Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives

Finding aids for archival items.

0.1.1

Union College Fact Books

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Fact Books

Dates: 1981-2013

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains the Union College Fact Books: books that contain different statistics related to Union College.

Quantity: 0.5 cubic feet

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is restricted, only faculty and staff of Union College have access to this collection.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Fact Books. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, November 20, 2012

Detailed Description
Location Box                                                                                                          
16-B UCA 001

1981 (3 copies)

1982 (3 copies)

1984 (2 copies)

1994

2001-2002

2002-2003

2003-2004 (2 copies)

2004-2005

2005-2006

2006-2007

2007-2008 (2 copies)

2008-2009 (2 copies)

2009-2010 (2 copies)

2010-2011

2011-2012 (2 copies)

2012-2013

0.1.2

Awards, Honors, and Citations

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Awards, Honors, and Citations

Dates: 1976

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains awards given to Union College, honorary degrees awarded, and any other citation given by organizations related to Union College.

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is arranged chronologically.
Administrative Information

Availability:

This collection is available to the public.

Preferred Citation:

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Awards, Honors, and Citations. Union College Archives

Processing Information

Finding aid created by Bruce Miracle on May 2, 2007.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
16-B UCA 002

Union College Awards, Honors, and Citations, 1976.

Honorary Union College Degree for William G. Mitchell

Honorary degree for Doctor of Commercial Science is dated May 16, 1976, and is contained in a black diploma cover. Also included are copies of the accompanying citation.

The Patridge Theta Pi Delta Award

Blank copy of the citation

0.1.3

Governing Documents

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Governing Documents

Dates: 1970

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains what is available for the governing documents of Union College.

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is arranged chronologically.
Administrative Information

Availability:

The collection is restricted, only faculty and staff of Union College have access to this collection

Preferred Citation:

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Governing Documents. Union College Archives

Processing Information

Finding aid created by Bruce Miracle on April 9, 2009

Detailed Description
Location Box  
16-B UCA 002 Photocopy of Articles of Amendment to Articles of Incorporation of Union College, 1970

0.1.4

Publications Regarding Union College

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Publications Regarding Union College

Dates: 1976

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains clippings of newspaper articles referencing Union College, the Union College, 1879-1979 book, and prominent visits to Union College.

Quantity: 0.5 cubic feet

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is first arranged alphabetically then chronologically within each folder.
Administrative Information

Availability:

This collection is available to the public.

Preferred Citation:

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Publications Regarding Union College. Union College Archives

Processing Information

Finding aid created by Bruce Miracle on May 15, 2007.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
16-B UCA 002

Correspondence, 1941.

One signed letter from U.S. Senator Alben W. Barkley to Dr. Conway Boatman concerning the issue of college deferments for young men dated August 29, 1941.

Newspaper Clippings, 1879-2016.

"Union College's first great benefactress" about Fanny Speed, source unknown

The Union College Centennial Magazine (1879-1979) showing pictures of the class of 1879, Speed Hall, and the campus in 1905

April 1981, Kentucky Coal Journal promoting the Union College Coal Technology major

July 30, 1981, Louisville Courier-Journal about the 18th Union College Aerospace Workshop for Teachers

News Sheet - "Letter to the Editor: Community's support helps college grow" August 24, 2016

Various clippings, lists, etc. relating to the history of Union College

Time Capsule Vault, 1980-2011.

Content note: The Knox County Historical Society buried a time capsule vault in front of Centennial Hall in 1980 to be unearthed and opened during the Union College Bicentennial in 2079.

October 16, 1980, article from Barbourville Advocate newspaper with a picture and news story about the burial of a time vault in front of Centennial hall on October 10 by the Knox County Historical Society. The article provides a listing of the items placed in the vault.

Summer 2011 issue of the Union College Alumni Magazine concerning a time capsule vault that was buried in front of Centennial Hall in 1962 and is due to be unearthed in 2012.

Visit from Vice-President, 1954.

Content note: Vice-President Richard Nixon was invited to speak during the Union College 75th Anniversary events in May 1954 by President Boatman. He was unable to attend then, but did come to Union College and speak on October 4, 1954 as part of his campaigning for Republicans.  The letter from Senator Barkley was in the envelope with the Nixon letters and photographs.

Correspondence from Vice-President Nixon to Union College president Boatman

Photographs of Richard Nixon visiting Union College including several of him speaking in front of Centennial hall

A typed schedule of events for the Nixon visit

Union College History Book, 1979. (3 folders)

Materials relating to the publication and sale of the 1979 version of the book Union College, 1879-1979.

