The primary mission of the Sociology program is to help students better understand society and their place within it. Students learn skills useful for analyzing sociological issues in the Appalachian region and the United States. Students look at the interconnections of culture and structure to get an understanding of how everyday life is both enabled and constrained by larger societal patterns so that they can develop and apply “sociological imagination” to their own lives.
To support this goal, the Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library provides students with access to information resources that support teaching and learning in sociology. This subject guide is designed to help you locate and navigate these resources provided by the library. If you need assistance with this guide or desire additional materials or Reference help, please contact the library.
This database provides coverage of more than 330 full-text scholarly journals. It offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
Project MUSE is an all full text database with an emphasis on the humanities and social sciences. It presently has about 140 journal titles in the Basic College Collection. Project MUSE also links to our JSTOR holdings for some titles
Family & Society Studies Worldwide is a citation resource providing comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW is an anthology of 4 database files providing access to more than 1.3 million records. Coverage spans from 1970 to the present.