Access World News is a full-text news resource consisting of over 3,300+ local, regional, national and international sources (of which 1,400+ international sources). Access to many local sources, including The Lexington Herald Leader in all formats. Updated daily, it offers researchers and students valuable primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs
The Britannica Online Academic Edition provides access to a combination of Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, as well as selected magazines and periodicals, Ebooks, primary source documents, and other databases and research tools. It is designed to meet the research needs of college students
Credo Reference contains over 650 reference works as well as videos and images.. Provides user access to a wide variety of both subject specific and interdisciplinary general reference sources, plus focused Topic Pages for in-depth research.
With over 100,000 titles this is our largest ebook collection. Accesses a wide range of research, reference and reading materials online. The reader can search every word in every eBook our library has, as well as search within a particular eBook. Plus, each eBook is embedded with the American Heritage Dictionary of the American Language, 4th Ed. These ebooks can be viewed online or checked out and downloaded to your computer or compatible mobile device.
The Master Academic Collection of streaming videos by Films on Demand provides online access to over 7,500 full length videos and 90,000 video clips. It covers the areas of Business & Economics, Humanities & Social Sciences, Science & Mathematics and Health & Medicine, as well as Archival Films & Newsreels. Please note that High-speed Internet access is required with a minimum of 380 kbps DSL, or 500 kbps Cable Modem connectivity.
JSTOR (Journal Storage) offers complete full-text back-files of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, life sciences, business, and statistics. Each title is fully digitized; most coverage begins with volume 1, number 1. The most recent four or five years of each journal are not usually available in this database.
Literary Reference Center Plus (LRC Plus) is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Contains everything in Literary Reference Center, plus: over 1,200 additional full-text literary reference books/works, over 200 additional full-text literary journals and magazines, 35 volumes of new contemporary literature titles from Salem Press, 40 full-text literary study guides and 72 literary videos.
NoveList is an electronic readers' advisory resource that assists fiction readers in finding new authors and titles. It contains 90,000 full text reviews, and over 36,000 subject headings. It also includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author Read-alikes, What We're Reading, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Annotated Book Lists.
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.