: Gerald D. Mahan of the Department of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Tennessee

Faculty Lecture Series, 1992-1994.

1992-1993

L. Edward Phillips (Apr 5, 1993) – The Historical Jesus: Current Trends in Research

James C. Raymondo (Nov 30, 1992) – A Logistic Curve Population Projection Model of the United States Population: 1990 to 2080

Clyde E. Willis (Mar 22, 1993) – The Paradox of Liberal Democracy

1993-1994

Glenn R. Boyet (Nov 1, 1993) – Persuasion for the Masses: Television Advertising and the 1964 Presidential Campaign

Robert Chandler (Jan 24, 1994) – The Role of Neural Cell Adhesion Molecules in the Development of the Nervous System of Drosophila

Dianne Ferris (Feb 21, 1994) – Memory Loss in Paradise 

Frank Miceli (Oct 18, 1993) - Strategic Nuclear Weapons: A Force for a Post-Cold War World

Faculty Lecture Series, 1994-1995.

1994-1995

David Felty (Spring 1995) – Religion, Morality, and Developmental Psychology (2 copies)

Christine Marley (Spring 1995) – 50 Years of Herblock: Auteur Theory and the Editorial Cartoonist

Vernon G. Miles (Oct 17, 1994) – Self-Subverting Texts: The Colonization Debate in the Antislavery Novel

Roberta K. Reith (Fall 1994) – Female Role Models in Contemporary Adolescent Mystery Fiction

Faculty Lecture Series, 1995-1997.

1995-1996

Christine A. Marley (Spring 1995) 50 Years of Herblock: Auteur Theory and the Editorial Cartoonist

Margaret D. Combs (Nov 20, 1995) – The Flat-Tax: Exposing the Myth

Stephen D. Mooney (Fall 1995) – An Introduction to Central Appalachian Coal Mining Novels and to Their Historical Context, 1895-1995

Andelys Wood (Feb 5, 1996) – King Arthur: The Last Roman Briton?

1996-1997

Robert B. Beasley – Internet Connectivity in the Classroom: Developing Global Collaborative Projects That Work

Frank Miceli – The End of the American Century

James C. Raymondo (Dec 23, 1996) – The Effect of an Abbreviated Freshman Year Seminar Program on Student Retention and Student Academic Performance

Faculty Lecture Series, 1997-1999

1997-1999

David Felty - Agony Without Ecstasy: on Struggling to Disagreement with MacIntyre (2 copies)

Van Michael Leslie – British Perceptions of Adolf Hitler

James Robert Garrett (Mar. 2, 1998) – Fact, Fiction, and Truth: Gettysburg, The Killer Angels, and why isn’t General James Longstreet a Hero Anyway?

Russell B. Sisson – Christ and Culture in the Sports Arena: the Interplay of Culture and Theology in Contemporary Attitudes Toward Sports

NOTE: “Presented to the ‘Religion in the U.S.’ Section of the American Academy of Religion, Southeastern Region Knoxville, TN March 21, 1998

Andelys Wood (Feb. 22, 1999) – Shakespeare’s Globe, Groundlings, and The Merchant

William Henshaw and Randall Sheets (Apr. 13, 1999) – The Marriage of Science and Singing: The Application of Computer Technology to Vocal Pedagogy

NOTE: slide printout included

Faculty Lecture Series, 1999-2002.

1999- 2002

Dennis R. Rader (Oct. 1999) – Hogs on Ice: Thoughts About Student Motivation

Margaret D. Combs (Mar. 7, 2000) – The Effect of Culture on Accounting Standards: A Comparative Analysis of Financial Reporting Practices in the United States and the United Kingdom

Ella Hensley (Fall 2000) (Handouts) – Scarcity

Jeffrey R. Darrow (Apr. 23, 2001) – The Electoral College: An Allocation Exercise

Rebecca Pettys (Apr. 22, 2002) – Passion of Hussain

Faculty Lecture Series, 2002-2005.

2002- 2005

John A. Gould (Nov. 25, 2002) – Organizational Trust and Leadership

James R. Garrett (Feb 24, 2003) – “All of My Stories are True and Some of Them Really Happened”: Fact, Fiction, and Truth in Jim Garrett’s Autobiography of a Nut

Lou Ann Hopper (Mar. 2004) – The Contemporary Manager: Exploring Female and Male Leadership Styles

Christine A. Marley-Frederick (2004) – Doonesbury, April 2004: A Serious Look at Comedy, Tragedy, and War (includes CD with powerpoint)

Hugo A. Freund (Jan.26,2005) – Ballads, Sisters and Curses: The Use of Traditional Appalachian Culture in the Novels of Silas House. [“Includes a close examination of the novel A Parchment of Leaves”]

Faculty Lecture Series, 2005-2008.

