It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
With over 100,000 titles this is our largest ebook collection. Accesses a wide range of research, reference and reading materials online. The reader can search every word in every eBook our library has, as well as search within a particular eBook. Plus, each eBook is embedded with the American Heritage Dictionary of the American Language, 4th Ed. These ebooks can be viewed online or checked out and downloaded to your computer or compatible mobile device.
A DDA (Demand Driven Acquisition) resource of nearly 45,000 Academic eBooks from a variety of disciplines.
Approaching Psychoanalysis by David Livingston SmithA comprehensive user-friendly introductory account of Freudian theory and other major currents in psychoanalytic thought. It also includes biographical material on the major theorists. It helps to clear up many misconceptions about psychoanalytic theory and will be useful for students and professionals alike.
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
Beam of Intense Darkness by James GrotsteinThe author surveys Bion's publications and elaborates on his key contributions in depth while also critiquing them. The scope of this work is to synopsize, synthesize, and extend Bion's works in a reader-friendly manner. The book presents his legacy - his most important ideas for psychoanalysis. These ideas need to be known by the mental health profession at large. This work highlights and defines the broader and deeper implications of his works.It presents his ideas faithfully and also uses his ideas as'launching pads'for the author's conjectures about where his ideas point. This includes such ideas as'the Language of Achievement','reverie,''truth,''O,'and'transformations'- in, of, and from it, but also'L,''H,'and'K'linkages (to show how Bion rerouted Freud's instinctual drives to emotions),'container/contained, Bion's ideas on'dreaming,''becoming,''thoughts without a thinker,''the Grid,'his erasure of the distinction between Freud's,'primary and secondary processes'and the'pleasure'and'reality principles,''reversible perspective,''shifting vertices,''binocular vision,''contact-barrier,'the replacement of'consciousness'and'unconsciousness'with infinity and finiteness, Bion's use of models, his distinction between'mentalization'and'thinking,'as well as many other items.
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Bearing Witness by Andres Gautier; Anna Sabatini Scalmati (Editor)In their discussion of torture, the contributors to this book write of what its victims cannot put into words and the work that has to be done with them to that end. Working with a victim's account of a traumatic experience goes much further than any debriefing technique would have us believe - above all, victims need someone to listen carefully to what they have to say; that person will be the first to offer a refuge for the pain of those who have no internal'shelter'of their own.The authors go on to discuss the kind of mental processing that can free victims from their unspeakable trauma, a trauma that has no framework in time nor words with which to express it.Under the skilful editorship of Andres Gautier and Anna Sabatini, this book asks of both psychoanalysts and politicians a question that goes right to the heart of their'impossible professions
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Becoming a Person Through Psychoanalysis by Neville SymingtonWhat Neville Symington is attempting to do in this book is to trace the pathway along which he has travelled to become a person. This has run side by side with trying to become an analyst. The author has made landmark discoveries when reading philosophy, sociology, history, and literature. Learning to paint, learning to fly a plane, and also the study of art and of aviation theory have opened up new vistas. This account is only a sketch. The completed picture will never materialize. It is therefore autobiographical but only in a partial sense. It is always emphasized that one's own personal experience of being psychoanalysed is by far the most significant part of a psychoanalyst's education.
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Clinical Application of the Theory of Psychoanalysis by Ahmed FayekPsychoanalysis - the one that we are familiar with - started in the clinical field. Freud and Breuer made some strides in the treatment of hysteria using hypnosis. They put together a theory of psychopathology based on two basic notions: conflicts between acceptable and unacceptable impulses (ideas, desires, fantasies, etc.), and the repression of the unacceptable impulses causing the formation of symptoms. Under hypnosis, the patients were given the chance to abreact the repressed, and the therapeutic endeavour was to allow catharsis, hence the origin of the term'catharsis theory'regarding this phase of hypnosis.However, the real breakthrough in psychoanalysis came to Freud in intuitions about matters from outside the field of pathology and the clinic, and without the help of hypnosis. They came from ordinary, even banal, phenomena like dreams, slips of the tongue, and jokes.In this book, the author covers the difference between a modified theory of catharsis and a theory of psychoanalysis, as well as the importance of psychodynamic diagnosis in the practice of psychoanalysis. He suggests that clinical problems stem from discounting the indelible influence of the'catharsis theory'on our judgement about the classical doctrine. In addition, he deals with the history and origins of our present debates in regard to the classical doctrine and the contemporary schools. The book includes clinical case models.