0.1.5

Undergraduate and Graduate Catalogs

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Undergraduate and Graduate Catalogs

Dates: 1893-2021

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: Union College publishes a catalog for both undergraduate and graduate programs each academic year.

Quantity: 1.5 shelves

Location: Archives Room

Historical Note
Catalogs prior to 2008 were digitized as part of the LYRASIS grant funded project in 2011.
Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability:

This collection is available to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Undergraduate and Graduate Catalogs. Union College Archives

Processing Information:

Finding Aid created by Madeleine Schense, August 1, 2022.

Detailed Description
Location Shelf  
19 E

1893-1907

1896-1913                                                                         

1907-1913

1913-1917

1917-1922

1918-1923

1923-1928

1928-1933

1933-1939

1939-1943

1943-1947

1947-1951

1951-1955

1955-1959

1959-1963

1963-1966

1966-1969

1969-1972

1972-1975

1975-1978

1979-1983

1984-1987

1988-1991

1988-1992

  F

1991-1997

1996-2000

2000-2004

2004-2008

2008-2009

2009-2010

2009-2010 - Graduate 

2010-2011

2010-2011 - Graduate 

2011-2012

2011-2012 - Graduate

2012-2013

2012-2013 - Nursing Program

2012-2013 - Graduate 

2013-2014

2013-2014 - Graduate 

2014-2015

2014-2015 - Graduate

2015-2016

2015-2016 - Graduate

2016-2017

2016-2017 - Graduate 

2018-2019

2018-2019 - Graduate 

2019-2020

2019-2020 - Graduate

2020-2021 

2020-2021 - Graduate

2022-2023 

2022-2023 - Graduate

0.2.1

Yearbook (Stespean)

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Yearbook (Stepsean)

Dates: 1921-2014

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: Union College published yearbooks called the Stepsean starting in 1921. This collection contains both physical and digital copies of the Stepsean.

Quantity: 1.5 shelves

Location: Archives Room

Historical Note

The first Union College Yearbook, published in 1921, was titled The Fledgling. In 1922, the name of the yearbook changed from The Fledging to The Stespean and has been published as The Stespean ever since.

"The name Stespean was coined by the Academy Class of '21 who helped publish the Union College year book. The name commerorates two of the greatest benefactors of Union College, Dr. Stevenson and Mrs. Speed. The first three letters of each name, with the suffix, 'an,' give us, 'Stespean'."   - The Stespean, 1924, p. 4

Contents Note : A yearbook has not been published every year. Volumes of the Stepsean were digitized and available online, linked through each date

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Dewey Call Number : 378.769 S841 year

Administrative Information

Availability:

This collection is available to the public.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Yearbook (Stepsean). Union College Archives

Processing Information:

Finding Aid created by Bruce Miracle on March 16, 2007. Updated by Bruce Miracle, July 7, 2010. Updated by Madeleine Schense, July 26, 2022

Detailed Description
Location Shelf  
19 B

1921                                                                                                                   

1922

1923

1924

1925

1926

1927

1928

1929

1930

1931

1932

1935

1936

1940

1941

1945

1946

1947

1948

1949

1950

1951

1952

1953

1954

1955

1956

1957

1958

1959

1960

1961

1962

1963

1964

1965

1966

1967

1968

1969

1970

1971

1972

1973

  C

1974

1975

1976

1977

1978

1979

1980

1982

1983

1984

1985

1986

1987

1988

1989

1990

1991

1992

1994

1998

2006

2007

2008

2009

2010

2011

2012

2013

2014

0.2.2

Photographs

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Photographs of Union College

Dates: 1879-1930

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains historical photographs of Union College.

Quantity: 

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is arranged in chronological order.
Administrative Information

Availability:

This collection is available to the public.

Preferred Citation:

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Photographs of Union College. Union College Archives

Processing Information

Finding aid created by Bruce Miracle on May 31, 2007.

Detailed Description
Location Box/Shelf/Filing Cabinet  
Archives Room Box 1

Various Photographic Negatives, undated.

Early Photographs, 1897-1920's.

Copy of old photo showing children and old Administrative Building labeled "1897"

Photograph of people dining with a handwritten notation on the back "Dining Room at Thanksgiving 1908" along with the names Corb Lewis and Lawrence & Mrs. Wesley, children

Group of college students around a new tree labeled "In the 20's" on the back with the names John Young, Ethel Owens, Julia Keaton, Amelia Ballinger (sp?), Thelma Stratton, Louise Jesson, Verna Noe Landrum

Various postcards with photographs

  Shelf 1

Glass Plate Negatives

Five glass plate negatives in large envelope (some damage) of two labeled Percy Portis, one shows an outdoor basketball game, one is an X-ray of a human hand, and one is indistinguishable.