2005 – 2008

Russell B. Sisson (Nov. 2, 2005) – Running Against the Walls of the Cage: Setting Limits to Moral and Breaking Them in Roman Stoicism

John Gould and Ella Hensley – Assessing Attitudes of Economic Educators on Teaching Entrepreneurship (2 copies)

NOTE: “Paper presented at 2006 NCEE Annual Meeting

Stacey Elsasser (Apr. 12, 2006) – “My Body Wants to go Wild Sometimes”: Embodied Control and the Elementary School Child

Russell b. Sisson (Oct. 2006) – Visualization and Tacit Forms of Knowledge in the Interpretation of Metaphors

Virginia Gay Gandy (Mar. 19, 2007) – Editing Sixteenth-Century Motets: Creating Scholarly Performing Editions (1 Handout, 1 DVD, and 1 announcement)

Lu Kang (Oct. 29, 2007) – Halocarbons Tied to the Stratospheric Ozone Depletion & the Global Warming

Andelys Wood (Dec. 3, 2007) – Unwanted Laughter? Titus Andronicus at Shakespeare’s Globe 2006

Jimmy Smith (Feb. 22, 2008) – Mega Cat !: Harriette Simpson Arnow and the Drowned Landscape of the Upper Cumberland

Audrey A. Hrinda (Spring 2008) - Emotional Intelligence of Transformational Leaders in the United States Coast Guard

Susan L.F. Isaacs (Nov. 5, 2008) – The Ephemera of Jewish Rites of Passage

Faculty Lecture Series, 2009-2012.

2009 – 2012

David Miller (Feb. 23, 2009) – The Two Natures of Christ as Given and Shown: A Christology Based on Jean-Luc Marion’s Phenomenology of Revelation

Russell B. Sisson (Oct. 13, 2009) – Consciousness of Authority and Authority of Conscience: Anne Hutchison and Liminal Culture in the Puritan Commonwealth of New England

Jim Rubin (April 13, 2010) – Active Reading: Adaptations of Reading Processes to Improve Comprehension (Lecture & Powerpoint Slides)

Andelys Wood (Oct. 25, 2010) – The Stones of London: Public Art in Charlie Fletcher’s Stoneheart Trilogy, copied  from The Literary London Journal, Volume 9, Number 2 (September 2011) online

Jimmy Dean Smith (Nov. 8, 2010) – How You’ve Been Raised: Cultural Identity in the Genteel Novels of Tony Earley

Fidelis Achenjang (Mar. 28, 2011) – Making Sense of the Chemistry of Alkaline Antioxidant Water

V. Gay Gandy (April 25, 2011) – Choral Settings of the Ordinary of the Mass: A Historical Perspective (3 copies)

Smith, Jimmy Dean (November 26, 2012) – Ordained to Settle the Wilderness: Protestant Home Missionaries Write an Exploitable Appalachia

Faculty Lecture Series, 2013-2015.

2013 - 2014

Rice, Melinda (February 11, 2013) – “Dang, I Done it Again!”: Responding to Dialectical Variation in the College Classroom (copy of Powerpoint Slides in print)

Freund, Hugo A. (February 26, 2013) – The South, Upland South, or a Trans-Border Folk Region – Understanding the Appalachian Mountains 

Ilie Vasilescu (Oct. 28, 2013) – Appalachian Student’s Body Image Satisfaction from Elementary School through College

Andelys Wood (Nov. 11, 2013) – Museum as Heterotopia: Children Visit the British Museum

Jim Rubin & Manikya Rajakaruna (February 24, 2014)--Teaching and Assessing Higher Order Thinking in the Math Classroom with Clickers

Linda Silber (April 21, 2014) - (Mis?)adventures in Online Dating

2014 - 2015

Branch, Doug (Feb. 23, 2015) - Frequency of Acute and Overuse Hip Injuries in High School Athletes

Silber, Linda (Apr. 21, 2014) - (Mis?)adventures in Online Dating

Faculty Lecture Series, 2016-2017.

