LibGuides: Appalachian Studies: Researching Appalachian Studies

Welcome

The Appalachian Studies minor provides students, in all academic programs, to learn about the history, geography, culture, literature, folklore/folklife, environment and economy of the Appalachian region. Courses examine socioeconomic concerns of eastern Kentucky and Appalachia more broadly, and provide an overview of the Appalachian region within the global context.

The minor develops critical and analytical skills that are valuable in fields as diverse as business, communications, education, English, environmental science, geography, health sciences, law, literature, public policy, and social work.

The Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library provides faculty and students with access to information resources that support teaching and learning in the subject of Appalachian Studies. This subject guide is designed to help you locate and navigate these library resources. If you need assistance with this guide or desire additional materials or Reference help, please contact the library.

Selected Resources

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
More than 100,000 pages of diaries, letters, and memoirs from more than 1000 sources provide first-person views on almost all aspects of the Civil War.
The Civil War: Antebellum to Reconstruction, 1843-1977
An extensive collection of primary source materials covering the Antebellum era, the War Years, and Reconstruction period. Contains numerous newspapers and government documents, including the Journal of the Congress of the Confederate States of America, and the massive The War of the Rebellion: A Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies. Also this product contains broadsides, song sheets, poems, envelopes, and other printed materials
Digital Library of Appalachia
The Digital Library of Appalachia provides online access to archival and historical materials related to the culture of the southern and central Appalachian region. The contents of the DLA are drawn from special collections of Appalachian College Association member libraries
Early Encounters in North America
This collection focuses on personal accounts that document the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850.
Evans Early American Imprints (1639-1800)
This database consists of 36,000 books and other items published in the United States from about 1639 to 1800.
History Reference Center
History Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Kentucky Digital Library
Unique historical materials specific to Kentucky. Resources include archival finding aids, photographs, sound recordings, diaries, letters and more. Materials included in the Kentuckiana Digital Library are held by special collections and archives departments in libraries throughout Kentucky.
Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia
This Appalachian collection consists of the diaries, journals, and narratives of explorers, emigrants, military men, Native Americans, and travelers. In addition, there are accounts on the development of farming and mining communities, family histories, and folklore. Covers the years 1700-1950
North American Women’s Letters and Diaries
This is a collection of approximately 150,000 pages of women’s letters and diaries from Colonial times to 1950, drawn from more than 1,000 sources. Plus, it offers more than 1,500 biographies.

Appalachian Studies

Ask-A-Librarian

WTML Hours

UChat

Welcome

Selected Resources