LibGuides: Music: Reference Materials

Reference Materials

Reference Databases

Gale eBooks Collection
Over 200 major reference works (many multivolume) in Education, History, Nation and World, Religion, Social Science and many other subject areas. GVRL has many of our most substantial online reference publications.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference contains over 650 reference works as well as videos and images.. Provides user access to a wide variety of both subject specific and interdisciplinary general reference sources, plus focused Topic Pages for in-depth research.
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online combines over 200 language and subject dictionaries and reference works containing over 100,000 pages into a single cross-searchable database.

Oxford Dictionary Plus Music
ISBN: 9780191826771
Publication Date: 2016
This dictionary comprises authoritative, highly accessible entries on people and organizations related to music. These entries are supplementary to other music titles in the Quick Reference collection, and are written by specialist authors.
The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music by Don Michael Randel (Editor)
ISBN: 0674372999
Publication Date: 1996-11-01

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Covers topics and persons in major areas of popular culture: film, music, print culture, social life, sports, television and radio, and art and performance (including theater, dance, stand-up comedy, and other live performance).

The Encyclopedia of Country Music by Paul Kingsbury (Editor); Country Music Foundation Staff (Compiled by)
ISBN: 9780195176087
Publication Date: 2004-12-16
Compiled by a team of experts at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum, the encyclopedia has been brought completely up-to-date, with new entries on the artists who have profoundly influenced country music in recent years.