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Couch in the Marketplace by H. Shmuel ErlickThe book aims at bridging the conceptual and practical gap between a psychoanalytic focus on the internal world and the dynamics of external reality by examining an array of junctures in which the two perspectives combine to enrich each other. Starting from the inherent bias of the psychoanalytic immersion in working with the internal world, the book deals with a wide array of phenomena in which a binocular perspective is potentially contributing. One such bridge is exemplified by the Group Relations approach, which richly combines psychoanalytic insights with systemic ones. This unique merger is valuable in studying a variety of phenomena both within psychoanalysis and outside it. The work of the analyst in the psychoanalytic setting implies situating oneself on several boundaries - internal and external, love and admiration as well as death and destructive impulses - and the courage and sacrifice demanded by taking up this role. This binocular perspective has significant implications for the formation and maintenance of identity and particularly for the psychoanalytic identity. A study of Moses and Monotheism provides a deeper look into Freud's anguish about his leadership and its aftermath for the survival of his legacy, and along the way - to an understanding of the roots of Jewish identity and the anti-Semitism it arouses, which stem from the explosive act Freud attributes to both Moses and himself. The focus of the book then shifts to other pertinent areas, such as the psychoanalytic contribution to the discontent of the contemporary subject; the inherent difficulty in the relationship of psychoanalysis with the university; the place of the enemy - intrapsychic and real - and the problems inherent in discourse with him; and the impact of external trauma, such as terror attacks, on the psychoanalytic space and setting. Finally, a number of organizational implications and practices are presented and discussed: the place and meaning of the subject in understanding the organization; the special role of corruption in paranoiagenesis and regression in groups and organizations; a consultative intervention in a severely traumatized mental health center; and finally, some current perspectives on organizational and consultative intervention in psychoanalytic societies.The importance of this book is its uncompromising adherence to both sides of the divide: a psychoanalytic depth of fathoming the inner world of drives and experience, coupled with a systemic view of the external social conditions in which the psychoanalytic enterprise unfolds and the lives of individuals, institutions and organizations transpires.
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Crossing Borders - Integrating Differences by Anne-Marie Schloesser (Editor)This book will stimulate readers to cross borders: between theory and practice, between research and everyday therapy, between out-patient and in-patient psychotherapy, between the view of ones own, the known and the culturally foreign. Yet it is only with an awareness of these borders, an acknowledgement and respect of them, that it will be possible to proceed towards integrating differences, where this makes sense and appears necessary.
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
The Practice of Psychoanalysis by Thierry BokanowskiThis volume highlights several of the areas of tension and difficulty that have met psychoanalysis since its inception, and provides an incisive, informative history of various attempts to surmount these, finally leading to the author's own suggestions for a practice of psychoanalysis that remains open to the vicissitudes of the infinite set of processes of the human mind. In drawing from clinical examples and his own experience in addition to a wealth of psychoanalytic theory, the author examines such topics as the referential role of theory and the significance of the analytic space from both a personal and professional standpoint. As the author suggests, the dialectic between psychoanalytic theory and practice is one that is both highly problematic and potentially very nourishing. Thierry Bokanowski's volume provides an invaluable guide to analysts navigating the difficult terrain of contemporary psychoanalytic theory and practice.
