The books listed on this guide represent only a sample of the titles available in the library's collection. To find more titles of interest to you, search the library catalog.
Histories of Nursing Practice by
How did skilled nursing practice develop to become an essential part of the modern health system? This book provides some important answers to this question. It traces the history and development of nursing practice in Europe and North America, exploring two broad categories of nursing work: the ‘hands-on’ clinical work of nurses in hospitals and the work of nurses in public health, which involved health screening, health education and public health crisis management. The book contains rich case studies of nursing practice across diverse settings in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. As well as examining ‘what nurses did’, it explores the significance and meaning of nursing work, for nurses themselves, their patients and their communities, and examines developments in practice against a backdrop of social, cultural, political and economic drivers and constraints. This book will be of interest to academics and clinical nurses alike. It is also an ideal textbook for undergraduate nursing programmes, providing students with rich accounts of the history of their own disciplinary practice.
Nursing in Today's World by
This popular, readable text presents the basic concepts underlying professional nursing and seeks to prepare students for the realities of contemporary issues affecting the profession and overall delivery of health care. Fully updated to cover today's evolving topics, this edition has a completely revised table of contents to help students better understand the nurse's role in health care. The text addresses key needs of today's instructors, particularly with the addition of a new chapter on safety concerns as well as new information related to evidence-based practice, coverage of health care reform.
The Art of Communication in Nursing and Health Care by
A handy guide to tackling difficult patient and professional interactions with confidence and compassionIn this age of increasing reliance on technology, it is essential that the fundamentals of compassion and good communication—the art of patient care—remain at the heart of health care. This clear, concise guide to professional communication strategies helps nurses and other health care clinicians to build effective patient relationships and navigate a wide variety of difficult patient and professional interactions. Written by a practicing psychotherapist who has devoted nearly 30 years of study to clinician—patient relationships, the book tackles such complex issues as dealing with demanding patients, maintaining professional boundaries, overcoming biases and stereotypes, managing clinician emotions, communicating bad news, challenging a colleague's clinical opinion, and other common scenarios.The book guides the reader through a conceptual framework for building effective relationships that is based on the principles of mindfulness. These principles are embedded in discussions of the fundamental elements of interpersonal effectiveness, such as hope, empathy, and listening. Chapters apply mindfulness principles to specific challenging situations with concrete examples that describe effective clinical behaviors as well as situations depicting pitfalls that may impede compassionate care. From a focus on everyday manners in difficult situations to beneficial approaches with challenging populations, the guide helps health care professionals confidently resolve common problems. Brief, to-the-point chapters help clinicians channel their clinical knowledge and good intentions into caring behaviors that allow the patient to more fully experience empathy and compassion. With the guiding theme of “using words as precision instruments,” this is a resource that will be referred to again and again.
Achieving Competencies for Nursing Practice by
This book will offer examples to nursing students to enable a creative and innovative understanding of how the competencies may be demonstrated in the many contexts where practice occurs with individuals, groups or possibly communities.
Theories Guiding Nursing Research and Practice by
This book has its origins in courses taught by the editors and their collaborators for doctoral students. It therefore addresses the need to focus on how theories can be applied in the real world of clinical practice and the research based on it. Introductory and concluding sections make the case for the importance of theoretical frameworks when developing practice and research settings. This is the first book to clearly and fully demonstrate the process of using theory to guide nursing research and professional practice. It describes a step-by-step format for evaluating nursing theory's applicability to research, a format that links theory (both middle-range and grand theory) to research on a wide range of clinical populations and care delivery systems. The book describes how theory analysis models are used to examine various nursing phenomena as they relate to nursing research and professional practice, and provides key examples of how this is accomplished. The book takes the reader through the process of using a theory to guide research from inception of a research question to evaluation of future research. International experts in theory-related nursing research describe twelve theories that have previously been applied to research and practice and six theories that can be applied to future research and practice. Using a consistent analytic framework, each chapter applies a specific theory (from either nursing, psychology, sociology, or management) to a particular clinical population or care delivery issue. These encompass clinical, administrative, and educational nursing settings. The consistent format facilitates ease of comparison across different theories. Generous use of figures and tables further demonstrates the complex relationships between and among concepts embedded in the theories.
Leadership Roles and Management Functions in Nursing by
This book was directed at the nurse-manager rather than the student. The experience of completing research for the second book, coupled with our clinical observations, compelled us to incorporate more leadership content in our teaching and to write this book. Leadership Roles and Management Functions in Nursing was also influenced by national events in business and finance that led many to believe that a lack of leadership in management was widespread. It became apparent that if managers are to function effectively in the rapidly changing health care industry, enhanced leadership and management skills are needed"--Provided by publisher.
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing and Healthcare by
This best-selling, user-friendly resource to evidence-based practice serves as a guide to implementing evidence-based practice in nursing and healthcare. "Real-life" examples assist the reader in actualizing important concepts and overcoming barriers in the implementation of evidence-based care.
