Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives

Finding aids for archival items.

3 Academic Affairs

3 Academic Affairs


3.1.1

Accreditation Materials

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College SACSCOC Accreditation Materials

Dates: 1961-2005

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: Materials related to the continuing accreditation of Union College with the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS)

Quantity: 6 cubic feet

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement

This collection is arranged in the order in which it was received. 

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is restricted, only faculty and staff of Union College have access to this collection.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College SACS Accreditation Self Studies and Reports. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, November 9, 2012

Detailed Description
Location Drawer  
Filing Cabinet B 1

Contents:

SACS MATERIALS

Manual for the Self-Study Program of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges 1967

SACS (Southern Association of  Colleges and Schools) Accreditation Materials

A SELF-STUDY OF UNION COLLEGE (and supporting documents)

1961-62 Self-Study (2 copies)

1971-73 Self Study (2 copies)

1978-79 Self-Study (2 copies)

1978 – Special Report on Financial Conditions, Long Range Plans, and Trustee Involvement submitted to Committee on Standards and Reports ; Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, October 18 ,1978

1982-83 Self-Study(2 copies)

1983 – Self Study – A Report to the Steering Committee – from Committee VI Library (April 1, 1983)

1984 – Reaffirmation Committee Report, February 5-8, 1984

1984 – Institutional Response to the Reaffirmation Committee Report, September 10 1984 (2 copies)

1986 – Follow-up Report of Union College’s Institutional Self-Study. May 30, 1986 (in black binder)

1991 (?) – Union College Status Report on the College’s Plan to Comply with Section III – Institutional Effectiveness (typed and stapled in folder)

Institutional Self-Studies Prepared for Reaffirmation of Accreditation by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools

NOTE: Documents are generally listed in sequence of publication, not year(s) listed in the title.

  • SACS Steering Committee, Minutes, February 2, 1993
  • Institutional Self-Study -DRAFT October 1993
  • Spring Faculty Colloquium on 1992-1993 General Education Program Assessment, February 24 1994, Agenda (typed)
  • 1992-93 Institutional Self Study – Site Visit April 1994 – Printed February 1994 (2 copies)
  • 1992-1993 Administrative Response to the Institutional Self-Study – Site Visit April 1994 (2 copies)
  • Report of the Reaffirmation Committee – Site Visit April 11-14, 1994 (3 copies)
  • 1992-1993 Institutional Response to the Reaffirmation Committee Report – Site Visit April 11-14, 1994 (2 copies)
  • Institutional Follow-up Report, Addressing the Visiting Committee’s Recommendations 10 and 11,  Printed October 1995 (2 copies)
  • Institutional Second Follow-up Report, Addressing the Visiting Committee’s Recommendation 10, Printed September 1996
  • Special Committee Report – Summary Report Union College Review September 24, 2002 – also includes letters between President David Joyce and SACS
  • Compliance Certification, August 2004
  • General Documentation for Compliance Certification, August 2004 (2 copies)
  • Report of the Off-Site Review Committee – Date of Review: November 10-12, 2004
  • Union College Focused Report in Response to:  Report of the Off-Site Review Committee – Date of Review:  November 10-12, 2005 (2 copies) (stapled pages)
  • Union College Focused Report in Response to:  Report of the Off-Site Review Committee – Date of On-Site Review:  April 4-6, 2005 (3 copies)
  • Response to the Visiting Committee Report – On-Site Visit: April 4-6, 2005 
  • Appendix to the Response to the Visiting Committee Report (2 copies)
  • Budget Documentation for Compliance Certification, February 2005 (2 copies)
  • Union College Quality Enhancement Plan, Improving Student Performance on the Praxis I Examination (2 copies)
  • Union College- Monitoring Report to the Committee on Compliance and Reports For the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges, Date of On-Site Review: April 4-6, 2005
  • Union College – Monitoring Report to the Committee on Compliance and Reports For the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges, Date of Site Review: April 4-6, 2005
  • Union College Quality Enhancement Plan, Equipped for Living, Equipped for Learning: Assessment, Initiative, and Student Learners at Union College, August 31, 2005 (2 copies)
  • Minutes QEP Roundtables 2005-2006 Math Reading Writing

HANDBOOKS AND GUIDES (SACS) (IN SERIAL BOX)

  • Criteria for Accreditation, Commission on Colleges (SACS) 1991
  • Criteria for Accreditation, Commission on Colleges (SACS) 1992-1993
  • Criteria for Accreditation, Commission on Colleges (SACS) 1998
  • Handbook for Peer Evaluators (2 copies)
  • Handbook for Reaffirmation of Accreditation 2003
  • Handbook for Review Committees 2003
  • Manual for Accreditation, Commission on Colleges 1991
  • The Principles of Accreditation: Foundations for Quality Enhancement 2008
  • Resource Manual on Institutional Effectiveness 1989

3.2.1

Strategic Plans

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Strategic Plans

Dates: 2009-2020

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: Drafts and revising for the strategic plans for Union College.