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Derrida, Deleuze, Psychoanalysis by Gabriele Schwab (Editor)Derrida, Deleuze, Psychoanalysis explores the critical relationship between psychoanalysis and the work of Derrida ( Speech and Phenomena, Of Grammatology, and his later writing on autoimmunity, cruelty, war, and human rights) and Deleuze ( A Thousand Plateaus, Anti-Oedipus, and more). Each essay illuminates a specific aspect of Derrida's and Deleuze's perspectives on psychoanalysis: the human-animal boundary; the child's polymorphism; the face or mouth as constitutive of ethical responsibility toward others; the connections between pain and suffering and political resistance; the role of masochism in psychoanalytic thinking; the use of psychoanalytic secondary revision in theorizing film; and the political dimension of the unconscious. Placing a particular emphasis on liminal figurations of the human and challenges to discourses on free will, the essays explore shared concerns in Derrida and Deleuze with regard to history, politics, the political unconscious, and resistance. By addressing the need to overcome the split between the psychological and the political, Derrida, Deleuze, Psychoanalysis illuminates the ongoing relevance of psychoanalysis to critical interrogations of culture and politics.
Publication Date: 2007-11-20
Loving Psychoanalysis by Ruth GolanPsychoanalysis was neither a product of philosophy nor of academic study. Rather, psychoanalysis was born in the clinic. Freud took his lead from hysterical women; the accounts of their pain, anxieties and physical symptoms led him to formulate his theories on the existence of the unconscious. Psychoanalysis is neither a theory nor a way of seeing life. It is a form of ethics unlike any other, it is the subjects way of relating to the world. However, there is no doubt that it owes its existence to science. It could perhaps be termed the science of the particular, because it deals with the unique truth of the subject. Lacan, in contrast to the theoreticians who aspired towards universality, similarly described psychoanalysis as the approximate science of the subject.This book is a kind of mosaic, composed of both beginning and concluding acts. It is an anthology of essays and lectures of recent years, which comprise an attempt to organize and pass on what can be learned from various psychoanalytical viewpoints from various cultural disciplines, particularly ones that reflect the discontent that is inherent within them.Through the study of the theories of Freud, Lacan and Slavoj Zizek, the author offers riveting glimpses into the works of Moshe Gershoni, Lucian Freud, Paul Celan, Primo Levi and others, who all bear witness to the existence of the Other, trauma, feminine jouissance and the Real, in twentieth-century culture.
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Death and Delusion by Jerry S. PivenThis book argues that conventional interpretations of Freudian psychology have not accounted for the existence and complexity of death anxiety and its intrinsic relation to the creation of illusions and delusions. This book contends that there is sufficient evidence to support the view that death anxiety is not only a symptom of certain modes of psychopathology, but is a very normal and central emotional threat human beings deal with only by impeding awareness of the threat from entering consciousness. The immanence of the fear of death requires vigilant defensive and coping techniques, especially the distortion of reality through these defenses and fantasies, so that over-whelming terror does not psychologically cripple the organism. The fear of death is so horrific that human beings must insulate themselves in religious, social, and private illusions, rituals, obsessive pursuits, self-glorification, and myriad desperate attempts to lie about the quintessential nature of reality. Death is that terror that induces psychopathology. This book demonstrates that a careful reading of Freud reveals a copious amount of material supporting these propositions.
Brief Lives: Sigmund Freud by David CarterBorn to Jewish parents in mid-19th-century Austria, Sigmund Freud is a controversial figure needing no introduction, yet his reputation owes as much to myth as to the facts of his life and his work. Here, David Carter uncovers the man buried beneath the mythology, tracing the life of this inimitable figure from his origins as the gifted first born of eight children, through his stellar academic career and his relationships and rifts with famous figures such as Josef Breuer. Also explored is why, despite his groundbreaking work on psychoanalytic theories—including the functioning of the subconscious, the repression of trauma, and the psychological import of dreams—Freud has frequently been the subject of derision and ridicule.
