Nursing

Contains definitions and descriptions of medical terms and concepts, diagrams, drawings, and color illustrations and helpful appendices on common medical tests and procedures, travel and health, measurements in medicine, health economics, complementary and alternative medicine, and an address list of professional support organizations.

This dictionary incorporates new material on the major developments of the last few years, including public health medicine, genetics and organ transplantation. The dictionary includes more than 10,200 clear and concise entries.

A well-known reference guide, Barron's Dictionary of Medical Terms has been valued, used, and highly praised by medical instructors, student nurses, and others in the healthcare professions.

Revealing and detailing all aspects of the body, from the secrets of DNA to the functions of every major body system, this all-in-one encyclopedic guide is packed with accessible health and medical information that is ideal for students, health professionals, or anyone who wants to learn more about the human body.

This reference on medicine covers the main avenues of medicine as well as medicine and art, literature, music, notable patients and folk medicine.

The brand-new American Heritage Dictionary of Medicine reflects the latest developments in medicine, with entries featuring newly approved medications, advances in genetics and immunology, recent changes in the terminology of diseases and syndromes, and new psychiatric classifications introduced in DSM-5.

Covers the biological, psychological, social, and economic aspects of health and aging and the impacts within the health-care system.

A focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context.