The essence of nursing practice : philosophy and perspective by
This one-of-a-kind book provides an in-depth analysis of nursing practice as a concept and area of study, rather than as an aggregation of specific techniques and skills. The text addresses the essential features of nursing practice using a five-level nursing framework developed by the author. This framework promotes a deep understanding of how nursing should be holistically practiced rather than focusing on particular nursing competencies. The book stresses the importance of developing a multifaceted, adaptable approach to nursing that integrates all of its complexities, including philosophy, knowledge and knowing, and situational contingencies. Also addressed are the integral components of nursing practice, including essential tools, collaboration, knowledge application, competence, expertise, and quality of practice.
Nursing Research Using Historical Methods by
This is a concise, step-by-step guide to conducting qualitative nursing research using various forms of historical analysis. It is part of a unique series of books devoted to seven different qualitative designs and methods in nursing, written for both novice researchers and specialists seeking to develop or expand their competency. Historical research is a qualitative research method that systematically examines past events from existing documents or other data, or by interviewing individuals who lived through those events, in order to understand the past.Written by a noted qualitative research scholar and contributing experts, the book describes the philosophical basis for conducting research using historical analysis and delivers an in-depth plan for applying its methodologies to a particular study, including appropriate methods, ethical considerations, and potential challenges. It presents practical strategies for solving problems related to the conduct of research using the various forms of analysis and presents a rich array of case examples from published nursing research. These include author analyses to support readers in decision making regarding their own projects. The book provides a variety of examples of historical method studies, on topics such as mental health research, working with Navajo communities, World War II evacuation nursing, and many others. Focused on the needs of both novice researchers and specialists, it will be of value to health institution research divisions, in-service educators and students, and graduate nursing educators and students.
Nursing Research Using Data Analysis by
This is a concise, step-by-step guide to conducting qualitative nursing research using various forms of data analysis. It is part of a unique series of books devoted to seven different qualitative designs and methods in nursing, written for both novice researchers and specialists seeking to develop or expand their competency. This practical resource encompasses such methodologies as content analysis, a means of organizing and interpreting data to elicit themes and concepts; discourse analysis, used to analyze language to understand social or historical context; narrative analysis, in which the researcher seeks to understand human experience through participant stories; and focus groups and case studies, used to understand the consensus of a group or the experience of an individual and his or her reaction to a difficult situation such as disease or trauma.Written by a noted qualitative research scholar and contributing experts, the book describes the philosophical basis for conducting research using data analysis and delivers an in-depth plan for applying its methodologies to a particular study, including appropriate methods, ethical considerations, and potential challenges. It presents practical strategies for solving problems related to the conduct of research using the various forms of data analysis and presents a rich array of case examples from published nursing research. These include author analyses to support readers in decision making regarding their own projects. The book embraces such varied topics as data security in qualitative research, the image of nursing in science fiction literature, the trajectory of research in several nursing studies throughout Africa, and many others. Focused on the needs of both novice researchers and specialists, it will be of value to health institution research divisions, in-service educators and students, and graduate nursing educators and students.
All-In-One Nursing Care Planning Resource by
The only book featuring nursing care plans for all core clinical areas, Swearingen's All-In-One Nursing Care Planning Resource, 4th Edition provides 100 care plans with the nursing diagnoses and interventions you need to know to care for patients in all settings. It includes care plans for medical-surgical, maternity/OB, pediatrics, and psychiatric-mental health, so you can use just one book throughout your entire nursing curriculum. This edition includes a new care plan addressing normal labor and birth, a new full-color design, new QSEN safety icons, new quick-reference color tabs, and updates reflecting the latest NANDA-I nursing diagnoses and collaborative problems. Edited by nursing expert Pamela L. Swearingen, this book is known for its clear approach, easy-to-use format, and straightforward rationales.
Advanced Nursing Skills by
The expanded practices and new roles which nurses are currently undertaking are often in areas in which a sound knowledge of the life sciences is essential. This book examines a number of advanced nursing skills, in each case describing the research evidence upon which the procedures discussed are based as well as the practical aspects of the procedures themselves. The knowledge of the life sciences that underpins these skills is also presented in each chapter and is always clearly linked to the advanced practices described. Although aimed primarily at post registered nurses, nurses undergoing pre-registration nurse education will find this book helpful as they themselves will be involved to a limited extent in the practices described.
Mastering Pharmacogenomics by
Pharmacogenomics, the study of the role of genetics in drug response, has developed into a critical new area in battling disease and improving outcomes. As our knowledge of the human genome grows, and with the advent of next-generation sequencing technologies, the role of genetic research is evolving to guide therapy and prevent many diseases and mitigate side-effects of current treatments. As a pivotal member of the healthcare team, nurses must acquire competency in pharmacogenomics to deliver optimal patient care in the 21st century. Mastering Pharmacogenomics provides nursing professionals with a foundational knowledge of human genetics and genomics that can be applied in optimizing drug therapy and patient care delivery. Coverage includes: essential pharmacogenomics competencies for registered nurses, genomics technologies and resources, critical properties of drug response and disposition, covered specialties include obstetrics and prenatal patients, pediatrics, older adult patients, and oncology, ethics and patient care and future developments in technology and delivery.