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
The Letters of Sigmund Freud and Otto Rank by E. James Lieberman (Performed by); Robert Kramer (Performed by)Sigmund Freud's relationship with Otto Rank was the most constant, close, and significant of his professional life. Freud considered Rank to be the most brilliant of his disciples. The two collaborated on psychoanalytic writing, practice, and politics; Rank was the managing director of Freud's publishing house; and after several years helping Freud update his masterpiece, The Interpretation of Dreams, Rank contributed two chapters. His was the only other name ever to be listed on the title page. This complete collection of the known correspondence between the two brings to life their twenty-year collaboration and their painful break.The 250 letters compiled by E. James Lieberman and Robert Kramer humanize and dramatize psychoanalytic thinking, practice, and organization from 1906 through 1925. The letters concern not just the work and trenchant contemporaneous observations of Freud and Rank but also their friendships, supporters, rivals, families, travels, and other personal and professional matters. Most interestingly, the letters trace Rank's growing independence, the father-son schism over Rank's'anti-Oedipal'heresy, his surprising reconciliation with Freud, and the moment when they parted ways permanently. A candid picture of how the pioneers of modern psychotherapy behaved with their patients, colleagues, and families—and each other—the correspondence between Freud and Rank demonstrates how psychoanalysis developed in relation to early twentieth-century science, art, philosophy, and politics.A rich primary source on psychiatry, history, and culture, The Letters of Sigmund Freud and Otto Rank is a cogent and powerful narrative of early psychoanalysis and its two most important personalities.
Publication Date: 2011-12-31
Death-Drive by Robert Rowland SmithRobert Rowland Smith takes Freud's work on the death-drive and compares it with other philosophies of death - Pascal, Heidegger and Derrida in particular. He also applies it in a new way to literature and art - to Shakespeare, Rothko and Katharina Fritsch, among others. He asks whether artworks are dead or alive, if artistic creativity isn't actually a form of destruction, and whether our ability to be seduced by fine words means we don't put our selves at risk of death. In doing so, he proposes a new theory of aesthetics in which artworks and literary texts have a death-drive of their own, not least by their defining ability to turn away from all that is real, and where the effects of the death-drive mean that we are constantly living in imaginary, rhetorical or 'artistic' worlds. The book also provides a valuable introduction to the rich tradition of work on the death-drive since Freud.Key Features* Includes a general introduction to the death-drive* Presents an original theory of aesthetics* Analyses both theoretical and clinical psychoanalysis* Offers in-depth treatment of Freud* Provides an overview of philosophies of death
Femininities, Masculinities, Sexualities by Nancy J. ChodorowNancy J. Chodorow takes her fellow psychoanalysts to task for their monolithic and pathologizing accounts of deviant gender and sexuality. Drawing from her own clinical experience, the work of Freud, and a close reading of psychoanalytic texts, Chodorow argues that psychoanalysis has yet to disentangle male dominance from heterosexuality. Further, she demonstrates the paucity of psychoanalytics understanding of heterosexuality and the problematic polarizing of normal and abnormal sexualities. By returning to Freud and interpreting psychoanalysis through clinical eyes, Chodorow contends that psychoanalysis must consider individual specificity and personal, cultural, and social factors. Such a methodology entails a plurality of femininities and masculinities and enables us to understand a variety of sexualities.
Publication Date: 2014-02-04
Freud and Fundamentalism by Stathis Gourgouris (Editor)the heart of this volume are questions about the psychic components of the modes of thinking we call "fundamentalist" - that is, thinking that disavows multiplicities of meaning, abhors allegorical elements, and strives toward an exclusionary orthodoxy that codifies not just its own world but that of its adversaries, its others. The essays address transcendentalist orthodoxies of all kinds, whether religious or secularist. Fundamentalist elements in psychoanalysis itself are also placedin question, at the same time as psychoanalytic thinking and practice is explored as a mode of knowledge that ultimately unravels fundamentalist tendencies. The texts in this collection represent a wide array of disciplinary standpoints. Their overall aspiration is to interrogate discourses of orthodoxy, literalism, exclusion, and dogma - that is, discourses obsessed with monolithic (monolingual, monological, monolateral, monomythical, and certainly monotheistic) encounters with the world.
Publication Date: 2010-09-12
Freud and Nietzsche by Paul-Laurent AssounMany of the leading Freudian analysts, including in the early days, Jung, Adler, Reich and Rank, attempted to link the writings of Nietzsche with the clinical work of Freud. But what was Nietzsche to Freud--an intuitive anticipation, a precursor, a rival psychologist? Assoun moves beyond the seduction of these attractive analogues to a deeper analysis of the relation between these two figures.