LibGuides: Athletic Training: Reference Materials

Reference eBooks

Credo Reference, Oxford Reference Online, and Gale Virtual Reference Library are reference databases offering access to reference eBooks.

Credo Reference
Credo Reference contains over 650 reference works as well as videos and images.. Provides user access to a wide variety of both subject specific and interdisciplinary general reference sources, plus focused Topic Pages for in-depth research.
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online combines over 200 language and subject dictionaries and reference works containing over 100,000 pages into a single cross-searchable database.
Gale eBooks Collection
Over 200 major reference works (many multivolume) in Education, History, Nation and World, Religion, Social Science and many other subject areas. GVRL has many of our most substantial online reference publications.

The list below contains just a few of the athletic training related titles available through Credo Reference and Oxford Reference Online and Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine by Lyle J. Micheli
ISBN: 9781412961158
Publication Date: 2010-11-17
Covers theoretical and practical treatment of all aspects of sports science and exercise physiology, kinesiology, and biomechanics. Particular emphasis is placed on such high-interest topics as sports medicine, specifically the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of sports injuries; and much more.
Key Concepts in Sport and Exercise Sciences by David Kirk (Editor); Carlton B. Cooke (Editor); Anne Flintoff (Editor); Jim McKenna (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412922289
Publication Date: 2008-11-13
This book provides students and scholars with a fail-safe guide to the key concepts in the field of Sport & Exercise Science. Intelligently cross-referenced entries provide a sound map of the multi-disciplinary demands of sport related courses including physical and biological sciences, social science and education. The entries use clear definitions, examples, and suggestions for further reading to explore each discipline.
The Oxford Illustrated Companion to Medicine by Stephen Lock (Editor); George Dunea (Editor); John M. Last (Editor)
ISBN: 9780192629500
Publication Date: 2001-12-27
The Oxford Companion to Medicine is a fascinating and authoritative guide to the field of medicine and its specialities. More than 200 authors have contributed over 500 substantial articles and many more shorter ones, on topics ranging from abortion to zombification. All the major medical and nursing specialities are covered, and detailed attention is given to complementary therapies, national medical systems, and the historical development of medicine. This new edition has been completely rewritten and includes a greater emphasis on the history of medicine, its cultural links with the arts and music, and its international nature.
Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness by Galè
ISBN: 9781414490168
Publication Date: 2012-05-24
The Gale Encyclopedia Of Fitness covers 300 topics on physiology and fitness, including coverage of Healthy People 2010 / 2020, the nationwide initiative sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to improve the nation's health, as well as topics on diseases and conditions related to fitness.
Sports Science
ISBN: 9781414406145
Publication Date: 2006-11-03
Covers theoretical and practical treatment of all aspects of sports science and exercise physiology, kinesiology, and biomechanics. Particular emphasis is placed on such high-interest topics as sports medicine, specifically the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of sports injuries; and much more.
The Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine by Michael Kent
ISBN: 9780191727788
Publication Date: 2007-02-03
This dictionary covers all the major areas of sports science and medicine including: anatomy, biomechanics, exercise physiology, nutrition, sports psychology, sports sociology, sports injuries, and training principles. It was compiled with the help of a team of eminent contributors and advisers; the third edition has been updated to incorporate recent advances, for example in the areas of gene technology and drug and doping regulations.