Maps – via database
For easy access, use this alphabetical list of databases.
ARTstor
- Choose Browse ARTstor – Geography
- Choose category Maps, Charts and Graphs for specific country (if available)
Credo Reference Online
- 600+ reference works – subject-specific and interdisciplinary general reference
- Advanced Search – Limit your search to…
- Entries with the following features – Entries with maps
- May compare country to country [in CIA World Factbook]
- To locate:
- Advanced Search – Limit your search to…Selected subjects of titles…
- Geography or
- Find a book
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) and
Military and Government Collection (EBSCO)
- Qualify FT; may qualify for scholarly (peer reviewed)
- Image Quick View Types -- Map
- Create an EBSCO Folder to save search results from multiple databases
JSTOR (Journal Storage : The Scholarly Journal Archive)
- 100% FT (full text)/PDF coverage from v.1, no.1 of selected journals
- 100% scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals
- Advanced Search w/map in full-text of article
Oxford Reference
- Advanced Search
- Enter map in the first search box; add geographic location in next search box
Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Advanced Search
- Limit results: to document with images
- Enter map in the first search box; add geographic location in next search box
Maps – via uCat
Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC)
2 ways to search for maps
- Advanced Search – Qualify MATERIAL TYPE: PRINT MAP, then search keyword.
- Advanced Search – Include map as one of the search terms.
- Qualify MATERIAL TYPE as ANY.
Recently expanded print National Geographic map collection
- Advanced Search
- AUTHOR: National Geographic
- ANY FIELD: map
- Most located in Union Map Cabinet.
Maps – via card file
Reference Room cabinet
- Alphabetical card file; Maps A-1 – A-435
- Map folders – broad geographic areas (e.g., Maps – Africa)
Maps – via websites
The University of Texas Library Online
National Geographic
Holt, Rinehart and Winston : Social Studies Home Page
The Library of Congress : Map Collections
United Nations Cartographic Section
Mapping the Nation
Interactive map that presents data at state and county levels to show international connections for every county in the U.S.
Maps and mapping resources: A guide to select resources on the web
from College and Research Libraries News. Vol. 62. No. 9. October 2001;
full text available via Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
A guide to online maps and mapping resources
from Journal of Library Administration. Vol. 44. No. 1/2. 2006; abstract available via Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
<full text available via InterLibrary Loan>
Crafting your own map web search?
Google – Advanced Image Search
- Find images with all these words: include map
- Narrow your results by site or domain: .edu or .gov
- Google Maps
Yahoo
- Qualify Images
- Include domain designation .edu or .gov and physical qualifier map in search string
- Yahoo Maps
