Healthcare Administration - Graduate

This catalog contains openly-licensed course materials developed for the Open Educational Resources (OER) Degree Initiative, led by Achieving the Dream. Lumen maintains this content in the same condition it was provided to us by participating faculty and institutions.

BCcampus Open Education contributes to the development of an open future for teaching practices and educational resources.

DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.

GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials.

The LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER) to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society.

OAPEN promotes and supports the transition to open access for academic books by providing open infrastructure services to stakeholders in scholarly communication. We work with publishers to build a quality-controlled collection of open access books and provide services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of hosting, deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.

OER initiatives aim to grow a sustainable culture of sharing and continuous improvement among educators at all levels.

The production of healthcare services had been out of the business, organizational, and technological dynamic that continually revolutionized the production of all other goods and services for a long time. Nowadays, this marginality has ceased as the need for healthcare is rising. Healthcare is now at the center of attention influenced by the never-ending demand of medical technology and substantial resource scarcity that imposes substantial organizational and entrepreneurial innovations. One decisive challenge that has emerged from such a situation is the management of healthcare processes, in the broad sense: healthcare professionals are called upon to demonstrate their ability to cope with complex problems because they are characterized in an institutional, ethical, organizational, and economic sense. With its eight chapters in a single segment, this book makes it possible to realize the specific nature of the problem. Its multidimensionality and the original approach are contributed and harmonized by scholars belonging to different disciplines.

The number of patient health data has been estimated to have reached 2314 exabytes by 2020. Traditional data analysis techniques are unsuitable to extract useful information from such a vast quantity of data. Thus, intelligent data analysis methods combining human expertise and computational models for accurate and in-depth data analysis are necessary. The technological revolution and medical advances made by combining vast quantities of available data, cloud computing services, and AI-based solutions can provide expert insight and analysis on a mass scale and at a relatively low cost. Computational intelligence (CI) methods, such as fuzzy models, artificial neural networks, evolutionary algorithms, and probabilistic methods, have recently emerged as promising tools for the development and application of intelligent systems in healthcare practice. CI-based systems can learn from data and evolve according to changes in the environments by taking into account the uncertainty characterizing health data, including omics data, clinical data, sensor, and imaging data. The use of CI in healthcare can improve the processing of such data to develop intelligent solutions for prevention, diagnosis, treatment, and follow-up, as well as for the analysis of administrative processes. The present Special Issue on computational intelligence for healthcare is intended to show the potential and the practical impacts of CI techniques in challenging healthcare applications.

Economic crises, such as the economic crisis of 2008, are related to several issues, including decreases in disposable income and increases in unemployment. At the individual level, decreasing disposable income, unemployment, and loss of insurance coverage have detrimental effects on the ability to seek affordable, quality, and accessible healthcare. At the population level, they have adverse effects on physical and psychological health and on overall well-being. From a healthcare services perspective, economic crises challenge the ability to provide quality, affordable healthcare services that meet the needs and expectations of the population. In the same vein, the economic consequences of the COVID-19 crisis include decreases in income, increases in unemployment, financial uncertainty, declines in living conditions, and pressures exerted on healthcare systems. On the other hand, several non-COVID-19 health-related effects are tied to the pandemic. In this sense, this book attempts to highlight the influences of economic crises on individuals, the world economy, and healthcare. Although the range of challenges attributed to economic crises is quite broad, the collection of articles in this book investigates topics that focus on the global economic crisis of 2008 as well as the one induced by the COVID-19 pandemic. In an environment of negative economic development, these kinds of issues should be highlighted, and potential solutions should be investigated.

Tackling inequalities in health and healthcare is more important than ever. The COVID-19 pandemic starkly illustrated the disproportional impact of the virus on those who already faced disadvantage and discrimination. Moreover, there is evidence that the public health measures taken to contain the virus are likely to have longstanding differential impacts across populations. Numerous studies have documented avoidable differences in health, within and between populations. Similarly, studies have consistently shown inequalities in access, use, experience and outcomes from healthcare and public health programmes. The focus has often been on individual determinants, such as gender, age and ethnicity. Less attention has been paid to structural or contextual determinants, except for area-level socioeconomic conditions. In addition, to tackle inequalities, there is a need to move beyond measuring; to understand why inequalities arise and how they can be addressed.

One of the most important advances in the delivery of healthcare has been recognition of the need for developing highly functioning multi-disciplinary teams. Such teams, when structured in a cohesive fashion, can function more effectively and efficiently than the sum of their parts. The benefits of teamwork extend from the delivery of care to a single patient to the overall structure and function of entire care delivery systems. Recognizing the value of collaborative approaches for improving all aspects of healthcare delivery and having champions, leaders, structure, function, goals, and accountability are paramount to success, regardless of how defined. Another important pillar of teamwork is excellent communication with clearly defined information flows and cross-verification mechanisms. This book outlines how to work together for shared goals in a complex, diverse, and constantly evolving health care system.

Focusing on its recent proliferation in hospital systems, Wi-Fi Enabled Healthcare explains how Wi-Fi is transforming clinical work flows and infusing new life into the types of mobile devices being implemented in hospitals. Drawing on first-hand experiences from one of the largest healthcare systems in the United States, it covers the key areas associated with wireless network design, security, and support. Reporting on cutting-edge developments and emerging standards in Wi-Fi technologies, the book explores security implications for each device type. It covers real-time location services and emerging trends in cloud-based wireless architecture. It also outlines several options and design consideration for employee wireless coverage, voice over wireless (including smart phones), mobile medical devices, and wireless guest services. This book presents authoritative insight into the challenges that exist in adding Wi-Fi within a healthcare setting. It explores several solutions in each space along with design considerations and pros and cons. It also supplies an in-depth look at voice over wireless, mobile medical devices, and wireless guest services. The authors provide readers with the technical knowhow required to ensure their systems provide the reliable, end-to-end communications necessary to surmount today’s challenges and capitalize on new opportunities. The shared experience and lessons learned provide essential guidance for large and small healthcare organizations in the United States and around the world. This book is an ideal reference for network design engineers and high-level hospital executives that are thinking about adding or improving upon Wi-Fi in their hospitals or hospital systems.