LibGuides: Physics/Physical Science: Reference Materials

Reference eBooks

Credo Reference, Oxford Reference Online, and Gale Virtual Reference Library are reference databases offering access to reference eBooks.

Credo Reference
Credo Reference contains over 650 reference works as well as videos and images.. Provides user access to a wide variety of both subject specific and interdisciplinary general reference sources, plus focused Topic Pages for in-depth research.
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online combines over 200 language and subject dictionaries and reference works containing over 100,000 pages into a single cross-searchable database.
Gale eBooks Collection
Over 200 major reference works (many multivolume) in Education, History, Nation and World, Religion, Social Science and many other subject areas. GVRL has many of our most substantial online reference publications.

The list below contains just a few of the Chemistry related titles available through Credo Reference and Oxford Reference Online and Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Other Reference Sources

PLOS Public Library of Science
Since launching its first journal in 2003, PLOS has been a force for transformation in scholarly publishing, breaking with archaic traditions from previous generations. Our key innovations accelerate science and medicine, from research discovery to influence tracking.

Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. Contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc.

Reference Books

Advances in chemistry research
The authors' of this latest volume discuss recent advances in chemistry research. The chapters include discussions on a novel approach to developing a reliable optimised model for the estimation of PVT properties at various reservoir conditions; diverse dye removal technologies and recent progress in dye adsorption using activated carbon; the unique synthesis, properties and functions of mono- and di-nuclear ruthenium(II) aquo complexes; the detection of glycoproteins by widely used classical methods such as SDS-PAGE and Western blot; the predictability of the solubility of supercritical CO2 in ionic liquid; the impact of sucrose, stevia and xylitol on mechanical characteristics of gels prepared with different commercial chestnut flours; separated XRD analysis and non-linear optics for the interaction in composite materials of chiral cyanide bimetallic complexes and LiMnO2; and the oxidation of some sulphated macromolecules using various oxidising agents.

Encyclopedia of Scientific Principles, Laws, and Theories by Robert E. Krebs; Rae Dejur (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780313340055
Publication Date: 2008-06-30
Provides descriptions of the most famous scientific concepts, principles, laws, and theories that are known in the areas of astronomy, biology, chemistry, geology, mathematics, medicine, meteorology, and physics.

Encyclopedia of chemistry research
This book presents current research in the field of chemistry. Topics discussed include crystal chemistry of an atropisomer; construction and structure of metal-organic frameworks with specific ion-exchange property; chemical sensors and biosensors; non-specific chemical gas sensor arrays for environmental monitoring of odour emissions; green analytical chemistry; microwave assisted-separations; metal-catalyzed electrophilic processes in ionic liquids; development of green chemistry processes for metallocomplex catalysis and the environmental impact of a lignite-fired power plant operation.

A Dictionary of Energy Science by Nick Jelley
ISBN: 9780191826276
Publication Date: 2017
This new dictionary covers terms related to energy technologies and their impact on the world’s energy use. It sets out the principles behind each technology’s operation, as well as its economic, environmental, and social impacts. Coverage includes energy demand and conservation, electricity generation and distribution, energy storage, renewable energy and fossil fuel technologies, nuclear energy, environmental issues, energy and society, and biographies of eminent energy scientists.
A Dictionary of Physics by Richard Rennie (Editor); Jonathan Law (Editor)
ISBN: 9780198821472
Publication Date: 2019-06-01
This new eighth edition has been fully updated to reflect progress in physics and related fields. It sees expansion to the areas of cosmology, astrophysics, condensed matter, quantum technology, and nanotechnology, with 125 new entries including, Deep Underground Neutrino Experiment, kilonova, leptoquark, and muscovium.
Encyclopedia of Science,Technology and Ethics
ISBN: 9780028658315
Publication Date: 2005-07-21
This Encyclopedia considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society. This broad coverage supports the numerous courses in applied and professional ethics and policy related to the practice of science and technology in education.
The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science by John L. Heilbron (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195112290
Publication Date: 2003-03-27
Written by more than 200 prominent scholars, The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science presents an unparalleled history of the field invaluable to anyone with an interest in the technology, ideas, discoveries, and learned institutions that have shaped our world over the past five centuries. Focusing on the period from the Renaissance to the early twenty-first century, the articles cover all disciplines, historical periods, concepts, and methodologies and philosophies.
Space Sciences by Macmillan Reference USA (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028662190
Publication Date: 2012-05-25
From the history of space exploration to the future of "space business", this set offers a broad survey of the space sciences. Includes biographies of scientists and the space-related job market.