  Drawer A-3

Panoramic Photographs, 1930.

View of Union College Community members in front of college, no date.

View of Union College Community members in front of college, March 1930

Various Groups of Photographs, undated.

  Plastic Containers

Debbie D'Anna Photograph Collection, undated.

Various photographs left by Debbie D'Anna including photographs of Union College people and events, especially basketball. Also includes photos of D'Anna's travels and family life

Photographs Accumulated by the Advancement Office, 1970s-2016.

Massive collection of college related photographs and some slides from the 1970s until recently, generally organized by date.

 

 

0.2.3

Framed Artwork

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Archives Collection of Framed Artwork

Dates: undated

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: Items in this collection consist of various framed paintings, prints, photographs and other media that have been deposited in the archives over a number of years from various sources

Quantity: 56 framed pieces of art

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
 
Administrative Information

Availability:

This collection is available to the public.

Preferred Citation:

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Archives Collection of Framed Artwork. Union College Archives

Processing Information

Finding aid created by Bruce Miracle on September 29, 2010. Updated on October 13, 2010. Descriptive lists of framed items were created by Emily Jones, Library Circulation Assistant, in September and October 2010.

Detailed Description
Location Shelf  
Archival Shelves 1

Paintings/Photographs

An American Masterpiece by the Aaron Brothers of California (lithograph – 5700) Fall lake Landscape Scene. Given in memory of Mrs. Ruth B. Nelson by Mr. and Mrs. Grant Asher  24 ½ X 42 inches

 Architectural Print (possibly watercolor) – “Addition to Library Building – Union College Barbourville, KY  John F. Wilson & Assoc. – Architects, Lexington KY” By Chas Akers ‘61  20 X 30 inches

Print of Eagle standing on American Flag, includes a quote by President George Bush (January 20, 1989) by Mitchell D. Talle. Print has a Gilded Frame.  Gift from Cherry Owens. Printed Treasures 12/100 Established 1990 Signature?  31 ½ X 37 ½ inches

Black and White framed Photograph of “Jack C. Phillips and the Energy Gas Committee Strike Gas – October 28, 1983” Pictured from left to Right – Dr. Harold E. Jones, D. Deril Mays, Dr. Jack Phillips, Mr. Sam Davies, Dr. Walter Powell, not pictured Mr. James Murphy  31 X 17 inches

Framed Ariel Picture of Barbourville KY (color) including Union College Campus by Bob Boyd Aerial Photos #48  20 X 24 inches

Framed Photograph, written on picture, “This is a photograph of the first explosion of atomic shell fired from a cannon – witnessed by us a Freudman’s Flat, Nevada on May 29, 1953” – Jim Robsion Jr. M.C. Class of 1919  23 X 27 inches

 Portrait of Abigail E. Weeks, Oil painting on board (Plaque with her name mounted on Painting). 31 X 25 inches

Wooden Memorial Display with brass gilding. “In Memoriam World War II”

“Union College honors her sons who died in Service”

-Hobart Elmer Brock, Henry W. Jones, Harold P. Corey, Kenneth Marsee, Frank N. Dunn, Curtis Massey, Herman A. Faulkner, Gillous G. Miracle, William O. Herndon, Claude P. Smith, John Randall Hudson, James W. Sowder, Walter W. White, Lawrence Smith, Edison J. Disney  34 X 25 inches

Lithographic Landscape of Chateau of Chillon by G. Courbet.  27 ½ x 32 inches

Sketch Portrait of an elderly man. First name is W.V. but unable to make out last name. 17 X 23 ½ inches

Framed Photograph of “The Loyal Eighteen” accompanied with newspaper articles documenting the significance of the group. 18 X 22 inches

Lithograph of Barbourville, KY? A scene of early Barbourville around the time it was first settled. (Sticker on front identifies it as Barbourville).  22 X 16 inches

Ray Harm Print – A Blue Jay and Ground Squirrel. Plate No. XIII. 19 X 23 ½ inches

Black and White framed Photograph of Dwight D. Eisenhower speaking with unknown. 24 X 20 inches

Watercolor of Barbourville Brick Company - located on the back campus of Union College (This information was provided by a sticker located on the front of the painting). The watercolor is by H. Hitchcock. 26 X 20 inches

