LibGuides: Education -- Secondary: Researching "Education -- Secondary"

Welcome

The Union College Educational Studies Department is a specialized learning community dedicated to refining personal, intellectual, and social transformation for educators who will assume leadership roles in their schools and service areas. Candidates are prepared to utilize emerging curriculum and instructional practices and are immersed in the rigors of the teaching profession through clinical observation and student teaching placement.

To support this goal, the Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library provides students with access to information resources that support teaching and learning in Secondary Education. This subject guide is designed to help you locate and navigate these resources provided by the library. If you need assistance with this guide or desire additional materials or Reference help, please contact the library.

Below are some resources to help you get started.

Libguides for Secondary Teaching Fields

For Guidance in your specific area of specialization consult the following subject Libguides:

Biology
Chemistry
English
Mathematics
History
Social Studies
Political Science
Social Studies
Sociology
Social Studies

Professional Development Collection

Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.

MAS Ultra School Edition

MAS Ultra – School Edition [Secondary Schools]
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full-text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. It also provides more than 360 full-text reference books, plus thousands of biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.

Teacher Reference Center

Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

ERIC

ERIC [Education]
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index

Guide to the ERIC Recrod
This guide depicts the record structure and provides descriptions of the fields. The descriptions provide insight into the purpose and content of each field. The guide can serve as a useful reference piece when searching ERIC and using the content.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

Explora

Explora Educator's Edition
Explora Educator's Edition offers relevant lesson plans, support materials and professional development resources as well as a Curriculum Standards Module to help educators correlate EBSCO content quickly and easily to Common Core, state or provincial curriculum standards.
Explora for High Schools
Explora for High Schools is an interface to a collection of full-text reference resources available for secondary schools. Combining databases and encyclopedia entries, it is designed not only for students, but also for the research needs of educators. Databases include: Academic Search Complete, Consumer Health Complete, Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia, Health Source, MAS Ultra, MasterFILE, Middle Search Plus, Newspaper Source, Teacher Reference Center, Topic Overviews 6-12, and TOPICsearch.

Education -- Secondary

Ask-A-Librarian

WTML Hours