Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives

Finding aids for archival items.

SACS (Southern Association of Colleges & Schools) Accreditation

Finding Aid 68
Union College Archives

UC 3.1  SACS (Southern Association of Colleges & Schools) Accreditation Materials

Record Group : 3 (Academic Affairs)

Collection : 1

Location : Archive Shelf 

Processing Information : Finding Aid created by Bruce Miracle on November 9, 2012. 

Contents Note : Items are listed in the order that they are located on the shelf.

Contents:

SACS MATERIALS

Manual for the Self-Study Program of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges 1967

SACS (Southern Association of  Colleges and Schools) Accreditation Materials

A SELF-STUDY OF UNION COLLEGE (and supporting documents)

1961-62 Self-Study (2 copies)

1971-73 Self Study (2 copies)

1978-79 Self-Study (2 copies)

1978 – Special Report on Financial Conditions, Long Range Plans, and Trustee Involvement submitted to Committee on Standards and Reports ; Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, October 18 ,1978

1982-83 Self-Study(2 copies)

1983 – Self Study – A Report to the Steering Committee – from Committee VI Library (April 1, 1983)

1984 – Reaffirmation Committee Report, February 5-8, 1984

1984 – Institutional Response to the Reaffirmation Committee Report, September 10 1984 (2 copies)

1986 – Follow-up Report of Union College’s Institutional Self-Study. May 30, 1986 (in black binder)

1991 (?) – Union College Status Report on the College’s Plan to Comply with Section III – Institutional Effectiveness (typed and stapled in folder)

Institutional Self-Studies Prepared for Reaffirmation of Accreditation by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools

NOTE: Documents are generally listed in sequence of publication, not year(s) listed in the title.

  • SACS Steering Committee, Minutes, February 2, 1993
  • Institutional Self-Study -DRAFT October 1993
  • Spring Faculty Colloquium on 1992-1993 General Education Program Assessment, February 24 1994, Agenda (typed)
  • 1992-93 Institutional Self Study – Site Visit April 1994 – Printed February 1994 (2 copies)
  • 1992-1993 Administrative Response to the Institutional Self-Study – Site Visit April 1994 (2 copies)
  • Report of the Reaffirmation Committee – Site Visit April 11-14, 1994 (3 copies)
  • 1992-1993 Institutional Response to the Reaffirmation Committee Report – Site Visit April 11-14, 1994 (2 copies)
  • Institutional Follow-up Report, Addressing the Visiting Committee’s Recommendations 10 and 11,  Printed October 1995 (2 copies)
  • Institutional Second Follow-up Report, Addressing the Visiting Committee’s Recommendation 10, Printed September 1996
  • Special Committee Report – Summary Report Union College Review September 24, 2002 – also includes letters between President David Joyce and SACS
  • Compliance Certification, August 2004
  • General Documentation for Compliance Certification, August 2004 (2 copies)
  • Report of the Off-Site Review Committee – Date of Review: November 10-12, 2004
  • Union College Focused Report in Response to:  Report of the Off-Site Review Committee – Date of Review:  November 10-12, 2005 (2 copies) (stapled pages)
  • Union College Focused Report in Response to:  Report of the Off-Site Review Committee – Date of On-Site Review:  April 4-6, 2005 (3 copies)
  • Response to the Visiting Committee Report – On-Site Visit: April 4-6, 2005 
  • Appendix to the Response to the Visiting Committee Report (2 copies)
  • Budget Documentation for Compliance Certification, February 2005 (2 copies)
  • Union College Quality Enhancement Plan, Improving Student Performance on the Praxis I Examination (2 copies)
  • Union College- Monitoring Report to the Committee on Compliance and Reports For the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges, Date of On-Site Review: April 4-6, 2005
  • Union College – Monitoring Report to the Committee on Compliance and Reports For the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges, Date of Site Review: April 4-6, 2005
  • Union College Quality Enhancement Plan, Equipped for Living, Equipped for Learning: Assessment, Initiative, and Student Learners at Union College, August 31, 2005 (2 copies)
  • Minutes QEP Roundtables 2005-2006 Math Reading Writing

HANDBOOKS AND GUIDES (SACS) (IN SERIAL BOX)

  • Criteria for Accreditation, Commission on Colleges (SACS) 1991
  • Criteria for Accreditation, Commission on Colleges (SACS) 1992-1993
  • Criteria for Accreditation, Commission on Colleges (SACS) 1998
  • Handbook for Peer Evaluators (2 copies)
  • Handbook for Reaffirmation of Accreditation 2003
  • Handbook for Review Committees 2003
  • Manual for Accreditation, Commission on Colleges 1991
  • The Principles of Accreditation: Foundations for Quality Enhancement 2008
  • Resource Manual on Institutional Effectiveness 1989