Black and White Collection of Photographs of Men (possibly the Kentucky State Senate) Center Picture is William O’Connell Bradley, United States Senator – Elect. Printed on the Picture is the quote, “They All Sat Steady in the Boat” as well as the year “1908” and a city “Frankfort, KY”. Photos by H.A. Gretter.  28 X 22 inches

Lithograph? – Portrait of John Wesley (Founder of Methodism) by Frank O. Salisbury. 23 ½ X 19 ½ inches

Oil on Canvas Portrait of John Wesley (Founder of Methodism) by J.E. Parker 1982 after Frank O. Salisbury. 20 X 24 inches

Ray Harm Print – “Yellow breasted Chat” Ieteria Virens. Crest Plate VI. 19 ½ X 16 ¾ inches

Black and White Photographs (Collage) of scenes from Union College 1906-1921. 21 X 17 ½ inches

Charter of Phi Delta Kappa – Charter Members (Union College, Kentucky) October 11, 1982. 18 X 24 inches

Anne Ophelia Dowden Print – “Piedmont Azalea (Rhododendron Canescens)” Plate No. XIX. 15 X 18 inches

Anne Ophelia Dowden Print – “Black-eyed Susan, Honeysuckle, Fringed Loosestrife.” Plate No. XVIII. 15 X 18 inches

Ray Harm Print – “Mountain Chickadee – Parusgameli”. Crest Plate XII. 19 ½ X 16 ¾ inches

Architectural Print of ??? by Roan Framing. 26 ½ X 19 inches

Black and White Aerial Photograph of the Union College Campus – Photographer unknown. 19 X 23 inches

Pen and Ink of Sewing Spinning Wheel and basket by Muff Jones. 22 ½ by 18 ½ inches.

Copy of Declaration of Independence “Presented to Union College by the class of 1933” – W.R. Lundy. 15 X 17 inches

Pen and ink drawing of Augusta College, Augusta KY. 11 ½ X 13 ½ inches

Framed Phi Delta Kappa District VIII Award presented to Union College for achievement as an outstanding chapter 1988-89. 16 X 13 ½ inches

Black and White Photograph of (First name unknown? Last name Stewart) – Library Donor. 13 X 17 inches

Watercolor or lithograph? Of Abigail E. Weeks Memorial Library – Union College of Kentucky. 14 ½ X 9 ¾ inches

Framed Union College Board of Trustee Resolution 1993. 14 X 16 ½ inches

Black and White handwritten map of trails and roads of early Knox County and Historic Sites. May by Dwight D. Warren, copyright 1996 from the History of Knox County, Kentucky by K.S. Sol Warren 1976. 12 X 14 ½ inches

Small Painting of Cumberland Falls, watercolor by former Union College Faculty member W.F. Gilmore, 12 ¾ X 9 ¾ inches

Small Painting of outdoor scene (river and mountains) watercolor by former Union College Faculty member W.F. Gilmore, 12 2/4 X 9 ¾

Anne Ophelia Dowden Print – Ox–ey Daisy, Lady-slipper Buttercup.” Plate No. XVII. 15 ¼ X 18 inches

Wooden Plaque for The Union College Parents’ Association, “In honor of Parents interested in the college.” 15 X 20 inches

Framed Future Teachers of America Charter, John Owen Gross Chapter, Union College, Barbourville, KY, March 26, 1943. 18 ¾ X 15 ¼ inches

Black and White Aerial Photograph of the “Skyline Highway to the Pinnacle at Cumberland Gap.” 13 ¼ X 10 inches

Black and White photograph of Elsie W. Cuhn, sister of Geo H. Wilson and Lena Keesling. Room dedicated to her in Science Building. 11 X 14 inches

Black and White photograph of Lena W. Keesling. 11 X 14 inches

2 Black and White (Sepia tone) photographs of John Henry Wilson. 15 X 10 ½ inches

Black and White watercolor of Three African Men boating in a canoe (1959). 13 ¾ inches X 17 inches

Black and White watercolor of African man climbing a tree (1959). 13 ½ X 17 inches

Framed Union College Program (During President Mahlon A. Miller’s term). 17 X 14 inches

Framed Charter for Union College Kentucky Chapter of Phi Delta Kappa, November 2, 1985. 14 ¼ X 20 inches.

Framed photograph of Margaret Senters with a background montage of the four presidents she has worked for.

