The Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library provides a variety of resources and services to support and enrich the College’s academic programs. The library, located in the center of campus, houses a collection of more than 138,000 books, periodicals, government documents, media materials, and other print items. The library also provides access to more than 256,000 eBooks and over 80 scholarly databases covering a multitude of academic subjects. A special section near the front of the library is allotted to showcase some of the newest additions to the library's holdings.
Library functions, including uCat (library catalog), circulation, and reserves, are fully automated through the Innovative Sierra integrated library system. uCat is accessible both off-campus and on via the Internet.
The library can accommodate over 300 persons in a variety of seating arrangements, including study carrels, tables and a computer lab. There are also three study rooms available for individual or group study. A TV lounge is available near the entrance for relaxation, study, or class work. The library is wired for laptop access to the campus network.
The library participates in state, regional and national networks, including the Kentucky Virtual Library, ACA Central Library, and OCLC.
The Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library is a U.S. Federal Government Depository. Free and open access to the in-house Government Documents Collection is available to all library patrons. All online Union College U.S. Government publications are available through uCat catalog without restrictions
Access to media, equipment and the Internet is provided in the library. The 20-seat computer lab is the center of campus access to the Internet.
The Curriculum Collection supports the Education Program by providing a specialized collection of elementary, middle and high school curriculum materials and a juvenile collection. The library contains several other special collections including the Cumberland Cap Genealogy Collection, the Methodist Collection and the Lincoln-Civil War Collection. The library also serves as the repository for the College archives.
The library staff offers individual and group bibliographic instruction and instruction in the use of equipment, computer resources and special collections.