Quantity: 0.5 cubic feet

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is restricted, only faculty and staff of Union College have access to this collection.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Strategic Plans. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, May 31, 2019

Detailed Description
Location Drawer  
Filing Cabinet B 2

Union College Strategic Plans, 2009-2020.

Revised Strategic Vision 2006-2009

A Magical Union of Parts – Strategic Plan 2020 – The Scope of Union College’s Synthesis of Order, Values, & Ideas (8 pages)

Vision 2020 Strategic Plan Draft

Goals and Strategies – Union College Strategic Plan Draft 2/2011

3.3.1

Miscellaneous Materials

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Union College Academic Affairs Miscellaneous Materials

Dates: 2000-2013

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection consists of files from the Office of Academic Affairs, mostly from 2000 to 2013. These materials were delivered to the Archives from Academic Affairs in the Summer of 2016.

Quantity: 0.5 cubic foot

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is restricted, only faculty and staff of Union College have access to this collection.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Union College Academic Affairs Miscellaneous Materials. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, January 17, 2016

Detailed Description
Location Box  
16-C UCA 014

Advancement and Development Miscellaneous Materials, 1980-2012.

Milton Townsend correspondence – Letter to Mrs. Helen J. Thomson with attachments (letter from Mrs. Thomson, news clipping, and photocopy of plaque from foyer of the Chapel). Various other correspondence.

Fundraising Brochure – Opening Doors to Century II 980

Edward H. Black Technology Center – Fundraising sheet with description and floor plans

“More youth are coming…we must be ready” (Union College Bulletin, Vol. XIV, No.3, July 1952) – an appeal to donors by President Conway Boatman

Various fundraising materials (not all have dates)

Achieving our Vision in the 21st Century

Your Support can help Ensure a Successful Future

David and Donna Jones Learning Center

If you don’t think a gift of $35 makes a difference

Knox County Fund Drive – 2004 (empty Program)

Various items from Advancement Office (3-16-2017) - including: 

An Alumni Banquet Address by John M. Robsion, Jr. dated: May 31, 1969

A mini-program for the President's Reception to the class of 1942 at Dupont Lodge, Cumberland Falls dated May 15 1942

Several post cards with Union College pictures - Stevenson Hall, Swimming Pool, and  Student Center (interior and exterior)

Investing in the Vision

Community Newsletter – Spring Issue 1995

A Newsletter for Parents – Spring Issue 1995

Benefactor Luncheon (Patridge Campus Center) - Apr. 15, 2010 (1 Program)

Community Celebration Knox County Appreciation Dinner (First Baptist Church Family Life Center) - Sep. 18, 2012 (1 Program)

  Shelf 1

Scrapbooks from Advancement Office, received 2017.

Three scrapbooks with mostly newspaper clippings, mostly from the forties to the seventies - and an unbound group of scrapbook pages with pictures and documents from the thirties and forties and earlier

3.4.1

Reports and Honor Roll of Donors

Overview

Creator: Union College

Title: Financial Reports and Honor Roll Relating to Donors of Union College

Dates: 1970-2011

Languages: Materials are in English

Abstract: This collection contains financial records of giving to Union College along with various fundraising and donor materials.

Quantity: 1 cubic foot

Location: Archives Room

Arrangement

This collection is arranged chronologically.

Administrative Information

Availability: 

The collection is restricted, only faculty and staff of Union College have access to this collection.

Preferred Citation: 

[Indicate the cited item and/or series here]. Union College KY, Financial Reports Relating to Donors of Union College. Union College Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Bruce Miracle, May 30, 2007.

Detailed Description
Location Box/Shelf  
16-D Box 1

Reports of Union College Support, 1970-1974.

A Report of Union College Support – (1970-1971)  (1971-1972) ; Title change to: Annual Report of Union College Support – (1972-1963) ; Title change to: Report of Annual Support 1973-1974 

Honor Roll of Donors, 1996-2008.

Honor Roll of Donors – 1996-97

Union Honor Roll of Donors - 1999-2000 Annual Report

Union Honor Roll of Donors - 2001-2002 Annual Report

Union College Honor Roll of Donors -2002-2003 Annual Report 

Union College Honor Roll of Donors – 2003-2004 Annual Report 

Union College Honor Roll of Donors – 2004-2005 Annual Report 

Union College Honor Roll of Donors – 2006-2007 Annual Report

Union College Honor Roll of Donors – 2007-2008 Annual Report 

Honor Roll of Donors, 2008-2011.

Union College Honor Roll of Donors – 2008-2009 Annual Report

Union College Honor Roll of Donors – 2009-2010 Annual Report 

Union College Honor Roll of Donors – 2010-2011 Annual Report 

Miscellaneous Donor Materials, 1957-2000s

Contains various fundraising and donor materials