Information Systems Management

This catalog contains openly-licensed course materials developed for the Open Educational Resources (OER) Degree Initiative, led by Achieving the Dream. Lumen maintains this content in the same condition it was provided to us by participating faculty and institutions.

BCcampus Open Education contributes to the development of an open future for teaching practices and educational resources.

DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.

GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials.

The LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER) to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society.

OAPEN promotes and supports the transition to open access for academic books by providing open infrastructure services to stakeholders in scholarly communication. We work with publishers to build a quality-controlled collection of open access books and provide services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of hosting, deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.

OER initiatives aim to grow a sustainable culture of sharing and continuous improvement among educators at all levels.

This open access book constitutes the refereed post-conference proceedings of the First IFIP International Cross-Domain Conference on Internet of Things, IFIPIoT 2018, held at the 24th IFIP World Computer Congress, WCC 2018, in Poznan, Poland, in September 2018. The 12 full papers presented were carefully reviewed and selected from 24 submissions. Also included in this volume are 4 WCC 2018 plenary contributions, an invited talk and a position paper from the IFIP domain committee on IoT. The papers cover a wide range of topics from a technology to a business perspective and include among others hardware, software and management aspects, process innovation, privacy, power consumption, architecture, applications.

The development of modern information systems is a demanding task. New technologies and tools are designed, implemented and presented in the market on a daily bases. User needs change dramatically fast and the IT industry copes to reach the level of efficiency and adaptability for its systems in order to be competitive and up-to-date. Thus, the realization of modern information systems with great characteristics and functionalities implemented for specific areas of interest is a fact of our modern and demanding digital society and this is the main scope of this book. Therefore, this book aims to present a number of innovative and recently developed information systems. It is titled "Modern Information Systems" and includes 8 chapters. This book may assist researchers on studying the innovative functions of modern systems in various areas like health, telematics, knowledge management, etc. It can also assist young students in capturing the new research tendencies of the information systems' development.

The rapid development of new Information Infrastructure combined with the increased user needs in specific areas of Information Technology (mostly related to Web applications) has created the need for designing new modeling techniques more innovative and targeted on specific areas of Information Systems in order to successfully model the rapidly changed environment, along with the newly introduced concepts and user requirements. Therefore, this book aims to introduce readers to a number of innovative Information modeling techniques. It is titled "Innovative Information Systems Modelling Techniques" and includes 9 chapters. The focus is on the exploration and coverage of the innovations of recently presented modeling techniques and their applicability on the Information Systems' modeling.

Objective Information Theory (OIT) is proposed to represent and compute the information in a large-scale complex information system with big data in this monograph. To formally analyze, design, develop, and evaluate the information, OIT interprets the information from essential nature, measures the information from mathematical properties, and models the information from concept, logic, and physic. As the exemplified applications, Air Traffic Control System (ATCS) and Smart Court SoSs (System of Systems) are introduced for practical OITs. This Open Access book can be used as a technical reference book in the field of information science and also a reference textbook for senior students and graduate ones in related majors.

Every day, more users access services and electronically transmit information which is usually disseminated over insecure networks and processed by websites and databases, which lack proper security protection mechanisms and tools. This may have an impact on both the users’ trust as well as the reputation of the system’s stakeholders. Designing and implementing security enhanced systems is of vital importance. Therefore, this book aims to present a number of innovative security enhanced applications. It is titled “Security Enhanced Applications for Information Systems” and includes 11 chapters. This book is a quality guide for teaching purposes as well as for young researchers since it presents leading innovative contributions on security enhanced applications on various Information Systems. It involves cases based on the standalone, network and Cloud environments.