Framed and signed photograph of Congressman Hal Rogers with members of KCEOC

African Collection

Oil on Board – Landscape of African Village with small huts (Mountainous Background). By Nolkasi (name hard to distinguish)  21 X 26 inches

Oil on Canvas – Three African Huts in Village. Writing on back provides painting title, “Leopoldville” 1959 by Samba (possibly Sambi) Phillip (Philipe). Engraved Plaque that states, “Given by Emily and L.G. Sapp”18 X 13 inches

Oil on Canvas – River Scene in Africa that includes two men boating nearby a village by Samba (possibly Sambi) Phillip 1959. Given by Emily and L.G. Sapp. 19 ½ X 15 ½ inches

Oil on Board – Writing on back provides painting title, “Burning of Tall Grass” by Nolkasi? (name hard to distinguish) Bought in Kinshasa, Zaire 1972. A scene of two people boating on a lake in Africa. 15 X 19 inches

Oil on Canvas – African forest village scene in which the lake reflects the sky. Writing on painting is hard to distinguish – either the painting is by someone named Bomeko or it is referring to the city of Bamako, Mali, possibly. 16 x 31 inches

Oil on Canvas – African villagers stand on riverfront and watch two men boating nearby by Nolkasi? (name hard to distinguish) 25 X 17 ½ inches

Three African watercolor scenes depicting African hunters spearing animals at night by Oballbi? (name hard to distinguish) 38 X 15 inches

0.2.4

Centennial Celebration

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Centennial Celebration

Dates: 1978-1979

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: A variety of items relating to the Union College Centennial of 1979

Quantity: 1 cubic foot

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is arranged chronologically.
Administrative Information

Availability:

This collection is available to the public.

Preferred Citation:

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Centennial Celebration. Union College Archives

Processing Information

Finding aid created by Bruce Miracle. Updated by Madeleine Schense, July 28, 2022.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
16-B UCA 003

Centennial Campus Advisory Committee Minutes, 1978-1979.

Tapes of founders' convocation address, Union College Alumnus Newsletter

Items Concerning the Centennial Oratorio, "Elijah," 1979.

Miscellaneous Photographs and Newspaper Clippings, 1979

Various photographs and clippings related to Centennial Activities including a photograph of Colonel Harland Sanders and a photocopy of the “Centennial Recital” program.

Materials Relating to the Spring 1979 Graduation, 1979.

Letters and citations relating to the recipients of honorary degrees; John Wesley Award program; miscellaneous.

Centennial Ball Photographs, 1979.

Centennial Homecoming Program, Photographs, and Documents, 1979.

Centennial Recital, Banquet, and Worship, 1979.

Photographs, clippings, and other miscellany.

  UCA 004

Convocation and Parent's Day, 1979.

Programs and Union College Bulletin – Parent’s Edition.

Centennial Lecture, 1979.

Photographs and “Tapes for two of Centennial Lectures (April 2-3, 1979)”.

Centennial Faculty Lecture, 1979.

Centennial Publicity Committee, 1979.

Newspaper clippings and correspondence.

Centennial Campus Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes, 1978-1979.

Centennial Honor's Day, 1979.

0.2.5

Fiftieth Anniversary Jubilee

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Fiftieth Anniversary Jubilee

Dates: 1928-1929.

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: A variety of items relating to the Union College Fiftieth Anniversary Jubilee

Quantity: 2 folders

Location: Archives Room

Historical Note
"The Fiftieth Anniversary Jubilee Celebration took place from Saturday, May 25 to May 29, 1929. The first day was used for a combined founders’ and alumni day, the second for the Baccalaureate, the third for the meeting of trustees and the historical pageant, the fourth for the academy commencement and the fifth for a special address in the morning on Union’s future, followed by commencement exercises at night. James P. Faulkner delivered the principal Founders’ Day address, and A. M. Decker gave a talk on Union’s early history." 
(Union College, 1879-1979 by Marigold and Bradley, p.97)
Arrangement
This collection is arranged alphabetically.
Administrative Information

Availability:

This collection is available to the public.

Preferred Citation:

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Fiftieth Anniversary Jubilee. Union College Archives

Processing Information

Finding aid created by Bruce Miracle, June 1, 2007.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
16-B UCA 005

Historical Pageant, 1929.

Contains various clippings concerning local and area history PLUS the following typed papers (probably for oral presentation): “Dr. Thomas Walker – Kentucky’s First Explorer” by Dr. John Owen Gross (President), “Bishop William McKendree," “Bishop Francis Asbury," “Bishop Richard Whatcoat,” and Untitled 14 page paper covering the history of the area, the Methodist Church in Kentucky, and the history of Union College

Photocopy of A Pageant of the Mountain People Celebrating the Semi-Centennial of Union College, 1929.