2016-2017

Karna, Sunil (February 22, 2016) - Diamonds for Life (Power Point slides)

Pearson, Joseph (September 19, 2016) - Barbarism & the Bourgeoisie: American Whigs and the Rejection of the Past (Bulleted Lecture plus Power Point slides)

Smith, Jimmy Dean (November 28, 2016) - Country Roads: Mountain Journeys in the Anthropocene (Power Point slides)

Reeves, Jason (February 27, 2017) - A Partnership for Promise: A P-20 Collaborative Model for Educator Preparation Programs (Power Point slides)

Walczak, Kathy & Katie Flynn (November 27, 2017) – Special Issues in Rural Mental Health (Power Point Slides)

Pearson, Joseph W. (February 26, 2018) – Kentucky’s Frontier Sublime: The Middle-Class Romance of the Wilderness

Karna, Sunil (March 26, 2018) – Gravitational Wave: The Last Piece of Einstein’s Dream

Pearson, Joseph W. (November 19, 2018) – The Weight of the Times: The Birth of the Kentucky Shakespeare Festival & the Radicalism of the 1960’s

Faculty Lecture Series, undated.

Chilikuri, Santaram – Spectroscopy and Molecular Structure

21.1.2

Photographs

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Faculty Photographs

Dates: 1980s-1990s

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains various photographs of faculty during graduation and other ceremonies on campus.

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is arranged chronologically.
Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Faculty Photographs. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Originally processed by Bruce Miracle, May 3, 2007.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
Archives Room 1

Faculty Miscellaneous Photographs, 1980s-1990s.

Various photographs mainly of faculty from 1980’s and early 1990’s. Includes photographs of graduation and other ceremonies, including guest speakers and dignitaries.

21.1.3

Handbooks

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Faculty Handbooks

Dates: 1969-2014

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains the Union College Faculty Handbooks.

Quantity: 1 shelf

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is arranged chronologically.
Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Faculty Handbooks. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Originally processed by Bruce Miracle, May 2, 2007.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
Archival Shelf 1

Union College Faculty Handbooks, 1969-2014.

Union College Faculty Handbook -1969

Union College Faculty Handbook 1975 (2 copies)

Union College Faculty Handbook 1980 (2 copies)

Union College Faculty Handbook 1993- 1994

Union College Faculty Handbook 1996-1997 – 2 copies

Union College Faculty Handbook 2003-2004

Union College Faculty Handbook 2012

Union College Faculty Handbook 2014

21.1.4

Retirements

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Faculty Retirements

Dates: 1995-2015

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains programs and recordings of retirement ceremonies for faculty members.

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is arranged chronologically.
Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Faculty Retirements. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Originally processed by Bruce Miracle, May 2, 2007.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
Archival Shelf 1

Union College Faculty Retirements, 1995-2015.

Dianne Ferris (April 26, 1995). Poem by Andelys Wood. Remarks by Robin B. Swisher.

Allan Green (April 24, 1999). Poem by Andelys Wood.

Rebecca Pettys (April 13, 2012).  Retirement Ceremony Program (3 copies) and one You Tube video message on DVD

James (Jim) Cox, James (Jim) Garrett, Melissa Garrett, & John Taylor (March 28, 2013) – 3 programs and 1 DVD

Andelys Wood, Marshall Rasnake, Ella Hensley, Don Musselman, and Randy Botkin (May 2, 2014) - 2 Programs and 1 DVD

Thomas McFarland (December 11, 2014) - 2 leaflet/programs and 1 DVD

Mary Alice Lay (April 30, 2015) - 1 DVD

21.1.5

Faculty Institute Papers

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Faculty Institute Papers

Dates: 2007-2013

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: The collection consists of Faculty Institute papers organized by year(s) in three ring binders

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is arranged chronologically.
Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Faculty Institute Papers. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Originally processed by Bruce Miracle, February 4, 2016.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
Archives Room 1

Faculty Institute Papers, 2007-2013.

2007

2008 (2 copies)

2009 (2 copies)

2010 – 2011 (2 copies)

2011 – 2012 (2 copies)

2012 – 2013

21.1.6

Faculty Meeting Minutes

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Faculty Meeting Minutes

Dates: 1946-2019

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: Union College Faculty holds monthly meetings from August to April of each academic year, skipping December due to winter break. Meeting minutes include, but is not limited to, the agenda for each meeting, new course proposals, new degree and minor proposals, and approval of graduates.

