The Kentucky/Appalachian Heritage (KAH) collection was started when the Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library obtained an Appalachian collection from the Bennett Center in London, Kentucky. Materials were moved from the existing WTML collection to create a richer, working collection. The KAH collection contains roughly 4,800 volumes of fiction and nonfictions books featuring books about Daniel Boone, the Hatfield/McCoy rivalry, Appalachian cultural history, and reference materials regarding the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Bound volumes of related journals such as Appalachian Heritage, Kentucky Folklore Record, and Mountain Life and Work are also available. Our collection also includes annual winners of the Weatherford Award: an award given by Berea College and the Appalachian Studies Association that best illuminate the challenges, personalities, and unique qualities of the Appalachian South.
KAH provides resources that explore all aspects of Appalachia including the culture, history, and literature. The collection not only supports Union students and faculty by creating a meaningful relationship with the culture and area in which the campus is located, but also supports Appalachian scholars from the local community and beyond.
A complete list of books and journals in the collection can be found below. For more detailed lists, see the "Books by State, County, and Region" tab on the left hand side of the page.
For more research assistance, please see these academic subject library guides: