LibGuides: Sports Management: Reference Materials

Reference eBooks

Credo Reference, Oxford Reference Online, and Gale Virtual Reference Library are reference databases offering access to reference eBooks.

Credo Reference
Credo Reference contains over 650 reference works as well as videos and images.. Provides user access to a wide variety of both subject specific and interdisciplinary general reference sources, plus focused Topic Pages for in-depth research.
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online combines over 200 language and subject dictionaries and reference works containing over 100,000 pages into a single cross-searchable database.
Gale eBooks Collection
Over 200 major reference works (many multivolume) in Education, History, Nation and World, Religion, Social Science and many other subject areas. GVRL has many of our most substantial online reference publications.

The list below contains just a few of the Sports Management related titles available through Credo Reference and Oxford Reference Online and Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Berkshire Encyclopedia of World Sport by David Levinson (Editor); Gertrud Pfister (Editor)
ISBN: 9781933782676
Publication Date: 2013-07-30
This renowned encyclopedia provides comprehensive coverage of the culture, history, and business of sports around the world. The third edition brings the study of sports into the 21st century by integrating Berkshire's past work on women's sports and extreme sports into a complete sporting library. It includes over 300 updated and new articles on sports management and marketing, branding, sponsorship, doping scandals, sporting goods, extreme and fantasy sports, and technology, as well as on environmental and economic issues. Every sport imaginable is covered, and articles focus on the history, evolution, and future of sports around the world, and offer readers a solid understanding of why sports are played the way they are and what they mean to society.