Quantity: 2 shelves

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is arranged chronologically.
Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is restricted, only faculty and staff of Union College have access to this collection

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Faculty Meeting Minutes. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Originally processed by Bruce Miracle, 2009. Updated by Madeleine Schense 07/26/2022

Detailed Description
Location Shelf  
Archival Shelf 2

September 1946 - June 1950

June 1950 - September 1953

September 1953 - September 1956

September 1956 - August 1959

September 1959 - July 1962

September 1962 - July 1970

September 12, 1970 - May 14, 1973

July 19, 1973 - May 12, 1975

June 18, 1975 - May 10, 1976

June 14, 1976 - May 14, 1979

July 10, 1979 - May 11, 1981

  3

June 24, 1981 - June 21, 1983

August 19, 1983 - July 23, 1984

August 31, 1984 - May 5, 1986

August 27, 1986 - April 10, 1989

September 1, 1989 - April 8, 1991

August 23, 1991 - April 12, 1993

August 27, 1993 - April 10, 1995

August 25, 1995 - April 14, 1997

September 15, 1997 - April 12, 1999

August 19, 1999 - April 16, 2001

August 23, 2001 - April 21, 2003

August 21, 2003 - April 18, 2005

August 18, 2005 - April 16, 2007

August 2007 - April 2009

August 20, 2009 - September 20, 2010 Note: Binding of the meeting minutes changes here

September 19, 2011 - April 16, 2012 

August 26, 2012 - April 15, 2013

August 22, 2013 - April 20, 2015

August 20, 2015 - May 2, 2016

August 18, 2016 - April 17, 2017

April 17, 2017 - May 3, 2019

21.1.7

Miscellaneous Publications

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Faculty Miscellaneous Publications

Dates: 1978-2021

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: The collection consists of newsletters, announcements of faculty deaths, programs, and various publications related to the Union College faculty.

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is arranged chronologically.
Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Faculty Miscellaneous Publications. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Originally processed by Bruce Miracle, February 2, 2007.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
Archives Room 1

Miscellaneous Faculty Publications, 1978-2016.

A chronological listing of Union College Faculty with department and dates of service organized under Presidential Administration. This typed list has the heading: "APPENDIX IX UNION COLLEGE FACULTY, 1879-1978."

NOTE: This is a copy (with some manual corrections) of Appendix IX in Bradley and Marigold’s history of Union College

A program for a memorial service at Conway Boatman Chapel on March 28, 1998 entitled, "A Celebration of the Life of Frances Lavelle Patridge 'Miss Pat' " July 24, 1922 ~ March 26, 1998 (3 copies).

NOTE: Frances L. Patridge—former faculty member, Director of the Student Center & Director of Student Activities.

Typed announcement of the Death of Dr. Charles Laymon, Former Union Professor, at 87.

Excellence in Leadership 2013 Recognition of Faculty Achievements (Lists Faculty accomplishments in Research, Publications, Presentations, and other areas of achievement) - (2 copies)

Excellence in Leadership 2014 Recognition of Faculty Achievements

Excellence in Leadership 2015 -2016 Recognition of Faculty Achievements (2 copies)

Remembering the Life of Dr. Sarah Hendrix  February 24, 2015, Conway Boatman Chapel - (2 Programs ; 1 DVD)

Betty Stroud – Various announcements, programs, songs etc. pertaining to the former faculty member of the Union College Music Department

A Handbook on Foundations for Faculty and Staff – Office of College Development – Sep. 1, 1962

Union College Speakers Bureau – Information Brochure dated Sep. 20, 1984 (2 copies)

Susan Isaacs - Community Book Discussion of River of Earth (Jan. 26, 2010) - (1 DVD and 1 release form)

Union College Faculty Newsletter, 2021.

March 2021 – Volume 1

April 2021 – Volume 2

May 2021 - Volume 3

June 2021 - Volume 4

July 2021 - Volume 5

August 2021 - Volume 6

September 2021 - Volume 7

  File Cabinet A-3

Faculty Miscellaneous Papers, 1995-2006.

New Faculty Information Packets – 2001, 2002, 2006

Excellence in Research Award materials for 1994, (First Folder)1995, 1996, & 1997 (Second Folder)

21.2.1

Retirements

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Staff Retirements

Dates: 1998-2012

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: The collection consists of programs from Union College staff retirement ceremonies.

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is arranged chronologically.
Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Staff Retirements. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Originally processed by Bruce Miracle, September 27, 2012

Detailed Description
Location Box  
Archives Room 1

Union College Staff Retirements, 1998-2012.

