The books listed on this guide represent only a sample of the titles available in the library's collection. To find more titles of interest to you, search the library catalog.
The Science of Religion and the Sociology of Knowledge by 
Advances in Sociology Research. Volume 15 by 
The Sociology of Deviance by 
Sociology of Religion in America by 
Deviant and Criminal Behavior in the Workplace by 
Cultural Sociology of Mental Illness by 
21st Century Sociology by
21st Century Sociology: A Reference Handbook provides a concise forum through which the vast array of knowledge accumulated, particularly during the past three decades, can be organized into a single definitive resource. The two volumes of this Reference Handbook focus on the corpus of knowledge garnered in traditional areas of sociological inquiry, as well as document the general orientation of the newer and currently emerging areas of sociological inquiry.
Advances in Sociology Research by
This continuing series presents original leading edge research results in the field of sociology. Each chapter has been carefully selected in an attempt to present substantial advances across a broad spectrum. Included in this compilation are topics such as social welfare and the elderly; the impact of birth rates on women's professional activity; urban spaces and their socioeconomic make-up; transformational leadership across cultures; social welfare function and social symptoms of the intergenerational welfare shifts in the U.S. and Europe.
The Basics of Sociology by
This book provides an introduction to core concepts in sociology. Accessibly written chapters illustrate the history and practice of sociological work. Recent areas of social science inquiry, e.g., globalization and the Internet are also covered. There are profiles of more than 70 notable sociologists. In addition, there is information on training and working as a sociologist.
Causation and Functionalism in Sociology by
First published in 1998. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Tradition in Social Science by
Tradition in Social Science is the social philosophy written early in life by the jurisprudent who became the preeminent public law jurist in France in the first quarter of the twentieth century, Maurice Hauriou. His work remains prominent in theorizing European Community as well as in Latin American jurisprudence. His studies concern three areas of research: legal theory, social science, and philosophy. In this book Hauriou first focuses on the object and method of the social sciences in a preliminary chapter. The main text is devoted first to a philosophy of history that uses the growth objectively in fraternity, liberty and equality as the criterion for progress; and next to the subjective elements of progress, namely, the recognition of a "pessimistic individualism" in which failure in conduct is to be expected, but is rectified by social institutions. This part closes with the dynamizing of his philosophy of history by evolution and alternation between two phases of social development, namely, middle ages and renaissances. The second part is the philosophy of social science built around social matter, where the dynamic of imitation is the motive force, and three social networks-positive, religious, and metaphysical-specify its consequences. The last of these, the political fabric, is provided with a final chapter of its own. The main doctrinal device that Hauriou developed for use in law was his theory of the institution; this is developed for the first time in the present work.
Critical Issues in Social Theory by
Critical Issues in Social Theory is an analytical survey of persistent controversies that have shaped the field of sociology. It defines, clarifies, and proposes solutions to these'critical issues'through commentary on the writings of such influential social theorists as Hobbes, Marx, Durkheim, Weber, Mead, Merton, Parsons, and Schutz.Instead of being just another history, or another classification of theories, Rhoads's four-part model allows him to focus attention on issues that remain at the core of sociological theory today. First, Rhoads analyzes the controversy over positivism as the proper methodological model for the study of human society. Is there one science, of which sociology is a branch, or do the peculiarities of sociology's subject matter require a modification of the scientific method borrowed from the natural sciences? Rhoads next considers the relationship of individuals to society and its structures. Does society have a mode of existence distinct from its members, or is it merely an abstraction derived from the characteristics of individuals? Third, a discussion of social order raises the question of whether social order is the consequence of rules and their underlying moral values, or the product of continuous construction based on self-interest. Finally, the relative importance of consensus and conflict in social relationships is addressed. Is society better understood as a community united by beliefs, values, and rules, or is the social dynamic of continual conflict over beliefs, values, and rules more fundamental? In coming to grips with these issues, the author in some instances takes sides and in others arrives at a synthesis of diverse perspectives. In the final chapter he points to the limitations on the possibility of rational action that come to light in the clashes over these basic issues.
The Diversity of Social Theories by
Presents alternative trajectories for how to take steps toward achieving a theoretically informed understanding of the analytical and practical challenges of social theory (in terms of social, sociological, and critical theory), and looks beyond pluralism and fragmentation to the kind of roles social theorists may play.
Ethics in Social Research by
Recent shifts in the economic, cultural and theoretical context within which Higher Education institutions organise and pursue research activities, alongside other factors has prompted a reconsideration of the role of social research - its purpose, its practice and its ethical alignments. Blending practice-based reflection with philosophically informed theoretical work, this volume brings together a field of leading and rising academics from sociology and social theory to consider - for the first time in a published collection - both contemporary ethical issues in social research, and the increasing impact of ethics on social research.
50 Key Sociologists by
Fifty Key Sociologists: The Contemporary Theorists covers the life, work, ideas and impact of some of the most important thinkers in this discipline. Concentrating on figures writing predominantly in the second half of the twentieth century, such as Zygmunt Bauman, Pierre Bourdieu, Judith Butler, Michel Foucault and Claude Lévi-Strauss, each entry includes: full cross-referencing a further reading section biographical data key works and ideas critical assessment. Clearly presented in an easy-to-navigate A–Z format, this accessible reference guide is ideal for undergraduate and postgraduate students of sociology, cultural studies and general studies, as well as other readers interested in this fascinating field.
The Forest and the Trees by
New Third Edition! If sociology could teach everyone just one thing, what would it be? The Forest and the Trees is one sociologist's response to the hypothetical-the core insight with the greatest potential to change how people see the world and themselves in relation to it. This Third Edition features: • Updated key references, data, resources, and examples, from global warming, Obama's election, and gay marriage to transgender/cisgender and the Occupy Movement • A glossary of terms • The short essays in Chapter 6, framed around the power of sociology, dig beneath easy and popular understandings to reveal what lies beneath • An additional analysis of how men's violence is made invisible even though most violence is perpetrated by men • Chapter 7's focus on sociology as a worldview with an analysis of the origins of white privilege.
Getting Sociology Right by
Neil J. Smelser, one of the most important and influential American sociologists, traces the discipline of sociology from 1969 to the early twenty-first century in Getting Sociology Right: A Half-Century of Reflections. Examining sociology as a vocation and building on the work of Talcott Parsons, Smelser discusses his views on the discipline of sociology and shows how his perspective of the field evolved in the postwar era.
