LibGuides: Appalachian Studies: Books / eBooks

uCat

The books listed on this guide represent only a sample of the titles available in the library's collection. To find more titles of interest to you, search the library catalog.

uCat
Search the Library catalog for books, ebooks, media, and online videos and films.

EBook Databases

ACLS Humanities E-book Project
(American Council of Learned Societies) Electronic works of major importance to historical studies and other areas of the humanities.
Ebook Academic Collection
The eBook Academic Collection is a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
Ebook Collection (EBSCOhost)
With over 100,000 titles this is our largest ebook collection. Accesses a wide range of research, reference and reading materials online. The reader can search every word in every eBook our library has, as well as search within a particular eBook. Plus, each eBook is embedded with the American Heritage Dictionary of the American Language, 4th Ed. These ebooks can be viewed online or checked out and downloaded to your computer or compatible mobile device.
JSTOR eBooks
A DDA (Demand Driven Acquisition) resource of nearly 45,000 Academic eBooks from a variety of disciplines.
Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia
This Appalachian collection consists of the diaries, journals, and narratives of explorers, emigrants, military men, Native Americans, and travelers. In addition, there are accounts on the development of farming and mining communities, family histories, and folklore. Covers the years 1700-1950

Appalachian Books - Selected Examples

Appalachia by John Alexander Williams
ISBN: 9780807826997
Publication Date: 2002-04-29
Interweaving social, political, environmental, economic, and popular history, John Alexander Williams chronicles four and a half centuries of the Appalachian past.
Appalachia Revisited by William Schumann (Editor); Rebecca Adkins Fletcher (Editor)
ISBN: 9780813166971
Publication Date: 2016-07-22
In this innovative volume, editors William Schumann and Rebecca Adkins Fletcher assemble both scholars and nonprofit practitioners to examine how Appalachia is perceived both within and beyond its borders. Together, they investigate the region's transformation and analyze how it is currently approached as a topic of academic inquiry.
Mountains Piled upon Mountains by Jessica Cory (Editor)
ISBN: 9781946684905
Publication Date: 2019-08-01
Mountains Piled upon Mountains features nearly fifty writers from across Appalachia sharing their place-based fiction, literary nonfiction, and poetry. Moving beyond the tradition of transcendental nature writing, much of the work collected here engages current issues facing the region and the planet.
My Curious and Jocular Heroes by Loyal Jones
ISBN: 9780252041136
Publication Date: 2017-08-25
Brimming with ballads, stories, riddles, tall tales, and great good humor, My Curious and Jocular Heroes pays homage to four people who guided and inspired Loyal Jones 's own study of Appalachian culture.
Reconstructing Appalachia by Andrew L. Slap (Editor); Gordon B. McKinney (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780813125817
Publication Date: 2010-05-28
Reconstructing Appalachia reveals life in Appalachia after the ravages of the Civil War, an unexplored area that has left a void in historical literature. Addressing a gap in the chronicles of our nation, this vital collection explores little-known aspects of history with a particular focus on the Reconstruction and post-Reconstruction periods.
Religion and Resistance in Appalachia by Joseph D. Witt
ISBN: 9780813168128
Publication Date: 2016-12-09
In Religion and Resistance in Appalachia: Faith and the Fight against Mountaintop Removal Coal Mining, Joseph D. Witt examines how religious and environmental ethics foster resistance to mountaintop removal coal mining. Drawing on extensive interviews with activists, teachers, preachers, and community leaders, Witt's research offers a fresh analysis of an important and dynamic topic.
Rereading Appalachia by Sara Webb-Sunderhaus (Editor); Kim Donehower (Editor)
ISBN: 9780813165592
Publication Date: 2015-12-18
In this innovative volume, a multidisciplinary team of both established and rising scholars challenge Appalachian stereotypes through an examination of language and rhetoric. Together, the contributors offer a new perspective on Appalachia and its literacy, hoping to counteract essentialist or class-based arguments about the region's people, and reexamine past research in the context of researcher bias.
The Southern Appalachian Region by Thomas R. Ford (Editor)
ISBN: 9780813155807
Publication Date: 2014-07-15
In 1958, a group of scholars undertook to make a new survey of the Southern Appalachian Region. In this volume are presented their comprehensive reports on the Region's population, its economy, its institutions, and its culture.
To Live Here, You Have to Fight by Jessica Wilkerson
ISBN: 9780252042188
Publication Date: 2018-12-30
To Live Here, You Have to Fight reveals Appalachian women as the indomitable caregivers of a region--and overlooked actors in the movements that defined their time. Their persistence brought them into unlikely coalitions with black women, disabled miners, and others to fight for causes that ranged from poor people's rights to community health to unionization.
Walk till the Dogs Get Mean by Adrian Blevins (Editor); Karen Salyer McElmurray (Editor)
ISBN: 9780821421673
Publication Date: 2015-09-15
In Walk Till the Dogs Get Mean, Adrian Blevins and Karen Salyer McElmurray collect essays from today's finest established and emerging writers with roots in Appalachia. Together, these essays take the theme of silencing in Appalachian culture, whether the details of that theme revolve around faith, class, work, or family legacies.