Retirement Celebration (February 18, 2011) – for Sue Buttery and Betty Gray – Program (3 copies)

Farewell Celebration (April 18, 2012) – for Debbie D’Anna – Program (3 copies)

A Celebration of the Life of Frances Lavelle Patridge “Miss Pat” (Mar. 28, 1998) –  2 Programs

A Celebration of the Life of Edward H. Black (Sep. 6, 2000) – 2 Programs

21.3.1

Faculty and Staff Recognition

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Faculty and Staff Recognition

Dates: 1997-2019

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: The collection consists of programs luncheons and dinners in recognition of faculty and staff

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is arranged chronologically.
Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Faculty and Staff Recognition. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Originally processed by Bruce Miracle, May 31, 2011.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
Archives Room 1

Programs from Faculty and Staff Recognitions, 1997-2019.

Faculty & Staff Recognition Dinner

April 25, 1997 (2 copies)

April 30, 1998 (2 copies)

May 4, 2000 (2 copies)

May 3, 2001 (2 copies)

May 2, 2001 (2 copies) [entitled: Faculty and Staff Appreciation and Recognition Program]

Luncheons

May 1, 2003 (6th) (2 copies)

April 30, 2004 (7th) (3 copies)

May 5, 2005 (8th)

May 4, 2006 (9th) (2 copies)

May 3, 2007 (10th) (3 copies)

May 1, 2008 (11th) (2 copies)

May 7, 2009 (12th) [2 copies]

May 7, 2010 (13th) [3 copies]

May 6, 2011 (14th) [3 copies]

May 4, 2012 (15th) [3 copies]

May 3, 2013 (16th) [3 copies]

May 9, 2014 (17th) [3 copies]

May 8, 2015 (18th) [2 copies]

May 6, 2016 (19th) [2 copies]

May 5, 2017 (20th) [2copies]

May 4, 2018 (21st) [2 copies]

May 3, 2019 (22nd) [2 copies]

21.4.1

Abigail E. Weeks

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Faculty Personal Papers - Abigail E. Weeks

Dates: 1997-2019

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: The collection consists of essay from students, personal writings, and other materials related to Abigail E. Weeks's time at Union College.

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Biographical Note
Abigail E. Weeks was a Librarian and teacher of English. Her dates at Union College were: 1905-07; 1910-1915; and 1917-1937 (Source: Union College 1878-1979 by Bradley & Marigold).
Arrangement
This collection is arranged chronologically.
Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Faculty Personal Papers - Abigail E. Weeks. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Originally processed by Bruce Miracle, April 30, 2007.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
Archives Room 1

Abigail E. Weeks Papers, 1912-1937.

Envelope with handwritten notation: "27¢ donation to New Gymnasium." Enclosed in plastic sandwich bag. [According to Bradley & Marigold, in 1912, Ms. Weeks put forth this token donation in order to encourage contributions for a new gymnasium].  

Small display case containing: the 27 cents donated by Ms. Weeks for the construction of a Gymnasium (5 nickels and 2 pennies); an envelope from Claypool Hotel with the typed label, “First Donation to Gymnasium” ; and a handwritten note dated, March 13, 1912 stating: “Received from Mrs. Weeks 27 cts.  First donation towards gymnasium for Union College.” Signed by: “F. W. Harrop” (added:  4-4-2013)

Letter from Abigail Weeks to James Asa Johnson dated Feb. 21 1937. [This letter was found in the book Fireflies by Rabindranath Tagore in June 2010 ; this book had been owned by Ms Weeks].

NOTE: Letter concerns the book which she has loaned to Mr. Johnson as well as her experience in recent library cataloging and the packing she is doing for her move to Elkland, PA.

Abigail E. Weeks Alma Mater Materials, 1937.

Alma Mater materials (written by Abigail E. Weeks) and an Alumni Banquet Program from 1937—in honor of Ms. Weeks.

Abigail E. Weeks Student Essays, undated.

Essays by students of A.E. Weeks – Much of this is History of Barbourville materials created by Ms. Weeks’ students in the early to mid twenties as part of a class project. The history was published in parts in the Orange and Black and the Barbourville Mountain Advocate.

Abigail E. Weeks Student Essays, undated.

Essays by students of A.E. Weeks – Much of this is History of Barbourville materials created by Ms. Weeks’ students in the early to mid twenties as part of a class project. The history was published in parts in the Orange and Black and the Barbourville Mountain Advocate.

