Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives

Finding aids for archival items.

Barbourville and Knox County

Finding Aid 21
Union College Archives

UC 32.1 Barbourville and Knox County

Record Group : 32
Collection : 1
Location : Archive Box & Archive Shelf 

Processing Information : Finding Aid created by Bruce Miracle on May 14, 2007.

Contents :
Folder 1:

  • Full page clipping from The Barbourville Mountain Advocate, October 12, 1978; entitled, “A sampling from Michael Mills' future book, 'Barbourville: A Pictorial Look BackVolume Two.' "
  • Postcard—Drawing of a mule-drawn streetcar, captioned: “BARBOURVILLE STREET RAILWAY SYSTEM, BARBOURVILLE, KY” (no date).
  • Memo from Milton Townsend that provides a brief history of the Union College brickyards – with a cover letter from Mr. Ron Vanover to President Phillips (dated:  August 22, 1990)
  • Photograph collection of the 1946 Barbourville Flood -a collection of small black and white photographs with brief captions – in rather poor condition, they have been cut out of a photograph album where they had been pasted in
  • Article from The Knox Countian by Charles Reed Mitchell – Barbourville’s Struggle against Flooding
  • Tourist Brochure – Knox County Kentucky
  • Knox County Appreciation Dinner – 2007 (1 program)
  • The Official Guide to Knox County Kentucky - 2010 Edition
  • Robert Stivers II Aquatic and Wellness Center – Union College Business Plan 2011
  • Robert Stivers II Aquatic and Wellness Center – Union College Report to the Board of Trustees – April 29, 2011

Folder 2:

  • Autobiographic sketch of “Mr Justice” Samuel F. Miller.
    (Contains a photo static negative of the “unpublished, longhand manuscript,” as well as various letters pertaining to the obtaining of the manuscript). 
    [Also has a brief note by Erwin Bradley stating, “I do not believe that the 'autobiography' was dictated by Justice Miller”].

    NOTE: Samuel Freeman Miller (1816-1890) was associate justice of the U.S. Supreme Court from 1862 to 1890. He was born in Richmond, KY. After receiving his M.D. from Transylvania in 1838 he came to Barbourville, KY where he practiced medicine and became a justice of the peace and a member of the county court. He later moved to Iowa and was appointed to the Supreme Court by President Lincoln in 1862. 
    (source: Encyclopedia Americana, 1990)

The Official Guide to Knox County Kentucky – A Winning Future for Knox County – 2019-2020 Edition (2 copies)

ARCHIVE SHELF :

Knox County Historical Society Pictorial Calendars – 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016