LibGuides: Education -- Middle Grades: Researching "Education -- Middle Grades"

Welcome

The Union College Educational Studies Department is a specialized learning community dedicated to refining personal, intellectual, and social transformation for educators who will assume leadership roles in their schools and service areas. Candidates are prepared to utilize emerging curriculum and instructional practices and are immersed in the rigors of the teaching profession through clinical observation and student teaching placement.

To support this goal, the Weeks-Townsend Memorial Library provides students with access to information resources that support teaching and learning in Middle Grades Education. This subject guide is designed to help Middle Grades Education students navigate the resources provided to them by the library.

Below are some resources to help you get started.

Professional Development Collection

Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.

Middle Search Plus

Middle Search Plus
Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains numerous primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags

Teacher Reference Center

Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

ERIC

ERIC [Education]
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index

Guide to the ERIC Recrod
This guide depicts the record structure and provides descriptions of the fields. The descriptions provide insight into the purpose and content of each field. The guide can serve as a useful reference piece when searching ERIC and using the content.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

Explora

Explora Educator's Edition
Explora Educator's Edition offers relevant lesson plans, support materials and professional development resources as well as a Curriculum Standards Module to help educators correlate EBSCO content quickly and easily to Common Core, state or provincial curriculum standards.
Explora for Middle Schools
Provides encyclopedia and article searching in a combined interface. It provides easy access to databases designed for students and educators. Databases include: Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia, Health Source, Middle Search Plus, Newspaper Source, Primary Search, Teacher Reference Center, Topic Overviews, and TOPICsearch

Education -- Middle Grades

Ask-A-Librarian

WTML Hours