Play by James Watt Raine, the pages are in some disorder, some parts appear to be missing while there are extra copies of some sections

 

0.2.6

Lincoln Centennial Anniversary

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Lincoln Centennial Anniversary

Dates: 1909

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: A variety of items relating to the Union College Lincoln Centennial Anniversary. This program is digitized and is available through the Kentucky Digital Library.

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Historical Note
This program was purchased online (Ebay) in the Spring of 2010 for $3.99 by the Union College Library
Arrangement
This collection is arranged chronologically.
Administrative Information

Availability:

This collection is available to the public.

Preferred Citation:

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Lincoln Centennial Anniversary. Union College Archives

Processing Information

Finding aid created by Bruce Miracle, April 12, 2010

Detailed Description
Location Box  
16-B UCA 005

Lincoln Centennial Anniversary Program, 1909.

Union College Chapel, Friday Evening, February 12, 1909 (from the Press of the Mountain Advocate, Barbourville, KY

0.2.7

Seventy-Fifth Anniversary Celebration

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Seventy-Fifth Anniversary Celebration

Dates: 1953-1954

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: A variety of items relating to the Union College Seventy-Fifth Anniversary Celebration. Select materials from this collection are digitized and are available through the Kentucky Digital Library.

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Historical Note
The Seventy-Fifth Anniversary Celebration took place May 27 – June 1, 1954
Arrangement
This collection is arranged chronologically.
Administrative Information

Availability:

This collection is available to the public.

Preferred Citation:

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Seventy-Fifth Anniversary Celebration. Union College Archives

Processing Information

Finding aid created by Bruce Miracle, June 29, 2012.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
16-B UCA 005

Seventy-Fifth Anniversary Celebrations, 1953-1954.

Looking Forward : Union College 1954-1979 – Brochure for 75th Anniversary Celebration

Union College: Heir of a Great Tradition by John Owen Gross with an introduction by President Conway Boatman – This was the Founder’s Day address given by Dr. Gross during the 75th Anniversary Celebration, 15 pages – 2 copies in pamphlet form & 1 copy on typed sheets

Brochure – Union College – 8 pages –Union College Bulletin v.16, no. 1, February 1954

Minutes of the First Meeting of the Diamond Jubilee Committee  March 17,1953

Minutes of the Second Meeting of the Diamond Jubilee Committee  September 17,1953

Minutes of the Third Meeting of the Diamond Jubilee Committee  February 19, 1954

Banquet program for the 75th Anniversary – red with Black diamond with U.C. 75th Ann. Sticker

Programs of Diamond Jubilee Celebrations  May 27 – June 1, 1954

Towers of Strength – A Pageant – Program (2 copies)

Towers of Strength – 21 page typewritten script on long paper

Address by E. S. Bradley – Typed speech with corrections for Founders Day 1954

Gift form with letter to Faculty and Staff from Dean H. B. Smith

Barbourville Advocate  May 27, 1954 – Headline:  “UNION CELEBRATION BEGINS TODAY”

Barbourville Advocate front page – June 3, 1954

Brochure – “Your Invitation to Participate in Preserving the Quality of Excellence Union College – no date but was stored with 75th Anniversary materials

Bumper Sticker for 75th Anniversary – red text on black background, about 17 inches long

0.2.8

Commemorations

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Commemorations

Dates: 1918-1975

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: A variety of items relating to the Union College Commemorations

Quantity: 2 folders

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is arranged chronologically.
Administrative Information

Availability:

This collection is available to the public.

Preferred Citation:

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Commemorations. Union College Archives

Processing Information

Finding aid created by Bruce Miracle, November 29, 2011.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
16-B UCA 005

World War I Service Flag of Union College, 1918.

Made by the Girls of the College 1917-1918. Presented to Union College, May 25, 1918.

Lists the names of Union College students in the service and those killed in action.

Founder's Day Materials, 1975.

Program, Banquet, Convocation etc.- includes Founder’s Day Address by James P. Melton (October 24, 1975)

0.2.9

African American Students

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College African American Students

Dates: 1954

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: A variety of items relating to the Union College African American Students

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Historical Note.
The first African-American students were admitted to Union College in Fall 1954.
Arrangement
This collection is arranged chronologically.
Administrative Information

Availability:

This collection is available to the public.

Preferred Citation:

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College African American Students. Union College Archives

Processing Information

Finding aid created by Bruce Miracle, August 30, 2011.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
16-B UCA 005

First African American Students at Union College, 1954.

