LibGuides: Exercise Science: Researching "Exercise Science"

Welcome

The purpose of the Exercise Science program is to prepare students to serve in such capacities as exercise leader, physiologist, physical trainer/coach, and therapist. Union College’s curriculum prepares the Exercise Science student to make meaningful choices and informed decisions based on a curriculum which includes a variety of on and off campus learning experiences. In addition, the Exercise Science program promotes professionalism and personal responsibility.

students will demonstrate an understanding of the development of the Exercise Science discipline through history and a variety of cultures, to its present status in theUnited States
students will demonstrate a functional understanding of the anatomy and physiological processes of the human body
students will demonstrate proficiency in a variety of laboratory and fitness testing equipment and testing procedures
students will develop proficiency in using a variety of workplace related technology such as: word processing, spreadsheet, and graphic presentation software
students will act in an ethical way, and treat all clients with respect. Students will also become familiar with the day-to-day responsibilities of a teacher/leadership position through the Internship program

To support these goals, the Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library provides students with access to information resources that support teaching and learning in Exercise Science. This subject guide is designed to help Exercise Science students navigate the resources provided to them by the library.

Below are some resources to help you get started.

AHFS Consumer Medication Information
AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers. This content is updated monthly.
Britannica Academic Edition
The Britannica Online Academic Edition provides access to a combination of Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, as well as selected magazines and periodicals, Ebooks, primary source documents, and other databases and research tools. It is designed to meet the research needs of college students
Films on Demand Master Academic Collection
The Master Academic Collection of streaming videos by Films on Demand provides online access to over 7,500 full length videos and 90,000 video clips. It covers the areas of Business & Economics, Humanities & Social Sciences, Science & Mathematics and Health & Medicine, as well as Archival Films & Newsreels. Please note that High-speed Internet access is required with a minimum of 380 kbps DSL, or 500 kbps Cable Modem connectivity.
JSTOR (full-text journal collections)
JSTOR (Journal Storage) offers complete full-text back-files of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, life sciences, business, and statistics. Each title is fully digitized; most coverage begins with volume 1, number 1. The most recent four or five years of each journal are not usually available in this database.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference contains over 650 reference works as well as videos and images.. Provides user access to a wide variety of both subject specific and interdisciplinary general reference sources, plus focused Topic Pages for in-depth research.

Exercise Science

Ask-A-Librarian

WTML Hours

Welcome