LibGuides: English: Researching "English"

Welcome

The primary mission of the English program is to provide a quality curriculum through study of texts, ranging from poetry to television commercials, from music to cartoon shorts, and practice thinking, writing, speaking, and listening.

To support this goal, the Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library provides students with access to information resources that support teaching and learning in English. This subject guide is designed to help you locate and navigate these resources provided by the library. If you need assistance with this guide or desire additional materials or Reference help, please contact the library.

Below are some resources to help you get started.

Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary database containing a vast and varied selection of full-text, indexed, and abstracted items. Our largest full-text collection. Updated daily.
Ebook Collection (EBSCOhost)
With over 100,000 titles this is our largest ebook collection. Accesses a wide range of research, reference and reading materials online. The reader can search every word in every eBook our library has, as well as search within a particular eBook. Plus, each eBook is embedded with the American Heritage Dictionary of the American Language, 4th Ed. These ebooks can be viewed online or checked out and downloaded to your computer or compatible mobile device.
JSTOR (full-text journal collections)
JSTOR (Journal Storage) offers complete full-text back-files of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, life sciences, business, and statistics. Each title is fully digitized; most coverage begins with volume 1, number 1. The most recent four or five years of each journal are not usually available in this database.
JSTOR eBooks
A DDA (Demand Driven Acquisition) resource of nearly 45,000 Academic eBooks from a variety of disciplines.
Literary Reference Center Plus
Literary Reference Center Plus (LRC Plus) is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Contains everything in Literary Reference Center, plus: over 1,200 additional full-text literary reference books/works, over 200 additional full-text literary journals and magazines, 35 volumes of new contemporary literature titles from Salem Press, 40 full-text literary study guides and 72 literary videos.
NoveList
NoveList is an electronic readers' advisory resource that assists fiction readers in finding new authors and titles. It contains 90,000 full text reviews, and over 36,000 subject headings. It also includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author Read-alikes, What We're Reading, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Annotated Book Lists.

The Norton Anthology of English Literature by M. H. Abrams
Call Number: Union Stacks 820.8 N882e 2000 v.1
ISBN: 0393974863
Publication Date: 1999-10-01
The Oxford Book of American Short Stories by Joyce Carol Oates (Editor)
Call Number: 813.0108 O98 1992
ISBN: 9780195092622
Publication Date: 1994-09-01
Shakespeare by Harold Bloom
Call Number: 822.33 Ybl
ISBN: 1573221201
Publication Date: 1998-10-26
The Best-Loved Short Stories of Jesse Stuart by Jesse Stuart; Jerry A. Herndon (Introduction by)
Call Number: 813.5 S931be 2000
ISBN: 0945084811
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
The Edinburgh Introduction to Studying English Literature by Dermot Cavanagh (Editor); Alan Gillis (Editor)
Call Number: Union Online 820.71141 820.9
ISBN: 1306819903
Publication Date: 2014-01-01

Why we write
In this program, several contemporary poets read from their poems and discuss why they write, and for whom.
Poetry and its relevance
What is poetry, and what place does it have in today’s society?
Ten Great Writers of the Modern World Series
Blending superbly enacted drama with expert commentary and biography, this series spotlights the principal works of T. S. Eliot, James Joyce, Luigi Pirandello, and seven other icons of literary modernism. A separate discussion of their ideas by a panel of eminent contemporary writers and critics rounds out the series, both complementing and unifying it. 11-part series, 53-61 minutes each.

English

Ask-A-Librarian

WTML Hours

Welcome