Two photocopies of the front page of the October 27, 1954 Orange and Black (v.30, no.1) with the Headline: “Union Admits Negro Students”.

Information sheet created by Librarian/Archivist Bruce Miracle providing the names and information concerning the first black Union College students, the first black graduate and the first Master’s recipient along with a URL link to the Lyrasis Internet Archive copies of the Stespean and the Union College Bulletin and a link to the Union College Alumni Magazine.

0.2.10

Miscellaneous Historical Materials

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Miscellaneous Historical Materials

Dates: 1932-2011

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: A variety of periodicals of historical interest

Quantity: 3 folders

Location: Archives Room

Historical Note.
From time to time individual issues of serial  publications are added to the Archives because of special historical interest. These may be from the library’s own collection or donated by outside sources. The collection is divided between publications that include articles concerning Union College or the local area and those of a more general historic importance.
Arrangement
This collection is arranged chronologically.
Administrative Information

Availability:

This collection is available to the public.

Preferred Citation:

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Miscellaneous Historical Materials. Union College Archives

Processing Information

Finding aid created by Bruce Miracle, May 23, 2012.

Detailed Description
Location Box  
16-B UCA 005

Honor to George Washington, 1932.

Published under the direction of the United States George Washington Bicentennial Commission - A Collection of Pamphlets and Articles 

Union College and Local Area, 2009-2011.

Kentucky Humanities (April 2009) - Article: Behind the Chatauqua (Haley Bowling) (p.6)

Kentucky Humanities (Spring 2010) - Article: Hollywood Comes to Knox County by John White ( about the movie "Stark Love" with Knox Countians, Silas Miracle and Tom Brogan) (p.29)

Back Home in Kentucky (Fall 2011) - Article:  Union College's Rich Cultural History: Celebrating the Arts (p. 51)

General History, 1989 - 2001.

Business Week (Sept. 24 2001) –  “Act of War” (Special Report on September 11 attack)

Newsweek (Sept. 24, 2001) – “After the Terror : God Bless America” (Special Report on September 11 attack)

Sports Illustrated (Sept. 24, 2001) – “The Week that Sports Stood Still” (Focus on September 11 attack)

The Story of The New York Times by Meyer Berger – Copyright The New York Times Company, 1969 ( Newspaper format)

Time (Fall 1989) – Special Collector’s Edition – “150 Years of Photo Journalism”

Time – September 11, 2001

U.S. News and World Report (Sept. 24, 2001) – “Under Siege” (Focus on September 11 attack)

0.3.1

Consecrations and Ceremonies

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Buildings Consecrations and Ceremonies

Dates: 1949-2004

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: A variety of materials related to consecrations and ceremonies of Union College buildings. Select materials are digitized and are available through the Kentucky Digital Library.

Quantity: 1 folders

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is organized chronologically
Administrative Information

Availability:

This collection is available to the public.

Preferred Citation:

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Buildings Consecrations and Ceremonies. Union College Archives

Processing Information

Finding aid created by Bruce Miracle, April 9, 2009.

Detailed Description
Location Box/Filing Cabinet  
16-B UCA 006

Publications, 1954-2004.

Chapel-Fine Arts Building - Program and Ceremony in Dedication (October 14, 1949)

Dedication of Apartment Building (The College Courts) (Oct. 12, 1954) – one program

Pamphlet/program for Consecration Service for the Mahlon Miller Science Center (2 copies).

Physical Education Building – Consecration (November 28, 1964) – 3 programs

Pamphlet/program (Photocopy) for Consecration Service for the Physical Education Building – November 28, 1964.

Dining Hall/Cafeteria – Union College Groundbreaking Ceremony (April 6, 1990) – 3 programs

The Phillips Athletic Fields and Sports Complex – Dedication Ceremony (October 25, 1991) – 3 programs

Soldiers and Sailors – (Program) ARMISTICE DAY and SOLDIERS AND SAILORS MEMORIAL SERVICE –  One Program – on cover: “The first building in Kentucky erected as a Memorial to the Soldiers and Sailors of the World War” – contains a schedule and lyrics to patriotic songs – no date given – card inside indicates that this was donated to Union College by Joyce Cooper of Independence, KY – received in Spring 2013

Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Gymnasium Rededication materials – 3 programs, 1 DVD. 
NOTE: The Rededication Ceremony took place on November 12, 2010.

