With over 100,000 titles this is our largest ebook collection. Accesses a wide range of research, reference and reading materials online. The reader can search every word in every eBook our library has, as well as search within a particular eBook. Plus, each eBook is embedded with the American Heritage Dictionary of the American Language, 4th Ed. These ebooks can be viewed online or checked out and downloaded to your computer or compatible mobile device.
A DDA (Demand Driven Acquisition) resource of nearly 45,000 Academic eBooks from a variety of disciplines.
Print Books Located in Library
Concepts of Athletic Training by Ronald P. Pfeiffer; Brent C. Mangus; Cindy TrowbridgeWritten for those planning a career as a coach, physical educator, or personal trainer, Concepts of Athletic Training, Seventh Edition, focuses on the prevention, care, and management of sport and physical activity-related injuries. Because initial decisions and subsequent actions are critical in determining the outcome of a sports injury, the authors present key concepts in a comprehensive, logically-sequenced manner that will assist future professionals in making the correct decisions when confronted with an activity-related injury in their scope of practice.
Call Number: Stacks 617.1027 P529c 2015
Publication Date: 2014-03-24
Foundations of Athletic Training by Marcia K. AndersonThis text integrates basic medical concepts and related scientific information to provide a strong foundation of general athletic training practices. Using a problem-solving approach to prevention, recognition, assessment, management, and disposition of sports-related injuries and diseases, this text provides athletic trainers and athletic training students with the most extensive, challenging content in a user-friendly format. New Content - This edition features a new chapter on Psychological Intervention Strategies
Call Number: Stacks 617.1027 A548f 2013
Publication Date: 2012-10-12
Introduction to Sports Medicine and Athletic Training by Robert C. FranceThis book is ideal for individuals interested in athletics and the medical needs of athletes and is the first full-concept book around which an entire course can be created. This book covers Sports Medicine, Athletic Training and Anatomy and Physiology in an easy to understand format that allows the reader to grasp functional concepts of the human boday and then apply this knowledge to Sports Medicine and Athletic Training. Comprehensive chapters on nutrition, sports psychology, kinesiology and therapeutic modalities are also included. Readers will appreciate both the depth of the material covered and the ease in which it is presented.
Call Number: Stacks 617.1027 F815i 2011
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Arnheim's Principles of Athletic Training by William E. Prentice; Daniel D. ArnheimThis text emphasizes the prevention and management of athletic injuries and remains the only text to cover all aspects of the profession of athletic training. It is a valuable resource in seeking professional certification. The text provides practical, career-oriented content for students in athletic training, sports medicine, physical education, physical therapy, and coaching.
Call Number: Stacks 617.1027 P927a 2009
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Principles of Pharmacology for Athletic Trainers by Joel Houglum; Gary Harrelson; Deidre Leaver-DunnPrinciples of Pharmacology for Athletic Trainers, Second Edition has expanded the comprehensive and unique aspect of pharmacology presented in the best-selling first edition by introducing new information on: drug and treatment strategies ; aspects of Type 1 and Type 2 diabetes, including treatment strategies, the disease process, diagnosis & monitoring of diabetes, and issues that are important for the athletic trainer ; the foundational concepts and pharmacological treatment of schizophrenia, depression, bipolar disorder, various anxiety disorders, and attention deficit-hyperactivity disorder ; and discussion of herbal supplements, federal regulations, and safety & quality issues related to herbal supplements. Dr. Joel Houglum and Dr. Gary Harrelson have updated Principles of Pharmacology for Athletic Trainers, Second Edition to be more user-friendly by incorporating revised information on pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic principles, making it even easier for students to understand, while still providing the depth of information desired by faculty.
Call Number: Stacks 615.1 H838p 2011
Publication Date: 2010-09-15
The Athletic Trainer's Guide to Psychosocial Intervention and Referral by James Mensch; Gary M. MillerThis book provides appropriate intervention strategies and referral techniques specific to the role of an athletic trainer to initiate recovery for any patient/client experiencing a variety of psychosocial problems such as: eating disorders, anxiety issues, substance abuse, response to injury, catastrophic injuries, ergogenic aids, peer pressure, and depression.
Ice 'n' Go by Jenny Moshak; Debby SchriverThis book is a culmination of the breadth of knowledge and unique insight from Moshak’s more than twenty-five years of work in major college sports. in this highly readable new book, she covers social issues, medical concerns, motivational techniques, gender roles and expectations, the impact of sports on our children, and how the body works, heals, and recovers. though she writes on serious subjects in a serious way, Moshak’s tone is always upbeat and positive with surprisingly simple strategies for improving the athletic experience for all, especially kids.
Publication Date: 2013-05-25
Emergency Care in Athletic Training by Keith M. Gorse; Matthew Radelet; Robert Blanc; Francis Feld; Keith M.GorsePrepare athletic trainers to provide emergency treatment for acute sports-related injuries and illnesses in children, adolescents, and adults—on and off the field. Noted practitioners and educators address all aspects of the evaluation and management of the full-range of medical problems that may be encountered. From emergency evaluation and airway management through the major categories of injury, this timely text meets a critical need in the classroom and in practice.
Publication Date: 2009-10-09
Key Topics in Sports Medicine by P. Thomas (Editor); B. Lynn (Editor); A. A. Narvani (Editor)Students have often commented on the need for a concise textbook on sports medicine that presents the essential information otherwise scattered across several much larger medical textbooks on other topics. Addressing this need, Key Topics in Sports Medicine makes effective use of the successful Key Topics format to provide extensive relevant information in an accessible and easy-to-follow manner. Practical and clearly presented, this is an invaluable resource for those students and practioners of sports medicine and rehabilitation, athletic training, physiotherapy and orthopedic surgery.
Publication Date: 2006-10-24
Quick Reference Dictionary for Athletic Training by Julie N. BernierThe expanded and updated second edition of Quick Reference Dictionary for Athletic Training contains all this and more! Pocket size, comprehensive, and user-friendly, this companion guide is essential for students and professionals in athletic training. Dr. Julie N. Bernier has taken over 2,100 terms and made them accessible in one book-no longer will you need to search multiple textbooks. Also included are 20 appendices on revised and new topics such as manual muscle testing and joint mobility positioning.