21.4.2

W. Gordon Marigold

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Faculty Personal Papers - W. Gordon Marigold

Dates: 1973-1985

Languages: Materials are in English and German

Abstract: The collection consists of papers and other publications by W. Gordon Marigold from his time at Union College.

Quantity: 2 folders

Location: Archives Room

Biographical Note
W. Gordon Marigold (1926-2007) was Professor of Languages at Union College from 1956 to 1991, and he was Chairman of the Division of Languages (German, French, and English). He was a native of Canada with a Ph.D. from the University of Toronto. His scholarly research focused on German baroque drama and culture, which is represented in this collection. 
Arrangement
These titles are published papers of Dr. Marigold and are listed in chronological order. They have paper bindings unless otherwise indicated.
Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is open to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Faculty Personal Papers - W. Gordon Marigold. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Originally processed by Bruce Miracle, May  24, 2011.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
Archives Room 1

W. Gordon Marigold Papers, 1973-1976.

DIE DEUTSCHSPRACHIGE DICHTUNG DES JOHANNES POSTHIUSBETRACHTUNGEN ZUR LITERARISCHEN TATIGKEIT DES WURZBURGER LEIBMEDICUS JULIUS ECHTERS

COVER INFORMATION: Sonderdruck aus dem Mainfrankischen Jahrbuch fur Geschichte und Kunst Band 25/1973

Perikopendichtung After Optiz (English) (no cover) From The University of Dayton Review, Vol. 10, No. 1 (Summer, 1973)

EVANGELIEN- UND EPISTELDICHTUNG DES 16. UND 17. JAHRHUNDERTS Textproben und Bibliographisches 

COVER INFORMATION: SEMASIA ; BEITRAGE ZUR GERMANISCH - ROMANISCHEN SPRACHFORSCHUNG ; Herausgegeben von Robert Anderson, Ulrich Goebel, James McNab ; Band 2-1975 ; RODOPI N.V. AMSTERDAM 1975

FREUDENREICHES EHREN-GESANG: HULDIGUNGEN FUR LOTHAR FRANZ VON SCHONBORN 

COVER INFORMATION: Sonderdruck aus: 111Bericht des Historischen Vereins Bamberg 1975

Erfurter Huldigungen fur Lothar Franz von Schonborn Die evangelische Stadt grust den neuen Fursten 

COVER INFORMATION: Sonderdruck aus Jahrbuch fur frankische Landesforschung Band 36, Jahrgang 1976

Martin Sperr and Franz Xaver Kroetz: New Directions for Left-Wing Playwrights From: Perspectives on Contemporary Literature, Vol. 11, No. 2, November 1976 

NOTE: Article consists of pages 17-23 copied from the journal and stapled together

W. Gordon Marigold, 1978-1985.

Katholiken und Protestanten huldigen dem Landesfursten: Gelegenheitsdichtungen fur Johann Philipp von Schonborn 

COVER INFORMATION: Sonderdruck aus Jahrbuch fur frankische Landesforshung Band 38, Jahrgang 1978

VOX TONITRUI: EINE SPATBAROCKE LEICHENPREDIGT FUR LOTHAR FRANZ VON SCHONBORN 

COVER INFORMATION: Sonderdruck aus: 114. Bericht des Historischen Vereins Bamberg 1978

GELEHRSAMKEIT UND SPIELEREI HULDIGUNGEN FUR FURST BISCHOF FRIEDRICH KARL VON SCHONBORN 

COVER INFORMATION: Sonderdruck aus dem Mainfrankischen Jahrbuch fur Geschichte und Kunst Band 31/1979

Die Bekehrungswelle im 17. Und 18. Jahrhundert und die Familie Schonborn 

COVER INFORMATION: Sonderdruck aus Jahrbuch fur frankische Landesforschung Band 41, Jahrgang 1981

Bausteine zu einer Kulturgeschichte: Damian Hugo von Schonborn und die Literatur 

COVER INFORMATION: Sonderdruck aus Barock am Oberrhein ; Kommissionsverlag G. Braun Karlsruhe 1985

18th CENTURY ORGANS IN KLOSTER MURI, SWITZERLAND

      From The Diapason No Date 

ORGANS AND ORGAN MUSIC OF SOUTH GERMANY

      From The Diapason No Date 

ORGANS IN BRAUNSCHWEIG

      From The Diapason No Date