List of names for Plaque - “IN APPRECIATION 1991 MAJOR DONORS TOWARD THE RENOVATION OF THE SOLDIERS AND SAILORS MEMORIAL GYMNASIUM”

Program of Dedication Union College, Buildings: (New) Stevenson Hall and First Unit of Physical Education Building, April 14, 1957 (Photocopy) (added 6/29/2012)

Dedication of the Kenneth L. and Sarah K. Ramsey Center for Health and Natural Sciences - home of the Edna Jenkins Mann School of Nursing and the Phillip and Ann Sharp Science Wing, Union College April 22, 2014 (3 Programs)

Speed Hall, The Reopening of a Campus Landmark – Jan. 26, 2001 (2 programs)

Brochure - "Building a Learning Community, The Sharp Academic Center at Union College" (no date listed) - 2 copies

Sharp Academic Center – Building a Learning Community -  Building Consecration (Aug. 28, 2000) 2 Programs

Sharp Academic Center – Building Dedication (Oct.  14, 2000) 1 announcement, 2 programs

Sharp Academic Center – Building a Learning Community – 8-page booklet (2 copies)

David and Donna Jones Learning Resource Center – Naming Ceremony (April, 23, 2004), 1 program

Edward H. Black Technology Center - Dedication Ceremony (April 25, 2003) 2 programs

  Drawer A-3

Mahon Miller Science Center Consecration and Open House Guest Book, 1973.

0.3.2

Photographs

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Buildings Photographs

Dates: 1980s

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: A variety of photographs of Union College buildings.

Quantity: 1 folder

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is organized chronologically
Administrative Information

Availability:

This collection is available to the public.

Preferred Citation:

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Buildings Photographs. Union College Archives

Processing Information

Finding aid created by Bruce Miracle, May 2, 2007.

Detailed Description
Location Box/Filing Cabinet  
16-B UCA 006

Photographs of Union College Buildings, 1980s.

One envelope with various photographs of the interior and exterior of UC buildings and grounds, most (but not all) from 1980’s. Includes dedications and groundbreakings. One picture of old clock with attached class bell.

Additional Photographs: Pfeiffer Hall – color post card – no date

0.3.3

Miscellaneous Material

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Buildings Miscellaneous Materials

Dates: 1922-1997

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: A variety of materials relating to Union College buildings.

Quantity: 1 cubic foot, 1 artwork

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement
This collection is organized chronologically
Administrative Information

Availability:

This collection is available to the public.

Preferred Citation:

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Buildings Miscellaneous Materials. Union College Archives

Processing Information

Finding aid created by Bruce Miracle, May 15, 2007.

Detailed Description
Location Box/Shelf  
16-B UCA 006

Union College Buildings Miscellany, 1922-1997

Typed one-paragraph description of the buildings on campus (date unknown probably early 1980‘s).

One blueprint page labeled "Girls Dormitory Barbourville Ky" (only shows first floor—poor condition).

Newspaper clipping (1 original, 1 photocopy) from Courier Journal & Times, Sept. 3, 1972 entitled, "Oldest Louisville 'skyscraper‘ to be razed, another renovated" – reports the planned demolition of the Kenyon Building in Louisville, KY – "The structure was given to Union College, Barbourville, Ky., by the will of Mrs. Fannie Speed four years after it was built."

Speed Hall – Photocopy from 1922 Stespean with a picture of Speed Hall and a brief description of its history and use (added 6/29/2012)

Tour of the Union College Campus (two page photocopy) – no date, but is after 1990 – this ‘tour” is a listing of the buildings on the UC campus with brief descriptions (added 6/29/2012)

Union College Building Histories (Photocopy) – Office of Admission, April 1996 – has brief descriptions with photographs (added 6/29/2012)

Building Descriptions (Photocopy) – no title, but first page begins with “Stevenson Hall” – Short descriptions of a different UC building on each page (added 6/29/2012)

1 page listing of Union College Buildings with Addresses and Year Built (if available)   title: Buildings with Addresses 2016 (2 copies) – added 7/26/2017

Union College Campus Master Plan 1997 – Colored map of Union College with proposed “Phase” changes (2 copies)

The Learning and Information Center Renovation – “Match the Challenge” – 1 information and gift form brochure

  Poster Box 1

Project Green Light Poster, 2013.

(20 x 24 inches) - a Thank You to Sponsors and Service Providers with their names listed, Project Green Light was a Union College Project which provided "energy efficient light bulbs to qualifying homes while educating the public about conservation and recycling

  Flat Shelf 1

Nursing and Health Sciences Building Renovation, undated.

Color coded cardboard Overview/Floor Plan of the building (approximately 2 x 2.5 feet)