Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives

Finding aids for archival items.

Library - Various

Finding Aid Number 6
Union College Archives

UC 7.1 Library-Various

Record Group : 7
Collection Number : 1
Location : Archive Box

Processing Information : Finding Aid created by Bruce Miracle on March 27, 2007.

Contents:
Folder 1:

  • Photographs
  • Program for Union College Homecoming, Founders’ Day Program, Library Building Dedication, Nov. 9, 1940 (2 copies)
  • Groundbreaking materials for the Townsend Annex
  • October 2005 re-opening gala celebration items
  • Program – Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library, The David and Donna Jones Learning Resource Center, The Re-Opening of a Campus Landmark (Oct. 19, 2005)
  • Clippings & several minor items.
  • Postcard of Abigail Weeks Memorial Library before the Townsend Addition
  • Report of Ms. Tara Cooper, Director of Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library to Dr. Tony Krug, Director of Bowen Central Library of Appalachia (ACA) – ACA FELR Grant Final Report 2006-07 (May 1, 2007)
  • Letter from Librarian Kathy Miles to Mr. and Mrs. Cassius Estepp thanking them for a book donation for the Archives authored by Auda Haggard
  • Letter from President Jack C. Phillips thanking Geri Distad for a postcard to be donated the Archives
  • Email from Librarian Kathy Miles concerning Oral History Tapes – includes a list
  • Email between Librarian Kathy Miles and former Professor Gordon Marigold   concerning Fanny Speed’s papers
  • Weeks Townsend Information Video, 2006-2007 (1 DVD)
  • Final Report, ACA FELR Grant 2010-11, from Director Tara L. Cooper to the Administrative Issues Committee, Appalachian College Association (May 3, 2011)
  • Display Item - one year 2000 "Sacajawea" Gold Dollar with informational materials

Folder 2 (Library Plaques):

Various items related to the plaques in the library – includes letters, lists, catalogs – also includes a packet of photographs of the various plaques in the library

FILE CABINET DRAWER A-3

Carrie Stephenson materials:

First Folder – Echoes of the Past clippings – Ms. Stephenson wrote a regular column for the Mountain Advocate focusing on the History of the area

Second Folder – Various materials collected by Ms. Stephenson relating to the library – including displays, contests, events etc.

Poster Box:

  • One framed certificate from the 8th graders at Barbourville Middle School with signatures of the individual students – given to Union  College Library for a class in online resources given on May 14, 2010